We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location, good price but noisy with small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Scotland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location, good price but noisy with small rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I paid for the lowest standard of room, for single occupancy, but was still very surprised at how small the room was, with one small single bed. The bathroom was very very small. The room was also very noisy, with a lot of internal hotel noise (mostly coming from a number of children, to be fair, but anyone walking down the corridor sounded like they were about Tom come into the room, and the door lock was very unconvincing).

That said, the room was clean and the price paid was low. The hotel is in very close proximity to the station, and not 10 minutes walk into the centre of Chester. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would choose not to stay here again, owing to the size of the room and the internal noise (not street noise, as I never heard any of that).

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    250
    239
    170
    129
See reviews for
86
408
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
232 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend conference, my first visit here, had seem some rather negative reviews on here. Quite pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the staff. It's an hotel of old world charm, somewhere for a weekend away, ideal location, 5 minutes walk from Chester station. I had travelled by car. There is a car park next to the hotel, it's £5 a day parking,but you can park on the street all day on a Sunday.If you turn down the road before the hotel, there's parking there for 50p-an-hour or £2.90p all day. Quite enjoyed the hotel, very nice double room (Room 306), plenty of space, and an I-pod dock (in the photo),first one I have seen in a hotel room. The room was very clean, nice bathroom with a good bath/shower unit.The bed was very nice. Couple of issues, the room was rather hot, tried turning off the radiators, but the knobs were broken, so had the window open all night, still too warm though. The bathroom door was hung on a slant, so wouldn't close complety, if you are a family, that might cause a few problems.The other issue was a party of schoolboy rugby players who were running around the hotel like a herd of elephants, a number of guests including myself complained to the management about them, the noise didn't really abate until late Saturday night. The food was lovely, very well cooked and plenty of it,breakfast was a "help yourself", really enjoyed that part of my stay.Hotel staff very nice and helpful, The wi-fi was brilliant, was getting 5-7mbps connection speed everytime,never "dropped out",there are a number of wireless repeaters abour the hotel so you get a good connection all the time, a lot better than some hotels I have stayed at. All in all a very nice motel, just needs the things I have mentioned bringing up to scratch, gets my vote for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john461212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good news first: the staff were all pleasant, friendly and helpful; it was bitterly cold outside, and the hotel was very warm in all areas all the time; the breakfast buffet was generous and constantly refilled and it's very close to the railway station. But oh brother, does this place need some modernising, refurbishing and cleaning up, both bedrooms and public areas.. I suggest it really needs to be closed and completely revamped. And the food is pretty awful, though there is enough of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TyneAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we are currently operating a rolling refurbishment programme and have last year in November completed the bar areas and reception with other areas scheduled along with continuous improvement to the rooms, so hope you will return to see the improvements. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was travelling with a university group and, as a result, we are on a limited budget. My single room in this hotel, however, was budget in every way. It was TINY - little more than a cupboard with a single bed. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't get to the toilet unless you squeezed in and shut the door, as the door touched the bath blocking the rest of the room off.

I have to say it smelt rather damp, too. Overall not impressed - I suspect in this hotel you get what you pay for.....

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having read some very poor reviews on Trip Advisor before travelling to this hotel, I contacted them in advance of our stay to express concerns (it was a non-refundable booking via Tesco Clubcard or else I may have cancelled.) My partner doesn't keep in the best of health so I was fearful of finding ourselves in a room that was unsuitable. After speaking to a very helpful chap on the phone, I was told we would be allocated one of the refurbished rooms, room 202. When we arrived and checked-in, I found we had been allocated room 228. I explained that I had called earlier in the week and been told we would be in room 202, a refurbished room. When I explained about my telephone call to the hotel the girl on Reception told me that I should not have been 'promised' a specific room and that this room was unavailable. I'm sorry, but that was hardly my fault if the person I spoke to was not following normal procedure. Anyhow, we took the keys to Room 228 and I can best describe this as the type of room you would find in a hostel, it was dreadful. The bed didn't look made, the wallpaper was torn and dirty, the net curtain was torn and stained and the fixtures were equally as tired and dirty looking. There was an 'antique' centre light with 5 bulbs, only 2 of which were lit, I'm sure to disguise other failings in the room. By far the biggest issue however was the fact the bed was only accessible from one side with the other flush against the wall, Really not suitable when you have a 6ft 4" partner with mobility issues (all of which was explained to the hotel.) Deciding we couldn't possible stay in this Room, we complained to Reception and very quickly we were moved to Room 218 which was indeed a refurbished room. On first impressions Room 218 was infinitely better, certainly more modern and apparently cleaner. It was however not without its problems. We had a toilet that wouldn't flush without having to press in the flush about a dozen times in quick succession, no mean feat I can say, as well as a toilet roll holder that only a contortionist could reach! There was a also a bulb missing in the spot light above the mirror, it only held two so must've been noticeable to housekeeping, there were also damp and mouldy patches on the ceiling on a room that has only very recently been decorated. Quite laughable that you have a 'do not disturb' sign for the room but nowhere to hang it outside the door??!! After our first night, the shower gel was was not replenished in the room, all basic, basic standards that the Best Western couldn't achieve.

Breakfast in the hotel was an 'experience.' There were several tables reserved for what appeared to be a party from a conference. On the first morning we were allocated a table that was set but hadn't been cleaned. The was a dirty cup that had been turned over as if ready for use and when my partner went to use his napkin that was folded for use found it to be covered in lipstick, completely unacceptable. The service was, at best, slow. The chap who was serving tried his best but with so many tables to serve it was inevitable he wouldn't be able to keep up. The second morning on asking for tea, the tea arrived minus milk, petty yes, however I repeat, very basic standards that shouldn't be difficult to attain.

In summary, we would never stay here again, probably not even if you paid us, it was quite frankly one of the worst hotels we have stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishTravellerNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review and I would like to apologise that you were not happy with your stay, sometimes we do get things wrong but if discussed with us directly we do all we can to make everyone's stay memorable for the right reasons so apologise that we were unable to do this for you, should you wish to return please contact the hotel directly.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The room I was in was filthy, and stank of cigarettes. The bathroom smelt even worse. The heating was on full blast with no way of turning it down, and the windows were unable to open so the room became a smelly hot box! I ended up having to use the ironing board (that would have been better off in the bin) to wedge the door open when I was getting ready. And to top it all off the shower was lukewarm.

I left the room feeling dirty, smelly, and disgusting...only to find the breakfast was poorly stocked and consisted of mostly greasy fry up that had been left out too long,

I would recommend staying WELL AWAY from this place if you plan on having a pleasant stay in Chester!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123AmandaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, I have investigated your room and have had maintenance look at the shower and the radiator which are both now fixed. Unfortunately prior guests had been smoking on back checking and despite housekeeping's efforts this was obviously still and issue and I sincerely apologise, hopefully you would consider staying with us again to prove that this was an isolated incident, I am unsure as to whether this was reported to reception as they would have moved your room.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel!!!! must be honest when my partner said he booked this hotel I immediately checked it out on Trip Advisor (As I do with each hotel I stay at) . To say I was apprehensive about staying here was an under statement!!!!!. Negative comments about hotel and having to pay lots of money for overnight parking!!!!!
We arrived and checked in, all super efficient, Cassie the Receptionist was really up on her knowledge of the local area as regards to where to go and eating out!!!!! We went to our room and after checking out previous reviews checked the bed and the bathroom and the general decor!! The bed was made up of fresh super white sheets and duvet cover, the bathroom was amazing, really clean and fresh and smelt of cleanliness. The room was not ultra modern, but, when you come somewhere that says on the signpost "The Historic Town of Chester" you dont expect "22nd Century"!!! The toilets that were downstairs in the Reception area were so clean and fresh and well stocked with toilet rolls and tissues!!!
We had dinner included in our stay for the first night, which was a £20 allowance each, we were able to have a starter and main meal each for this amount and the quality of the food was fantastic!!! Each day we were entitled to breakfast which on working out what we had paid ammounted to £3.50 per head each day for an "All you can eat ....help yourself buffet" which was really good value for money in any hotel!!!!
Cassie was a hub of information on what to do and where to go to eat, and on our second night recommended "Barton Rouge" the Indian Restaurant, which was nearby on the Canal Side. This place was a 5 Star Restaurant with prices that were as of those in your local "Curry House"!!!! The place is a "Must Visit" for anybody who appreciates a really good Indian meal!!!!
Finally I must say to anybody checking out this Hotel on Trip Advisor.....check it out, speak to Cassie and enjoy your stay at the "Westminster" xxxxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I have passed your comments on to the Head Chef and to Cassie who was delighted you mentioned her. It is great to receive positive comments and we are all really happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
King Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing