We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer Service!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Inn Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having booked this hotel for a colleague, the hotel stay was adequate. However whoever I've had the displeasure of speaking to on the telephone re: a misplaced room key has had an appalling terse attitude throughout.

Room Tip: Avoid having to speak to anyone, as you'll only be made to feel inferior and a nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    242
    235
    166
    124
See reviews for
84
392
36
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My partner and I have just stayed the weekend with some friends at this wonderful gem of a hotel!
From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were very surprised at how good the location was & that there was ample affordable parking so close by.
The hotel reception and lobby were nicely maintained and tastefully furnished and the reception staff on duty were professional, friendly and helpful.
The rooms although a little small had been refurbished and had all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay and the bathroom was very bright & new!!
Housekeeping do a great job as everything was lovely & clean,..and i have to say, the bed was probably the most comfortable I have stayed in, in a very long time.
A great range is offered at Breakfast, Something for everyone, my only criticism would have to be about the mushrooms which could have done with being seasoned when cooking as they didnt have any flavour and the black pudding was overcooked but couldn't really find fault with it, very tasty and the breakfast staff were very efficient & courteous!
We decided to eat in the hotel on the second evening after looking at the menu.
It made a change to see everything being reasonably priced and when it arrived all four of us were delighted with the presentation, taste and value for money!
Have the Ribs if you get chance,... They are the BEST!!
During our stay, nothing we asked was too much trouble and I'd just like to Congratulate Paul and his team,- Kirsty, Heidi and the rest of the gang. Thank you for doing such a great job and going the extra mile to make our stay so pleasurable!...
(Thats how you run a Hotel)..
Can't wait to stay again :0)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyTravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I had a weekend stay here. The hotel is a bit old fashioned and would benefit from an update in decor but everything was clean and tidy. The room was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. The only disappointment is that the television was a small crt type and reception moderate. Based in the middle of the city, the access to the centre of town is great.
The food was standard fayre but well cooked and good quality so no compliants.
Staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
If you can get this at a discount as we did it is very good value for money - at full price it seems overpriced when compared to others.

Room Tip: Get it at a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peetajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves a lot of praise for many many reasons,
First off I arrived a little later than planned and the restaurant had closed but the staff recommended a few places to eat nearby but went one step further and called the restaurant of my choice and arranged for some food to be delivered what more could I ask for!!!
During check in I was given directions to my room with the staff helping me into the lift with my bags which I never expected once inside my room I was astounded by the size and cleanliness everything was spotless very impressive. On my second night I called down to reception and asked what was on the evenings menu and was told by Kirsty that she would go and ask the chef then call me back but if there was something I had in mind she would ask the chef if he could make it for me a personal chef yes please!!! I ordered some food and asked for it to be brought up to my room the food arrived quickly and was good value for money

Overall I was very pleased during my stay the hotel is in a perfect location for the city and transport links with a old fashioned Tudor style on the outside with a good mix of old and modern decor inside, the staff go far and above the call of duty to ensure their guests have an enjoyable stay I would recommended this hotel to all and will stay again next time I'm in Chester thank you to the staff for a great stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Room 204 at this hotels wants boarding up and never using again ,.an absolute waste of £100 and this is with a premier inn just down the street...toilet wouldn't flush,window wouldn't open,tiny room even smaller bathroom..I'd have been better off sleeping in the car ..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iancadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been numerous times to this hotel and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else, the service is superb, the staff are all friendly and extremely helpfull and make us most welcome every time we visit. Thanks to all the staff look forward to our next visit. Anne and Tommy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steech0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This B.W. is a cut above , yet maintains the charm of Chester. Tudor look with modern room bedding and video. We enjoyed out stay and will use them again to enjoy the charm of this amazing city of Chester. Next time we will spend more time in both.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPAIR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing