We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Weekend”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Having just spent a long weekend in chester at Hotel Westminster.
Breakfasts good, dinners average.
Rooms no heating, first weekend of November - like an iceburgh.
Lounge / TV rooms, none. Nowhere to relax after dinner.
A hotel I would not recommend and would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    256
    244
    171
    130
See reviews for
87
423
37
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed two nights here, arrived by train so location was perfect with no parking worries. used free shuttle bus [10 min frequency] from outside station which dropped us off right outside M&S in town. [note: will be charging £1 from 19th November] still cheaper & easier than parking fees. Staff were friendly & helpful, breakfast was great, rooms were spotless but were perhaps getting a little tired though I did notice that painters were working at end of corridor so this will presumably change soon. Apparently this hotel is sometimes used by coach parties but there were none in while we were there so it was quiet. Overall would use again & would recommend. It made a nice change that there were sufficient tea coffee & sugar sachets in the room!! Beds were comfortable.Massive bathroom

Room Tip: We had 212 at the rear, lousy view but plenty of space .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambrian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for five days in October 2011. Our experience was of good food, friendly and informative staff, together with a very clean, comfortable and interesting hotel.
We would not hesitate to book again whenever we visit Chester

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed here for the second time with my partner. Heard about the 'free bar', inwhich we had to pay an extra £10 ontop of a £69 room, which seems quite expensive. Yes, we paid a little more but it was worth it! The drinks available were not just 'house' brands which I thought would be, the list was all of of the well known brands which meant we could drink and actually enjoy! Moreover, the room we were put in was excellent. Very spacious and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee, tv was great. Cosy and warm room. Nice wide windows. Very polite and welcoming staff. Fantastic breakfast choice too in pleasant surroundings. Love the decor of tudor meets modern. Overall, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmzJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Found this hotel by chance when looking for somewhere not to far from Manchester airport for a morning flight. Staff were very friendly and we were given a corner room on the first floor that was very well appointed. Limited free drinks in the bar for 1-2 hours was a bonus. Well located for several restaurants. For an overnight stay was hard to fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Have stayed mostly in the Queens across the road But have occasionally used the westminster but was disappointed with the Queen last week so opted for the sister hotel the Westminster this week instead. Unfortunately it's just as bad. The rooms are lovely and clean and they're both ideally situated for the station, but they have both sold their souls to the bus tour market and hence you are treated like one too. The dining staff couldn't have cared less over breakfast, and the quality has certainly dropped. Disappointing because I have used Best Western for many many years, think it's time to find another chain that doesn't treat it's guests like cattle on a conveyor system.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASM9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stopped at the hotel for one night room was very clean and comfortable. Free bar offer fantastic and a lovely meal in the restaurant. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazd200010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Property: Hallmark Inn Chester
Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing