We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticked All The Boxes. Brilliant Staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ticked All The Boxes. Brilliant Staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our "executive room" overlooked the rail station concourse which was undergoing 24 hour refurbishment work (which we seldom heard) but we work on the adage win some lose some for what was lost in the vista was more than made up by the room.

This was a large room very large by modern room standards with an equally spacious well supplied bathroom. It was a little tired in decor (cup heat marks on the dining table rather spoilt it) and it was rather dark however with highly polished period furniture offering a multitude of storage spaces plus a super huge wonderful comfy bed, a settee plus much more it made up for a minor niggle or two.

We were blown away by the kindness of the reception staff and this can be said of all the other staff we came into contact with but especially the Breakfast Manager who presided over the best most comprehensive breakfasts we have ever had anywhere, also the great kitchen & restaurant staff who were ever attentive & just wonderful. On Valentines night well over eighty covers of superb food were served smoothly efficiently and always with a smile.
Try the steaks they are simply delicious but then over our stay we had many dishes all were excellent.

A great hotel for well aged such as I only a cock stride from the station and just a short walk to Chester's brilliant city centre. A very clean vibrant hub with a multitude of things to see and do
steeped in history. Our short three day stay was nowhere near enough to take in all the amenities we hoped for. We shall be back soon and probably many more times after. Our thanks to a great hotel and great staff.

Room Tip: Enjoy a great hotel & great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacclesfieldGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,605
    900
    326
    189
    124
See reviews for
304
1,673
54
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

As a wedding gift from friends me and my newly wed spent a night at this hotel which we were very much looking forward to! We were greeted nicely at the main reception when checking in...then our hearts and faces dropped upon entering our room, it was very basic old fashioned and bathroom needed a complete revamp! We then went to move our car from dropping off bays to discover we needed to pay a whopping £15.00 to park the night. Trying to make the most of our little get away we went out for a meal in Chester city center. then back at the hotel in late evening all we could hear was the wedding guests as our window overlooked court yard. Looking forward to breakfast in the morning we joined breakfast room,with band playing which was a nice touch staff very polite but food was disgusting! I would much prefer quality than quantity! It has put me off best western hotels all together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for a night and will 100% defo be returning , a wonderful blend of old character and new modern features , we stayed in the old part in a standard room which we were more than happy with , superb food and service , breakfast is epic , lots of quirky furniture and pictures to keep us smiling , great location too

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattandhiscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We held our sailing club annual dinner dance for 160 people at the Queen Hotel in January. Not only was the entire evening good value but all the hotel staff were extremely helpful both before the event, setting up the room and during the evening. The food was excellent and the disco set the dancing off with a bang - accompanied by the giant party poppers ! A lot of us stayed overnight and I received favourable comments from everyone I spoke to. The hotel's attention to detail undoubtedly made the event one that will be remembered for a long time to come and the staff all went the extra mile in looking after us. Many thanks to everyone.
Kay Johnson

Room Tip: the kings hotel executive rooms are all individually styled, quirky and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a night at this hotel. The staff are fantastic and very hepful, in particular the concierge. It is a beautiful building and the interior is very grand. We stayed as a large group and we were all very impressed. The rooms are well decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with a huge choice. This is a very well run hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel, once to celebrate our engagement and the second, most recent was to celebrate my birthday.

On both occasions, you can not help but fall in love with this hotel.
The staff are so friendly and helpful.

The rooms are stunning, we have only stayed in the kings part of the hotel. The rooms have everything you could want. Massive bed, beautiful decor, iPod player, baths big enough for two and a power shower.

The food in the Kings restaurant was lovely and very filling.
The guy who played the piano, was amazing and very relaxing.

The champagne breakfast is buffet style, which caters for everyone, from full English to continental.

So close to everything, took us 5 mins for a slow walk to the centre.

We used the Spa treatment room during this stay and the treatments were very good.

The hotel is not like all the same, loads of quirky items, such as the very large chair, the red phone box and the beautiful decor in the reception area.

This hotel is a must, I would definatly go back for my third visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for two nights and have to say it was very enjoyable .the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you .the food was also very good and the room was extremely nice and comfortable. Would just like to complement the management on the running of this lovely hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyw6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing