We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, it's a jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay, it's a jewel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had great time at this hotel. It is 75 yards from train station, 4 blocks from City Centre, busses are across the street. Staff is informative and gives accurate info and advice. Room was wonderful, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing, bar is relaxing. The "King's Quarter" restaurant, lounge was exceptional: great food, great service, drinks are special and a piano player on Friday and Saturday. Found the experience to be as good as it gets. Especially enjoyed the manager of the Kings' Quarter, a delight. Also a beautiful outdoor area.

Room Tip: Take the train to Chester and enjoy the walk across the street and ...you are in room hotel. It trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    932
    331
    196
    127
See reviews for
317
1,715
54
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner is very poorly We have not been away for 18 months and this was to be our 1st time away. I booked an executive room, Room 318 (3rd floor) to be exact, now Karen my partner is able to walk and we took the lift, on returning to the reception as on arrival the key
card machine was broke, the lift arrived at the ground with such a jolt, it
shook both my knees, one I am under physio for and it set off the pain
again and shook her stomach, I believe there should be a sign that warns you of
this, once we knew, we were able to brace ourselves against this.

Next the shower was so under pressured we were unable to shower properly,

The room was very very warm, even though temperatures
dropped to under 6 degrees, even with both windows open this room was still very
very very warm..

When using the hot water at the sink I scolded my hand, there is no warning sign, if the water is that hot surely there should be, what would have happen if this was a young child

The rooms are of great size, why on earth was this rooms bathrooms made so small
that when you actually use the toilet, you either, have to straddle the
sink, or sit twisted on the toilet, another foot would not have compromised
the room, but would have made all the difference to the bathroom.

The bed in that room has one of the worst mattresses I have ever slept in, I retail furniture, I know about mattresses, maybe its due for a change, every time you turned or moved in the bed the springs, made right noises and pingged against each other to the point of a very un-restful 2 nights sleep, we came for a break a rest. Which we did not get.

My last complaint , which i believe is very important was that both fire exits in the room , 1 had like fake cases in front of them and the other had the suitcase airer, or I am not sure what you call it, but both exits were blocked by these items, Im sure this is not right for fire regulations. If I
hadn't of moved them during our stay and there had been a fire we could have
tripped over them , this would have been a disaster, probably is a disaster waiting too happen.

The food was excellent and the staff very warm, the decor, was very traditional and Classy and the room brochure told of ghostly goings on,
The above experiences, have seriously tainted my view of best western and especially the Queens Hotel Our experiences did not relate to a 4 star hotel, but more to a B&B.

Room Tip: If you are a cold person this is an ideal room as very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Hotel has a wonderful, old fashioned exterior. The Staff were great, friendly, rooms were well worth the money, comfortable beds, situated near some delicious restaurants.This hotel is well worth it if you get the right deal. Enjoy a comfortable romantic night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday to attend a retirement bash. Hotel is ideally situated by the rail station with taxi and Bus ranks opposite. Although we only used the hotle to sleep an and had breakfast the next mornigh the experience was well worth it. The place is steeped in Victorian history and plenty of items, pictures and artifacts are placed around the floors to givre an insight into the history of this magnificent building.
Our room was on the first floor and was very clean with a comfortable bed and pillows to die for. The paintwork on the window frames left a bit to be desired, but thats the only complaint. I could not fault my stay. Checking out was a bit lengthy as we queued for some time, before being told we could just drop keys into the desk as we had payed on arrival. Breakfast was excellent and the service great. a nice touch was the two musicians who "serenaded" us while we had our morning repast. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter, but as its my first visit, I cant really tell which is better or wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davethedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel, packed with interesting objects. Convenient location by the train station. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Only downside was a really hot room which made things a bit uncomfortable, we stayed in the old part of the hotel, the newer part -kings quarters - may have better temperature control.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel three times to date, the first being our honeymoon in the Queen Ann Suite, that was beautiful. We have winced stayed in the Kings Suite. A gorgeous modern addition to the hotel. Evening meals were amazing and the free bar a fabulous extra! Breakfast are out of this world!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasiejase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the best western queen hotel on wednesday 17th Oct, well from start to finish it was amazing, our room 327 was large and very comfortable breakfast alone is worth booking here amazing choice and quality produce with great staff

Room Tip: book rooms on the 3 rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jones_b32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing