We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel check in and out easy, loction great for some nice food and drinks, very close to the train station.
Room ok, bathroom very small, but clean.
I would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

I had arranged a business meeting at the adjacent Queens Hotel (which claimed that this hotel was a 'sister' hotel ?). As the Queens was full and I needed an additional bedroom, they referred us here. I booked a room at £75 a night by phone and they confirmed this by taking my credit card. After reading poor reviews on here, I emailed the hotel and requested that I wanted a refurbished room, as some clearly are not. When I arrived (at 10.30pm) I was told they had no record of my booking and they we were full, but could allocate me "their last to let room", which was basically a single room that hadnt seen a deorator since about 1980. This had carpet in the bathroom, peeling wallpaper, holes in the wall and on TV stuck to the wall. I didnt realise that shabby rooms like this still existed in major chains in big cities. I had no option but to accept, as I couldnt face trudging around Chester looking for another room at 11pm. They graciously reduced my bill to £40, but that wasnt the point, it wasnt what I booked, nor what I wanted. Breakfast was poor too. I would avoid this hotel. It needs a major makeover.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memberRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

It is easy to walk to this lovely hotel from the station. The decor includes antiques and is quite interesting.The rooms are smaller than those in the US but certainly adequate.
You can also walk to town along the canal.
The breakfast buffet is fine and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsidenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter whilst on a trip to the zoo. Veru friendly reception team who were great with kids. Room was nice enough bit on the small side and a bit dated but comfortable enough. Bathroom fine. Ate in the resturant which was nice but very expensive for the food. Breakfast was great lots to select from. Downfall no parking but is a car park by the pub not far from hotel at all. Friendly upon check out as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Many thanks for your comments about your stay here at the Westminster Hotel and i hope your daughter enjoyed the zoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

clean, good service, room was nice, clean but a little stuffy, staff were friendly, free bar was a bonus, breakfast had a good selection, would stay here again as it offered value for money, and was 30 second walk from the station and 5 minutes from town centre,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishtec25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We did not have a booking but walked in and asked for best price which is displayed on sign outside hotel. Chester hotels must be very competitive because we have a reasonably nice double room with breakfast and free welcome drinks included. I believe the welcome drinks also include free refill but I had only one drink . Both beer and wine are on the welcome drinks list and I saw guests taking cocktails too so do enjoy the 5-7pm happy hour period. Buffet breakfast is average Uk standard and we did not take other meals to make fair comment about food quality. Generally the services are good throughout our stay, cleaners were not so polite but OK.

Hotel is a traditional building with dated furniture typical of many hotels in this area of Chester, which is a city full of history anyway. The location is excellent for train passenger as it is 50m or so from station so one can check in and go sightsee or shop downtown quickly. The city is about 10 minutes walk away and one can walk along the canal to get there to avoid crossing busy roads. Chester has expensive carparks so one may wish to use the Queens hotel (also under BEST WESTERN management) across the road if car storage is necessary.

We requested a quiet room so it is at back of hotel facing a derelict carpark, not the best view around but it was really quiet. The king bed turns out to be two single beds joined up and one of them is really worn out with bad springs creeking all night! Usual old furniture including an old small TV, hair-dryer and tea making facilities available but No free internet. Both the room and ensuite bathroom are good size and we will certainly return to this Chester hotel again if we use the train for travel.

Room Tip: always ask for quiet room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This place seemed a bit tired and dated. Staff pleasant, food reasonable but room extremely small. Wouldn't go back personally but it was reasonably priced for a brief visit.
Had to pay to park the car over the road in sister hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank candiloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#40 of 44 in Chester
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,445 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $46 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing