We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I find it very odd that this place is still trading as a hotel. I also find it concerning that Best Western allow it to be a part of their scheme, it is a disgrace.

Dirty, dated, noisy and smelly. The only thing I enjoyed about this stay was the fact I eventually got to checkout. I shall be speaking to Best Western directly; I place my trust in them to provide hotels of a certain standard and I'm appalled that they have put their name above the door.

If you would like to know what the place is like, picture a room above a Boozer for £20 per night. That's what you're getting.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear David A
I apologise that you did not enjoy your visit, I will contact you under separate cover to discuss your issues. Once again many apologies and hope that you would return to give us a chance to change your opinion.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This seemed good value, however the first room I had was truly dreadful: cracked formica furniture not changed since the 1970s; springs coming through mattress; a tiny room with a small double bed; the tv stand wobbled on its wall fixing; the bathroom substandard! I had a sleepless night.

I must say that ALL staff were excellent, in fact I felt sorry for them having to deal with all the problems!

I was given another room on my second night, but there were still creaky floorboards above and the room decor was tired.

Having said all this, it was good value, the food was good and staff very nice.

Room Tip: Book a top floor room so no floorboards above!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Annypurple

Thank you for your comments, I apologise you were unhappy with your stay, hopefully you would return so we can show you that we can provide the service and standards that your rightly expect. I will pass your comments on to the staff.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 16th to 18th august, for the races on the saturday, I have to say the staff at this hotel are excellent, very efficient and very helpful, the breakfast is served Buffet style and is really good with a good selection, the location is good close to the railway station and probably about 25 min walk to the racecourse, there was a slight problem with the plumbing when we arrived, a small leak from the toilet cistern, and the Pipes were vibrating causing a loud humming noise, but was dealt with quickly and efficiently by the staff, well done to ALL the staff at this hotel it was a real pleasure staying there and we look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Paulmac11

Many thanks for taking the time to review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is good and the staff are really friendly but this hotel could do with being refurbished if I'm being honest and the rooms were really tacky, I would recommend that the Queens or the King's at the Queens is much better if you like stsying wigh best Western hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear James C
Thank you for the posting, I can assure you we here at the hotel operate a rolling review and improvement plan and are aiming to have rooms refurbished and updated as quickly and efficiently as possible. Thank you for the comments on our staff i will pass them on.
We hope that you will visit us again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed with a tour and woke up every morning to aroma of a great breakfast the housekeeper always greeted us with big smile and always chatted the room was lovely clean towels always provided 229 was a pleasure to stay in and Danny (girl) hats off to you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lneaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Lneaven
Thank you for your lovely review, I will make sure your comments are passed on especially to Danni. We hope you will return to Chester and visit us again soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was delighted getting a good deal of €59 for double room for 1 night with no breakfast but now I have experienced the hotel I believe I was ripped off. The room smelled of paint, so we left window open all night. There was drilling outside our door at 8 am as there was renovations across from our room. The bath panel (wood) was rotting and splints sticking out. Depressing overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delvindeedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Delvindeedoll
Firstly I would like to apologise it does disappoint us when we receive negative reviews, I have investigated with the maintenance team that were here at the hotel, it is unusual as all our staff are aware of timings for certain jobs, unfortunately this was an emergency repair which had to be attended to I do sincerely apologise that this disturbed you. I have also checked your booking and had the bath panel replaced in the room you stayed in and revisited with the housekeeping team to make sure they are noting and informing our in house maintenance of defects. We hope you would revisit to give us chance to prove that service and quality is of paramount importance.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#40 of 44 in Chester
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#34 of 44 in Chester
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $46 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing