We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
“Short Business Trip”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed at your hotel on business trip and arrived Sunday evening feeling very dishevelled and quite unwell.

Mark (Reception) and Gareth Owen were very attentive, showed real concern for my well being and were exceptionally helpful and went beyond what I had a right to reasonably expect as a guest.

As a result of their superb customer care I will have no hesitation in recommending your hotel to others travelling to the Chester area and will be booking in myself when on subsequent business trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,687
    958
    341
    197
    132
See reviews for
325
1,777
56
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Something has to be excellent to get 5 stars from me (I hope...), but I'm hard pressed to think of anything I didn't like about the Queen Hotel.

Reception staff are friendly enough, check-in/out was quick, breakfasts are excellent for a buffet (if no match for the fresh cooked you get in a good B&B or guest house!).

I ate in the bar (The Waiting Room) one night and the fish and chips were tasty and well cooked and not that expensive. They sell German Weissbier in bottles (need to keep it a bit colder though - 1/4 star off for that :) ) too.

I stayed one night and then a second stay for 4. I got a much bigger room the second time and it was a pleasure staying there (Avoid the 1X01 and 1X02 rooms if you can, mine was smaller than 1403).

My rooms were in the new "Kings" building (and old office block!), but they are well appointed, comfortable and imaginatively decorated - Each floor is themed for a group of Kings (Spanish Kings, Scottish Kings, etc) and each room themed to a King. Some might find it all a bit kitsch, I guess, but it's better than the blandness of some hotels I think.

Beds were comfy and the rooms (and showers!) plenty warm enough when you want.

If you're travelling in by train it's great as it's right opposite the station, but there's no noise from there (that I noticed) and it's not far from town (15 minute walk or less unless you're infirm).

I found myself quite enjoying sitting in the lounge with a beer of an evening, after dinner, reading.

Downsides? Fitness room is rather limited (but at least there is something, a bike, a running machine and a cross trainer, basically), it's a rather long way from reception to the Kings Building down a rather chilly (but fully enclosed) glass passageway.

I can't really think of much else. Perfectly pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is trying to build on its heritage but forgets why it is there. One expects certain basics - hot water from shower, toilet paper in bathroom, working phone, a glass from which to drink, writing paper in room(ok, this might be a too much to ask...?). On speaking with the reception person (remember I couldn't use the phone as it didn't work!) it was clearly an inconvenience to his "busy" evening and was told if I wanted something to drink (water) i could go to bar. As there were 4 people queuing the chances of getting anything quickly was remote. So went for a run rather thirsty!

On return, I did get some toilet paper (very generous of them) but nothing else. Not even an apology.

I get the impression they are more interested in stag/hen parties so be warned!

I left a message for the manager to call me (he didn;t arrive until 09.00?!) but thus far nothing. I did think about not paying but was in too much of a rush to go through that.

So, if it's just a bed you want (remember no hot water or toilet paper) then you'll be OK. But if that's all you want then I might suggest a Youth Hostel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had great time at this hotel. It is 75 yards from train station, 4 blocks from City Centre, busses are across the street. Staff is informative and gives accurate info and advice. Room was wonderful, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing, bar is relaxing. The "King's Quarter" restaurant, lounge was exceptional: great food, great service, drinks are special and a piano player on Friday and Saturday. Found the experience to be as good as it gets. Especially enjoyed the manager of the Kings' Quarter, a delight. Also a beautiful outdoor area.

Room Tip: Take the train to Chester and enjoy the walk across the street and ...you are in room hotel. It trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner is very poorly We have not been away for 18 months and this was to be our 1st time away. I booked an executive room, Room 318 (3rd floor) to be exact, now Karen my partner is able to walk and we took the lift, on returning to the reception as on arrival the key
card machine was broke, the lift arrived at the ground with such a jolt, it
shook both my knees, one I am under physio for and it set off the pain
again and shook her stomach, I believe there should be a sign that warns you of
this, once we knew, we were able to brace ourselves against this.

Next the shower was so under pressured we were unable to shower properly,

The room was very very warm, even though temperatures
dropped to under 6 degrees, even with both windows open this room was still very
very very warm..

When using the hot water at the sink I scolded my hand, there is no warning sign, if the water is that hot surely there should be, what would have happen if this was a young child

The rooms are of great size, why on earth was this rooms bathrooms made so small
that when you actually use the toilet, you either, have to straddle the
sink, or sit twisted on the toilet, another foot would not have compromised
the room, but would have made all the difference to the bathroom.

The bed in that room has one of the worst mattresses I have ever slept in, I retail furniture, I know about mattresses, maybe its due for a change, every time you turned or moved in the bed the springs, made right noises and pingged against each other to the point of a very un-restful 2 nights sleep, we came for a break a rest. Which we did not get.

My last complaint , which i believe is very important was that both fire exits in the room , 1 had like fake cases in front of them and the other had the suitcase airer, or I am not sure what you call it, but both exits were blocked by these items, Im sure this is not right for fire regulations. If I
hadn't of moved them during our stay and there had been a fire we could have
tripped over them , this would have been a disaster, probably is a disaster waiting too happen.

The food was excellent and the staff very warm, the decor, was very traditional and Classy and the room brochure told of ghostly goings on,
The above experiences, have seriously tainted my view of best western and especially the Queens Hotel Our experiences did not relate to a 4 star hotel, but more to a B&B.

Room Tip: If you are a cold person this is an ideal room as very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Hotel has a wonderful, old fashioned exterior. The Staff were great, friendly, rooms were well worth the money, comfortable beds, situated near some delicious restaurants.This hotel is well worth it if you get the right deal. Enjoy a comfortable romantic night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday to attend a retirement bash. Hotel is ideally situated by the rail station with taxi and Bus ranks opposite. Although we only used the hotle to sleep an and had breakfast the next mornigh the experience was well worth it. The place is steeped in Victorian history and plenty of items, pictures and artifacts are placed around the floors to givre an insight into the history of this magnificent building.
Our room was on the first floor and was very clean with a comfortable bed and pillows to die for. The paintwork on the window frames left a bit to be desired, but thats the only complaint. I could not fault my stay. Checking out was a bit lengthy as we queued for some time, before being told we could just drop keys into the desk as we had payed on arrival. Breakfast was excellent and the service great. a nice touch was the two musicians who "serenaded" us while we had our morning repast. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter, but as its my first visit, I cant really tell which is better or wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davethedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing