We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel. Room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The whole hotel is done out in a very individual style unlike many more modern chains. Ideally placed next to the station if going by train. Thought £15 per night for car parking was a but over the top though. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review following your stay at the Queen.

I am very happy to hear that you liked our style! We try to be as far away from sterile as possible and endeavour to give our guests an experience above that received at 'hotel in a box' chains.

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. It is the most important meal of the day and we like to go a little over the top. At the last count it was 103 items - variety really is the spice of life!

City centre car park charges are an unfortunate, but necessary reality. With spaces at a premium, and being the only central hotel in Chester with a car park, supply and demand needs to be controlled.

Thank you once again for your kind words. They are gratefully received and prove to be of great motivation to the whole team.

Kindest regards

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    932
    331
    196
    127
See reviews for
317
1,715
54
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The Queen Hotel in Chester is a well appointed hotel, the food is excellent, the rooms comfortable and the experience superb. Whether away on business or on holiday, the Queen is well placed for Liverpool, Manchester, Chester, Knutsford, North Wales etc. We cannot wait to return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Begbroke,

Thank you for writing such a positive review about the Queen.

We are in this business to make people happy and I am delighted to hear that we succeeded!

We care deeply about our business, the food we serve, the comfort of our guests, and the overall hotel experience. The hard work is certainly worthwhile when we hear feedback such as yours.

Chester itself is a gem of a city, and you are quite right - so easy to get to from Liverpool, Manchester and Birmingham, and only 2 hours by direct train from London.

Come back soon - you will be made very welcome!

Kindest regards

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Duration of stay: 2 weeks. I still have one week of stay ahead of me but I couldn't wait that long to write this humble review.
Purpose: Business
Housekeeping: Apalling - Bedsheets never changed, Towels with gaping holes, Toiled Bowls not cleaned, Water not replaced sometimes. You have to ASK to get something done.
Reception Lady: Uniformed, Unprofessional, Rude, Arrogant
Jubilee Room Restaturant: Same dinner everyday
King's Quarter Grill and Cocktail Lounge: Needs reservation! For hotel guests? unheard of before
Cheap Marketing Strategy: In-room Guest Directory says the hotel is haunted
Location: Great, 40 footsteps from station
Wifi: Horrible at times.
Elevator: Slow
Guidance to room when you first check in - None. Find your own way in the maze of corridors.

Room Tip: Choose something away from the elevator if you like your sleep in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenH0tel, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Kunal_A,

Thank you for your review.

Obviously I am very concerned about the complaints you have raised particularly regarding housekeeping which is most unusual.

I am unable, from your alias, to identify your room number. Considering you are still in house, could you please ask for me or Deputy Manager, Paul Day, so that we can help resolve any outstanding issues you may have.

Kindest regards

Simon Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Best western queens through the travelzoo deal. Hotel is fantastic, we stayed in the newly renovated kings part of the hotel which is a must.Modern rooms, spacious,clean,fantastic bathroom.
Food in the evening was delicious. Location straight across from the train station. Staff friendly and helpful.
Could not fault the hotel one bit!
With regard to the parking charges- yes they are a little expensive but it is a city centre and right next to the hotel, you could park elsewhere but who want to lug lugguage through the city centre??

Thank you queens hotel for a lovely stay. We will most definetly be back and recommending.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to stay in the kings quarters, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jade_coates89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Ideal if travelling by train, as the hotel is located directly opposite the train station, and about 15 minutes walk to the Cathedral.
Staff were polite and professional. Room and service lived up to expectations. A big plus for us was free wifi available throughout the hotel.
The only two criticisms are the excessive hotel parking charges for guests (£10 per day Mon to Thurs and £15 Fri to Sun), and we felt that the standard of breakfast fell short of that expected, and therefore we only had breakfast at the hotel once.
Although they offered a full variety in their breakfast, the hot section (eg. eggs, bacon, black pudding) had been kept warm far too long on the hot plates, and we would have expected a freshly cooked breakfast for the price they are charging for it. We would not mind the price if we were provided with a freshly cooked 4 star breakfast instead of a hot plated 2 star one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexuk2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed again for just one night. This time we were in a larger than normal room, and everything was perfect. Breakfast choice seems to get larger by each visit. Some people think that £10.00 per head for breakfast is too much but its not. Staff as usual very friendly, helpful and sincere.
The porters are always give you a warm welcome without being formal and always greet customers like they are old friends and have you smiling as arrive. What better way to put you in a more relexed mood even if you have had an awful day. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley22Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a lovely one night stay in this lovely hotel. Stayed in the Queens quarter and it was brilliant! Lovely room with a four poster bed great view over looking the Italian court yard.Jacuzzi in bathroom, very comfortable large bed. Food superb, great atmosphere and very attentive staff. Would definatly be booking here again.

Room Tip: Queens room 233 very quiet huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kempian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing