We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most chilled, indulgent and relaxing few days of 2011!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most chilled, indulgent and relaxing few days of 2011!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We enjoyed the hotel from the moment we arrived. The staff were skilled, professional and most welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and in the lounge especially the young team were attentive to our needs. The hotel ambiance was fantastic and we were able to relax and enjoy every moment of our stay. The pool and spa was lovely and though small was perfectly designed for a relaxing experience.

We ate in the hotel on both evenings of our stay and enjoyed the service, the food and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virtualtourists21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing break with us, and you were happy with both the service and facilities you experienced.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    871
    387
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,369
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I have just returned from one night's stay with my elderly mother and 13 year old daughter and we liked everything about this hotel. My Mum doesn't walk very well and we had been given ground floor rooms very close to the entrance which was good. We had lunch, evening meal and breakfast in the Brasserie/lounge. The food was good and the staff very polite and professional. Our rooms were clean and modern, the beds lovely and comfortable. Two small details which I liked were the heated central panels in the mirrors in the bathroom allowing you to see even when the room was steamed up, and the simple to use radio alarms - in most hotels I have often spent ages and failed to work out how to set the alarm. The only slight complaint I have, and it was slight, was that the lights in the garden made it seem like daylight outside even when it wasn't, and we had to put something over the phone because it was also very bright, but on the plus side it was a really quiet room, no traffic noise or any other sounds till morning. Lovely!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Doubletree.

I am pleased to hear that you were happy with facilities, and that you enjoyed your stay, albiet a short one!

Your feedback is appreciated, and your comments regarding the lights have been noted.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to chester.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute as we had planned to go to Chester Zoo, and I am so glad we did. This was absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever been to and so I am planning to go back in the not too distant future! From the moment we entered this hotel, the staff were so welcoming and obliging. I must admit I was expecting them to be a little snooty being part of the Hilton chain but this is so not the case. And to be welcomed with the warm, gooey chocolate cookies was a lovely surprise!
We booked a standard room, which was lovely. And the king sized bed was so comfortable. We also used the pool and it's facilities, which exceeded my expectations. The only downside was that the changing facility was not that near the pool - you have to go down a flight of stairs to get to it.
Cannot wait to go back. Fab hotel, nice & modern, lovely grounds too. And we had a great meal at the Marco Pierre White restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c1airebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

I am delighted that you were impressed with the facilities and the service you received during your stay, and that the spa facilities exceeded your expectations.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Chester.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

We booked a two night stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. On arrival reception on hearing of this upgraded our room to a suite for no additional charge. The room was fantastic, clean, modern and spacious. There were nice personal touches (chocs, flowers etc) - we couldn't have asked for more. One the first evening we ate in the terrace restaurant, with beautiful veiws of the enclosed gardens. The food, service and attention to detail all spot on. The second night we dined in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and again it was faultless. The food from starter to sweet were devine and the staff we always on hand when needed.

The health spa is huge with so many wonderful facilities, my wife had treatments and couldn't compliment the staff enough, whilst I lounged around most of the morning using a variety of steam rooms, saunas, spas and the best part swimming through to an outside pool area which was just incredible.

We did manage to leave the hotel to visit Chester and that was great too. Such lovely shops.
If you are looking for a break you cant go wrong by booking this hotel (the choc cookies on arrival tells you, you are in for a special time)

We are planning to go back next year and probably the year after - Just top marks all round.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

It is fantastic that you choose to to celebrate your special anniversary with us and we were able to exceed your expectations.

It's great news that you are planning to return to the hotel next year, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Wonderful spa and gym facilities. Great breakfast, nice rooms. Nice touch, being able to dine at MPW. Easy access into Chester by bus or Taxi (taxi to train station only £5 through hotel reception, what a bargain!). Plenty to do in Chester for a long weekend/short break. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhvvgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing break away with us and that you were happy with the service and facilities you received during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

This is a very welcoming hotel with hot chocolate cookies- lovely.
The hotel is clean with good sized rooms. Location is good and with a regular every half hour bus into Chester right outside the hotel.
Breakfast was very busy properly because there was a wedding on, but still had everything we needed.
Good place to stay as a base to visit Chester

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_J007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Doubletree on your recent visit to chester.

I am delighted to hear that the hotel was suitably located for your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to chester

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend:-) it was absolute pure luxury from arrival to departure! The hotel boasts a 1st class Spa and health club as well as the famous Marco Pierre White restaurant all surrounded in buetifull grounds. The only niggle i had was the pillows in room were on the soft side and prefer the firm type !! But that's my preference.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that you were happy with your stay and impressed by the facilities on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Doubletree in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing