We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
157
219
174
144
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
157
219
174
144
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station town crier city centre would stay again stayed here for one night buffet style tea and coffee comfy bed breakfast was excellent pub zoo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 845 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2017

Team that were on duty throughout our stay were very good, answering any questions and trying to be helpful where possible. The room was ok, nice sitting area at the top of a couple of stairs. Room was quite small and if we were staying longer than one night would have been quite cramped.
Overall, the hotel just seemed to be a poor relative to the other Hallmark hotel. Very few staff and a few issues which meant we probably wouldnt stay again...
Breakfast was still being laid out at 820am, scrambled eggs were cold (I didnt bother complaining but other tables did whilst we were there). These are all minor things, but all add up...juices werent all out, no spoons to lift out apricots and dried fruits from jars, had to go through six plates to find a clean one on the hot plate section.
Not too far to walk into town and near the train station

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 26, 2017

Dear Marct0603

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, feedback from our guests is very important to us so we can continue to improve.

We are glad you found your room ok, for future reference we do have a number of different types of room, you can find these on our website. So if you are ever visiting Chester again, please do have a look at this.

In regards to the breakfast, i have spoken with the chef and the waiting on team to ensure the issues you encountered are not repeated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We booked a double room which we found was 2 single beds pushed together 1 higher than the other by a good inch. The room was very cold on arrival at 3.pm as the radiators were on a time switch we asked for a fan heater to warm it up. Later that night we discovered the room was cold as there was a large hole in the top of the window which the wind was blowing in and as we were facing a busy road the noise was dreadful too. The hole had been in the window for some time as there were cracks around it which were very dirty so if there had been complaints before nothing had been done. Never ever book this hotel it isn't worth the money

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phillipslesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 26, 2017

Dear Philipslesley13

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and apologize for the fact that this time we have not succeeded.

The information you have provided has been passed on to our maintenance department who are looking in to heating and the window.
The bed has now been rectified and the two single beds are the same height, although it is still two single beds, for multi purpose use.

We do hope next time you visit Chester you have an enjoyable stay

Kind Regards






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We got a very good deal with 2 rooms for 2 nights. Paid extra for breakfast which was very good, a bit short of bacon but otherwise, needs some work on the tea and coffee. Bar area very dark and cold and uninviting. Bedrooms very acceptable plenty of hot water and all areas extremely clean. room 103 needs bedside lights. Staff very smart and helpful

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank izzyw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 20, 2017

Good Afternoon izzyw6,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have made a note to pass on to the food and beverage assistants in regards to the tea and coffee service, and relaying to the chef about running low on breakfast items.

I have also addressed the bedside light issue with maintenance and this has been resolved.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Hotel is nice inside but in our room skirting boards a bit chipped, chip in bath bit dated but Ok. Room was clean :) There is no parking at the hotel even though I thought I'd read there was. We paid £10 to park at pub next door for 24 hours. But there was also street parking available free for overnight. Lots of choice at breakfast. About 15 minutes to walk to the cathedral and right near the train station. Staff seemed nice and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank happyhannah92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 20, 2017

Good Afternoon happyhannah92,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have made a note to maintenance regarding the chipped skirting boards and chip in the bath.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017

On all the booking websites the hotel photograph was correct but they all say FREE PARKING and this hotel doesn't even have a car park!!!! So had to pay parking at the pub next door. Also we paid extra for a kingsize room and got a twin room. Changed rooms and went straight out for a meal came back and the heating wasn't working. The staff gave us 2 blow heaters which were too noisy to use we couldn't sleep. This was on one of the coldest nights of the year and the room was FREEZING!!!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 26, 2017

Dear Sylvia R

Thank you for taking the tie to write a review, this is very important to us so we can continue to improve.

Our website providers are looking it to the hotels profile regarding the car park, as far as we know the hotel is advertised as no car park, this is now being looked into.
I have spoken to maintenance and they are fixing the issues with the heating.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews