We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,222)
Filter reviews
3,222 results
Traveler rating
1,688
920
310
178
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,688
920
310
178
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings grill kings quarters train station waiting room queens hotel bucks fizz lovely hotel car park groupon deal city centre reception staff buffet breakfast evening meal one night stay lovely room my partner executive room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 3,222 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at The Queens. Just a short walk to the centre and great for the train station. The hotel is lovely, very impressive.
The staff were lovely but I suggest at busier times there should be more staff in the dining room as a lot of people waited a long time for menus, bill's etc. We would still come back as had a lovely time.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank billyblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely warm welcome.Evening meal and breakfast were excellent.Room clean if an odd shape.Cocktails in the bar were excellent.Good location for the station and parking was just around the corner of hotel,which you had to pay for,only £8 for 24hrs.A little way out from the main bars and cafes £4 in a taxi.Would stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
Thank 241annie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean and tidy room, comfortable bed, good shower. Our room was a bit tired, small and a bit tired. The room was at street level and next to the footpath, so was subject to noise from people walking by. The foyer and halls have lovely paintings and items from times past, my favorites were the carved wooden oriental warrior and the portraits of the various English queens through history. Reception staff were not very responsive when we made a request for assistance. If booking, have a look at the rooms on line first.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Orrix55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights last weekend. Nice huge room in kings quarters with modern very clean bathroom and linen.
Sadly had to wait 50 mins for a bottle of wine from room service.
Rest of hotel quite tired but reasonable prices in bar.
Had evening meal and breakfast included. Evening meal was bog standard pub food. Neither here nor there in a busy dining room with two few staff. Self service breakfast offered the usual so nothing outstanding there.
Car parking expensive but plenty of room and secure. If you are staying in kings rooms drive onto overflow car park and park right outside the entrance. Much easier than going* through the hotel.
Staff were friendly.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SUZYWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed one night celebrated my boyfriend's birthday booked an executive double but was upgraded to superior room in Kings building over looking the courtyard
The room was very spacious and clean especially the bed the most comfortable sleep ever mattress was like sleeping on a cloud
Breakfast was buffet service choice of cereals danish pastries fruit yogurt and hot breakfast choice bacon sausage beans tomato mushrooms hashbrown black pudding the food was really tasty but the only thing letting it down was the temperature only look warm, and we did arrive early 7.30 food was coming out fresh from kitchen so I don't know why it wasn't hot this never spoilt our stay tho we will be visiting again
Also can I say that the staff our lovely and polite and work hard

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kazzamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews