We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Gauranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Luxury Gauranteed”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend:-) it was absolute pure luxury from arrival to departure! The hotel boasts a 1st class Spa and health club as well as the famous Marco Pierre White restaurant all surrounded in buetifull grounds. The only niggle i had was the pillows in room were on the soft side and prefer the firm type !! But that's my preference.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that you were happy with your stay and impressed by the facilities on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Doubletree in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    869
    386
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,366
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Just stayed here 2 night...wow...great service and food......we had dinner both nights, dinner in the Brasserie was eaxcellent overloking the walled gardens, and is very reasonably priced!! next night was in the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was out of this world, great service and the steak was one of the very best. As for the overall hotel the rooms were clean and well appointed, and the Healthe club/spa was absolute the icing on the cake....LUXUARY!!....and we will be both back soon! Thank you for a very romantiv break!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel on your recent visit to chester.

I am pleased that you were impressed with the service and facilities you received during your two night stay, and its great to hear that you were able to experience both restaurants, and were more than satisfied with the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Everything ran smoothly from the initial check-in to the final morning. All of the staff that I encountered were professional, helpful and friendly.
My room was fine - well proportioned and perfectly adequate for my needs.
I was very pleased with the free internet access which was easy to connect to.
I enjoyed the use of the swimming pool and various steam rooms, I was disappointed that the hydrotherapy pool wasn't available but appreciate that maintenance has to take place at some time.
The food was very good, well presented and plentiful.
On the whole a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

It is great to hear that your had an enjoyable experience and were able to make use of the many facilities on offer at the hotel.
It is lovely to receive such positvive feedback not only about the facilities but the members of staff, who are often praised for their polite and attentive attitude, your comments are most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Warm welcome, attention to detail, rooms excellent, food fabulous! Lovely conservatory.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Staying at the Doubletree Chester for a leisure weekend was fantastic, the rooms, spa location was lovely cannot fault and would highly recommend. Avoid Marco Pierre White's restaurant which is located in the Doubletree hotel, the food portions were unbeliavable, We had the set menu and the bill came to £60 with 2 glasses of wine, the presentation of the food was lovely but the quantity was terrible. I wouldn't go again. We left and an hour later and ordered room service. Overpriced under-portioned and dissapointing. You will leave as you entered - hungry! The hotel restaurant on the other hand was fantastic and highly recommended, Our weekend stay was lovely from the welcomeat reception to the rooms, spa and the location. Give it a go you will not be dissapointed! Can't wait to re-book again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Doubletree on your recent visit to Chester.

Your feedback is very welcome, and it is lovely to hear that you were impressed with the facilities on offer, though it is dissapointing that you were not as satisfied with the food portions in the Marco Pierre White restaurant!
It is fantastic that this has not dettered you from booking again in the future however, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My wife and I deserved a long weekend off from work so over a period of several weeks trawling the internet and looking at reviews I decided on the Hilton Double Tree Chester. I booked the spa weekend and was hoping that I had made the right decision as we had both been working so hard over the last 6 months the last thing we wanted was a poor break. Well we were not disappointed, on arrival we were greeted with really nice staff who gave us a warm cookie which I ate in the lift up to my room, we entered the room which was tastefully decorated, we also had a beautiful view over the gardens (room 224) which we sat in the morning sunshine after eating our cooked English breakfast, we were so lucky to get those few lovely sunny days this month. Moving onto the Spa/pool, the first night before we went down for our meal we went for a sauna and swim in the pool which was just at the right temperature so many pools in hotels are too cold this was brilliant we swam around for a while I was trying to do the front crawl like I used to do when I was younger and failed looking like a duck in distress, while my wife plodded back and forth sedately with a controlled breast stroke. You could swim and navigate round in the pool to an open hot pool/Jacuzzi where if it was evening like it was for us you just lie back in the hot bubbles and look up to the stars above you .....I have to say that this was very relaxing and we loved every moment, we got out periodically to go for a hot sauna and I think there were three or four rooms hot room, haystack room, sauna room, cant remember the other room name, anyway it seemed almost shame to get out to get ready to go down to dinner...but alas we had to eat. The first night we ate in the Marco Pierre Restaurant, we both ordered dressed crab for starters which were both cooked/presented divinely as was the Château Briand which we had for our main course, I must find out where they get their meat as I haven’t tasted fillet that tender in a long time. A special thanks to the oriental waiter who was fantastic. After two days of that we went into Chester to do some shopping the City was beautiful very oldie worldly and it was a pleasure to shop there, we actually walked on top of the city wall and walked all round the walled part of the city. The last day we had a fish pedicure which was brilliant and funny all at the same time, a tip would be not to immerse your feet too deep as the fish munch at your ankles...if you lift your feet up a bit they just munch at your soles..also another tip would be to book the tank at the back as you can put your back against the wall which is more comfortable. After that we both went into the massage room for a back and neck massage which was heavenly I fell asleep it was that relaxing, they played soothing music and the lights were dimmed it became almost surreal as you just laid there, when they finished we were then guided to a private Jacuzzi room with private sauna and shower and loungers where we were left for about an hour...all in all we had a fantastic weekend and would recommend it to anyone who needs to get away to relax. V & M

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheIIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Me and my girlfriend decided that we would invest in a nice relaxing weekend at Doubletree by Hilton in Chester. We would like to thank the members of staff who were very welcoming and helpful throughout the whole weekend. The leisure centre and spa boast the best facilities whilst the food is out of this world. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family and friends and cannot wait to back again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank formulaonevinnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyastley, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at Doubletree Chester.

It is lovely to hear that we exceeded your expectations and your experience was an enjoyable one.
Your feedback is most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Holly Astley
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing