We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value great location the staff make this hotel a great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Inn Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Chester
staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great value great location the staff make this hotel a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

arrived here checked into my room it was tiny and the nets were covered in black mould, i went back to reception the lady sorted myself and partner out without fuss into a really nice room
the staff at this hotel are top notch they are very helpful and like to have a laugh with you
leanne and the barman who worked on the free bar 5-7pm need to be made managers they are highly skilled with customers
the breakfast was very nice and will be staying here again in the near future
this is our first stop at a best western hotel but if the price is right they will be our first choice for a weekend away

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    242
    235
    166
    124
See reviews for
84
392
36
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Me and my partner recently stayed at the Westminster hotel in Chester for my partners birthday. It was £80 for the room plus breakfast and chester zoo tickets. Upon arrival we were greeted by the very pleasant receptionist who checked us in and told us they had a free bar from 5-7. We were in room 6 which was on the small side but as we were heading into the town for some shopping then going out for a couple of drinks we werent too fussed as we would only be sleeping in there. The car park is located directly next to the hotel and is owned by the bar which is next door. When we arrived we went across and asked for a day ticket (this was at 2 o clock) we were told we only needed a 4 hr ticket as it was free after 6 until 8am, the only slight gripe with this is we woke up early as we presumed we needed a ticket and the bar didnt open until half 9, check out was at 11 so we had to purchase a 4 hr ticket for an hr and a halfs parking. The breakfast was very varied with a full english on offer as well as cereal, toast, meats and fresh fruit. The staff on however needed a serious session of manners as i dont think he spoke/smiled the whole breakfast. Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel as like the title says it pretty much paid for itself!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brunnylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights for a short birthday break with my partner The staff here were very friendly and helpful happy to answer and query I had the free wifi was great though a little slow... All hotels should have free WiFi! The room was large and clean with a bathroom to match though the décor was a little outdated and tired. We had an LCD television though the freeview signal was very poor this shouldbeimproved. A nice touch was a card and a fruit cake left as a birthday gift for my partner. The mugs left for complimentary refreshments were severely chipped to the point of being dangerous. Also there was loud music playing for a large portion of the night, however, the bed was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay despite the downfalls. I would probably avoid booking here again though. (do not upgrade to executive there appeared to be no point)

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadders1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
187 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

It's not often that I wish I'd paid £20 less and stayed at a Premier Inn or the like - but this was one of those occasions.

After a week of traveling wanted a decent room and booked an Executive Room. This must have been one of the smallest rooms in the hotel - the bed was tight to one wall and you could barely walk round the other side. The impression is made worse by the dated dark furniture - whilst new, clearly the person re-furbing these rooms was still in the 90's.

The lad on reception was pleasant and tried to oblige but insisted the room was of the same standard and price as those twice it's size. I finally got moved to another room - a little bigger but at least not as claustrophobic. The rooms are lit by energy saving bulbs - such low wattage they never get bright enough.

Both rooms were dusty and needed a good clean. Water pressure was so low that the shower would barely work.

Like other reviewers I got and was impressed by the offer of the free bar - just a shame it was a tight window that I had missed. Breakfast quality was good, service poor with the few staff on not knowing what they were doing. Tables not cleared, coffee toast etc disorganized.

It appears that the hotel caters mainly for a more mature clientele and coach trips. That should not give it the excuse to cut corners and be shoddy.

There is one positive about the hotel - it is only a 2 minute walk to the train station to get away from it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

stayed at the best westminster for one night to get some christmas shopping done. First impresssions were courteous, happy and obliging staff. We asked for a room on a low floor and that's exactly what we got. Room was warm, cosy and comfortable. The decor was tasteful and the beds very comfortable with crisp white linen. We had booked the free bar offer which meant we could have some free pre-dinner drinks. Unlike most free bars there were very few exclusions. In fact I enjoyed several Jack Daniels before dinner and the x-factor final. The buffet breakfast was exceptinally good/ Loads of fresh fruit salads, fruit juice, cereal etc and then a scrumptious cooked breakfast with all you could eat, which set us up for the day. There were seveal chrismas functions on but the staff looked after the hotel guests as well as dinner/party guests with ease. Even though we were on the low floor and there was a party and disco downstairs, we nev er heard a thing and had a peaceful night there. I wll definitely stay there again. In fact we will be using it for our january sales meeting. Hotel is under half a mile from the town centre. There is a free bus from the railway station nearby back and forward to town and ample taxis/ There is secure parking at the sister Queens hotel opposite but we parked in the car park next door to the hotel (which belongs to the town crier pub), which was half the price of the hotels car park though admittedly they were offering secure car parking. However we had no problems and I would use the pub car park again. All in all an excellent break.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benbec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

i moved out of one hotel in chester to this one and its amazing! stayed there before and i would again! well worth the money!
beautiful hotel, and the staff are friendly! also the breakfast is amazing!!
what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We paid extra for an executive room however the room was more on par with a standard room ie ripped sofa. The view resembled that of an empty lift shaft which resulted in the room being rather dark despite it being a glorious day. The car park was a 'Pay and Display' which ran from 8am to 6pm (£5 all day) therefore I had to ensure I was out there to obtain a ticket by 8am in order to avoid a wheel clamp. Shower couldn't decide whether to be hot or cold so a bit of patience required.

Now for the positives.
A lovely atmosphere, helpful staff, free bar from 5 - 7pm, all you can eat buffet breakfast, warm room, very comfortable bed, 7 min walking distance to shops and a superb Indian (The Taj) just mins away.
All in all I would return here now I know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing