We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive for £64 with brekkie!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Impressive for £64 with brekkie!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked to stay here for a visit to Chester Zoo, night out, and Liverpool the next day. Very nice welcoming reception area, pleasent staff. The room was spacious, right at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street and railway station. The room was very clean and kept in a good state of repair, both decor and furnishings. The only thing i picked up on was the creaky floorboards from people above, nothing major, and not worth complaining about. Breakfast was in buffet style based around Englich breakfast type food. I am always sceptical about hot buffets as they have a tendancy to be forgotton or luke warm. This however was regularly attended and all food HOT, and of a good quality. All in all, a great stay, especially for the price, and location.

Room Tip: Room 14 we stayed in and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestRiding1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    259
    249
    173
    131
See reviews for
90
431
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent a Sunday night at this hotel whilst meeting up with friends.
It is very close to the railway station and a short walk from the city centre either along City Rd or the canal towpath.
All the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. Our room112 was at the rear of the hotel which was quiet. The room was a generous size with a large bathroom which looked as if it had been recently refurbished. The overbath shower delivered an excellent flow of water, it was some time before we got hot water but that could have been the result of my lack of knowledge of modern shower controls. At breakfast there was a good choice of cereals and fruit as well as "a full English"
As mentioned by previous reviewers some of the fittings and soft furnishings are looking a little tired. When we checked out we were told that we could leave our car in the car park all day whilst we visited the city.
Overall this is a mid market hotel giving value for money.

Room Tip: For a quite night sleep request a room at the rear of the hotel as those facing their street are sub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wbajesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

In Chester for one night. The hotel is right opposite the station and a short walk along the canal to the town centre. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. Nice welcome at reception. Concierge very helpful with directions and history of the hotel which was quite grand in its heyday I think. Enjoyed a glass of wine in the comfortable lounge. Room quite small but with usual amenities. Bathroom and room looked like it had been recently refurbished. Good hot shower. Offered a bucks fizz on the way into breakfast. Despite being busy due to a wedding the previous day no long wait to be seated for breakfast which was buffet style, plenty of choice, eggs cooked to order. I would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for a single night for a friends 50th Birthday party, our room was on the first floor at the rear of the hotel which was quiet. Good sized room with the usual tea/coffee etc.
Good sized bathroom but the shower water was cold and no matter how we tried could sort it out.

Breakfast was a good choice however most of the food was cold.

Minot a hotel I will be visiting anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Bestwestern Westminster to celebrate a birthday x2 adults for 1 night.
We paid £99 for an executive double room, the room was ok but I would not say the room that we stayed in was worth the price tag of £99 per night per room bed and breakfast, it was maybe just worth the price of a standard double at £79 per night per room b&b. The room had a nice large bed, which was comfy and clean, however there were stains on the carpet in a few places, the doctor was lacking in particular stains on ceiling and wall and the lamp shades at the sod e of the bed were dinky and dirty, these details did let the room down, we also found that the bath was not clean and we had to wipe it over before using it. The breakfast was average but nothing special, in fact the hot breakfast was cold. The staff we dealt with were very warm and friendly which was lovely, this is must be noted as every single on was polite and had a welcoming smile. Unfortunatly for the prices charged we wouldn't stay at this establishment again as over all we were quite disappointed with the facilities and cleanliness provided for the price, we chose the executive room as we were hoping for something a little more special than a standard double room, but unfortunately we felt this was not the case.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyanddave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was a little 'tired' but quite good value and well situated for the station or a 10 minute walk into town. This hotel was a little 'tired' but quite good value and well situated for the station or a 10 minute walk into town. This hotel was a little 'tired' but quite good value and well situated for the station or a 10 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

great location, great staff, breakfast excellent with plenty of choice.they had already upgraded us which was a nice touch for our anniversay. the £10 per day car parking charge is a little steep but other options are limited as most parking is for 1 hour only and NCP car park is quite a distance away but overall a great experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Colin S

Many congratulations on your anniversary & thank you for your lovely review we hope that you will return to celebrate many more anniversaries with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing