We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at the Queen hotel as part of a travel zoo deal which included breakfast and dinner. The food was really good enjoyed the evening meal and buffet breakfast, We also ate in the hotel bar which was also really good. Staff really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and it could do with a bit of a re-vamp, but the room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed, Perfect location right next to the station and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the town centre. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121Tillie_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    932
    331
    196
    127
See reviews for
317
1,715
54
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Recently attended an All Inclusive Party Night at The Queen Hotel. Booking in was very quick and our room was situated on the second floor in The Queen. There was lots of information in our room, even a history of the hotel. Apparently, a little girl on a tricycle haunted our floor, though we never met her!

Our room was comfortable, clean and very spacious. We explored the hotel and it is a lovely hotel with lots of character and spacious courtyard, full of beautiful and interesting statues and themes. I would think that in the Spring and Summer, it is a very relaxing place to sit. There are lots to look at in the hotel - a giant chair for photo opportunities, a large red telephone box and lots of other things to look at and read about. All the staff we met were friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, even though they were busily on their way to somewhere else, they would stop and direct us to where we wanted to go. The doorman was particularly helpful.

We were part of a group that attended one of the All Inclusive Christmas Carvery Party Nights. This was very well organised. The tables were very festive and each group's tables were clearly marked as you walked in. Bucks Fizz with canapés was served to guests entering the party room. Starters were served at the table. Then, each table was called up to the carvery, so there was no "free-for-all". Our food was served to us by waiters at each point of the carvery, so no fingers in the food! You could go back for more, if you wanted. Dessert was served in the same way as the carvery with a different waiter serving each dessert. Lots of choices for dessert. A bit of everything, if you had the room! The food was excellent and the serving staff were cheery and unflustered. During the dinner service, waiters served red, white and rose wine and bottled beer.

After dinner, there was a disco and free drinks until midnight. The staff all worked extremely hard and were friendly, happy and joined in the party spirit. No queues at the bar and it was very efficiently run. The whole atmosphere was about fun and there were a couple of quizzes and party games which were very entertaining. The disco was good and all enjoyed themselves.

The next morning we made our way to breakfast and were offered Bucks Fizz as we entered the dining room. We were then seated and made to feel very welcome by a gentleman with impeccable manners. He asked our requirements for coffee and tea and beckoned a waiter to bring our drinks. The dining room was busy, but we never had to wait for anything we asked for. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast, with all the usual breakfast items and a few more. There were boiled, scrambled, poached, fried eggs. These all looked freshly cooked and all the food was good quality. You could also order omelettes, steak and eggs, haddock, kippers etc. These items were cooked to order and brought to the table. We had a very relaxing breakfast. Tables were cleared quickly and reset before any guests were shown to them. We all felt the service and quality of the food was excellent.

Check out was quick and efficient and we wished we had booked another night at the hotel, even though we lived locally.

There were one or two things which did disappoint but the service and attitude of the staff more made up for any negatives. The water to the shower in our room was only just warm but the bath water was lovely and hot!. I suppose in the older part of the hotel, things are not as modern and efficient as the new King part of the hotel. To be honest, we didn't complain at the time, but I think any problem would have been resolved, had we brought it to the hotel's attention. We did point it out on check out and a note was made to attend to it.

We also found the prices of the drinks in the lounge bar were very expensive. The car park also comes in at £15 per night on a weekend, which is a bit steep, when you are staying as a guest. On a positive note, though, you can park up as soon as you arrive in the morning and you don't have to move your car on check out which means you can walk into town or get a bus up to town and pick your car up later. The walk into town takes about 10 minutes.

We loved this hotel and all the staff seemed to go the extra mile to ensure guests were happy. Staff were obviously well-trained in customer care and seemed genuinely keen to ensure a pleasant stay for their guests.

Would definitely return and would stay in another Best Western, if that is the benchmark of their standard of service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Room small but lovely, warm, comfortable and clean, bathroom compact but holds everything needed. First night lovely concierge as per previous reviews offered loads of help without being over top.
Breakfast was faultless, even to point of offering Buck's Fizz for waiting guests. However after coming back from days shopping to use fitness suite found equipment faulty badly maintained and no way of contacting reception, mentioned all this to reception to be Informed that they were aware and we should of been told what to expect . All showered we ventured to kings grill and cocktail bar to sit enjoy cocktails then be ignored by maitre'd when my wife asked where toilet was! quickly realised that unless you were a table of more than 4 you would quickly be ignored and literally have to shout to get the bill. Bad service and bad facilities have let hotel down and that comes from a couple that NEVER complain !!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jillsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went for a mid week break with our son & his girlfriend. As soon as we arrived we were upgraded to superior rooms. The rooms were clean & spacious with all mod cons. We ate in the restaurant both nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel is in walking distance of chester.chester is a lovely city.

Room Tip: Traditional rooms are in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day overnight stay at the Best Western Queens Hotel, Chester. Very easy to find by car (just follow signs for City Road hotels/railway station). For secure parking drive past the front of the hotel through the arch way signing 'carriages and horses' and go through the barrier on the right hand side for plenty of parking. Do be aware that there is a steep charge of £10 per day Monday to Thursday and £15 per day Friday to Sunday. If you don't mind unsecure parking, to the left is the railway car park with I think is much cheaper. If you are travelling by train the hotel is directly in front of you as you leave the railway station.

Check-in is very efficient and you are able to leave luggage if you arrive before 3 and your room is not available. Porters can help with luggage if necessary. Our room was in the Kings Quarter, which is a newer addition to the hotel and we stayed on the 6th floor which provided a great view over Chester city. We had a King Exec room which had all the facilities you would expect: TV; tea & coffee making facilities; hairdryer; iron board/iron; free wi-fi; CD player with IPod dock; king sized extremely comfy bed; and a gorgeous modern bathroom with separate shower and bath (toiletries included). You are also able to borrow a free DVD player and there is a library of DVD's which you may choose from Reception.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening (booking necessary) and food was delicious, accompanied by a live pianist, just be aware that drinks prices are extremely steep! Unless you are up early in the morning do expect to queue for a short while to enter the breakfast room (you can take full advantage of the bucks fizz as you are waiting through). Breakfast is a very wide choice and very tasty indeed. Have your picture taken and the massive chair outside the dining room, very Alice in Wonderland.

There is a Spa treatment room at the hotel and I recommend the 45 minute tailor made package. Competitively priced and excellent. The room was a bit cold though (keep your socks on!).

The location is about a 10 minute flat walk into town. Walk on the right had side down to the end of city road, past the cake shop on the corner and cross over the dual carriage way, left and right into the beginning of the shopping area. In the summer don't miss the town crier near the church (the cross) at 12 midday. It is great for shopping but do make the effort to also go down to the river. There is a lovely walk if you go over the bridge onto the other side and turn left walking through the field on the main pathway. Obviously walking the wall is another must.
There is no cinema or theatre which is surprising for a city, but there are plenty of eating places a pubs. On a previous visit we went to Alexanders (I think it is still there) where you book in advance and have a meal with live music and dancing which was great.

Back to the hotel, it's important to say that every member of staff we came into contact with was very friendly and very efficient and genuinely seemed to be happy at their work. Interestingly they were all British too which (I may be wrong of course) seemed to imply that this hotel does not just employ international staff and pay them low wages. Which adds to the ambiance of this being a quality hotel.

This is not the cheapest hotel to stay in at Chester but for a treat it really is worth it. Take a look at the Visit Chester website as this is where we found a special package for the hotel, which was not shown on Best Western's own website.

Have a great time.

Room Tip: Room 1605 in Kings Quarter was very quiet and nicely furnished (excellent bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

From the outside, the Queen Hotel might appear to most, to be jaded elegance displaying the typical Victorian grandeur of its contemporaries. However, once through the doors, you enter an almost magical world of art and sculpture, like an art gallery or museum.

We were welcomed like regular visitors by a young receptionist with "Trainee" on her jacket. In our opinion, a good candidate for permanency. Offered a free upgrade, we wondered what the hotel had in store for us. Room 327 had a great deal to offer. Otherwise known as the Catherine of Braganza suite, it offered space, comfort and a wow factor that satisfied the anticipation we had harboured since our initial booking application. Large bath sheets and a good firm bed were complimented by coffee and tea-making facilities.

The room overlooked a delightful courtyard that would give grace to many a wedding photograph or peaceful contemplation, as would the beautiful sweeping staircase in the centre of the hotel. Lined with works of art and impressive sculptures, it encouraged you to avoid the lift. Another major point, often overlooked, was that the rooms had security spy-holes in the doors and room service order deliveries were preceded by a telephone call to the room.

Coincidentally, following some research, the date on which we stayed, celebrated the 375th anniversary of Catherine's birth. With a toast to her birthday, we knew we were in for a comfortable and restful night and we were not wrong. Sadly, a previous occupant had thought it necessary to highlight Catherine's portrait lips with a ball-point pen and drew a tear in her eye. For all the fact that she had had a disappointing life with her husband James, we did not think that additions to her painting were necessary!

An evening bar meal was spoiled by the free-for-all at the counter (there seemed to be a corporate event the following day) but the food was good and well cooked, although I did find some difficulty in eating pie-of-the-day, peas and mashed potatoes from four receptacles on one tray. My wife's Spanish omelette was really good, but I must comment on the fact that no offer to cater for dietary requirements were noted on the menus. My wife is a Coeliac and occasionally requires some offer of reassurance. To be fair, we did not ask for any dietary preference during our stay but happily, we were able to read the menus on line prior to our visit.

The hotel needs to be seen to be believed, there are other areas of accommodation that offer different facilities but we believe that in room 327 we got more than we expected. A full English, self-service, buffet breakfast completed our satisfaction and this hotel is high on our return list. The hotel's commissionaire kept us appraised of regular activities when we first entered and offered us a cheery "farewell" as we left.

The fact that parking in the hotel's car park cost a further £10 (£15 at the weekend) must be noted, but off-setting this, it is secure and only walking distance from the railway station and the city.

Well done Best Western, you ticked all of our boxes

Room Tip: The higher in the building, the better the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discovery47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing