We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and convenient for shops and restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and convenient for shops and restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here on Saturday 25th jan 2014 with my husband and the room was lovely and comfortable with robes and slippers provided. We didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast the next day was excellent. We were greeted with a glass of Buck's Fizz and a lovely young lady was singing softly and playing the guitar whilst we enjoyed our breakfast, which had full selection of cereals, fruit , full English and pastries to choose from. We will return in the summer when it would be lovely to sit outside in the gardens. No free parking but if you park on the station car park it is only £6 for a day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Sharon E,

Many thanks for your very kind review of the Queen.

We would love to see you back in the summer. You're quite right. The garden at the Queen is a real suntrap - bring your shades and some tanning lotion!

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    901
    326
    190
    124
See reviews for
304
1,674
54
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in the Queen hotel with my husband for two nights while we visited his family, who live in the Chester area, to celebrate his 50th birthday. We thought the hotel environment was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had a superb meal in the restaurant. There was one gesture that made a particular impression on us though - on the morning of his birthday my husband opened his cards and put them up on the table in our room. When we came back later in the day, we found a little boxed birthday cake next to the cards, with a note saying happy birthday. What a lovely thing to do! It made us both very happy! They were put there by the maid who attended to our room, who I've since discovered is called Nicola Edge, so thank you Nicola, we really appreciated your kindness and we hope the universe repays you! Thanks Queen Hotel for the happy memories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jebby72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Jebby72014,

It is so gratifying to read of your experiences at the Queen.

We try very hard at making everyone's stay a happy one and encourage all the staff to be generous with detail. I have found the young lady room attendant who left your husband a birthday cake and told her how well she did.

Thank you again, and have a wonderful year.

Kindest regards,

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Yet another perfect weekend at this hotel i can't find a single fault with the Queens, from the moment you arrive you are met by Iwan the concierge who makes you feel so welcome into the newly refurbished reception. The rooms are very clean and comfy, we had a meal in the Kings restaurant where you can relax with a drink before you are called to your table when your meal is ready. There is a wide selection for breakfast from fresh fruit salad, yogurt, pastries and of cause a wide selection for a full English. I would really recommend Roberts cocktails in the Kings Bar
We will definitely be returning again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rads14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We recently held our Office New Year Party at the Queen Hotel in Chester. The organisation ran like clockwork, people were fed with some lovely food in an organised and pain free fashion. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The feedback I have had from everyone was very positive indeed. The hotel interior is a pleasure. The decor is fabulous and everywhere was spotless.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked an overnight in Chester for my birthday at the last minute and everything was as good as I could hope for, polite staff, great sized room, clean bathroom, abundant breakfast. The hotel is lovely to simply walk through too, with the Roman theme it doesn't feel like it's seconds away from a train station and a 10 min walk into the town.
We found that the room was missing its TV remote so I popped down to tell the reception staff, concerned that we would get charged for it and they couldn't be more helpful sending someone up almost immediately with a replacement. Very good all round.
Faultless? Possibly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unitedsnumber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing