We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Night out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Night out”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here last Saturday to attend a retirement bash. Hotel is ideally situated by the rail station with taxi and Bus ranks opposite. Although we only used the hotle to sleep an and had breakfast the next mornigh the experience was well worth it. The place is steeped in Victorian history and plenty of items, pictures and artifacts are placed around the floors to givre an insight into the history of this magnificent building.
Our room was on the first floor and was very clean with a comfortable bed and pillows to die for. The paintwork on the window frames left a bit to be desired, but thats the only complaint. I could not fault my stay. Checking out was a bit lengthy as we queued for some time, before being told we could just drop keys into the desk as we had payed on arrival. Breakfast was excellent and the service great. a nice touch was the two musicians who "serenaded" us while we had our morning repast. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter, but as its my first visit, I cant really tell which is better or wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davethedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,717
    973
    346
    204
    135
See reviews for
332
1,817
57
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel, packed with interesting objects. Convenient location by the train station. Friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Only downside was a really hot room which made things a bit uncomfortable, we stayed in the old part of the hotel, the newer part -kings quarters - may have better temperature control.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel three times to date, the first being our honeymoon in the Queen Ann Suite, that was beautiful. We have winced stayed in the Kings Suite. A gorgeous modern addition to the hotel. Evening meals were amazing and the free bar a fabulous extra! Breakfast are out of this world!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasiejase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the best western queen hotel on wednesday 17th Oct, well from start to finish it was amazing, our room 327 was large and very comfortable breakfast alone is worth booking here amazing choice and quality produce with great staff

Room Tip: book rooms on the 3 rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jones_b32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had booked for my 40th birthday treat and on arrival were told we were being upgraded to the King's suites. I was over the moon as I had read the old part of the hotel was supposedly haunted. The room was fabulous, the breakfasts fantastic and the staff very friendly. The location is ideal. The ony downside is the parking and if you pay the hotel it can end up costing you a minium of £20 for 2 nights parking. We just used the pay and display in the car park next door which was £5.70 per day. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisam267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just to let you know our daughter had here wedding reception at the Queen Hotel and all I can say it was outstanding, now you might say this is high praise but from the very first meeting the hotel did everything for us, they know what they are doing, The girls in the office where very professional. We had the Colonnades suite, the food was fabulous and the hotel bedrooms are fantastic.

All I can say is if anyone is looking for a wedding venue in Chester or Wirral then go to the Queen hotel it was fabulous.

rgds Alan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bally54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a lovely weekend with friends staying at this wonderful hotel. Excellent location, opposite train station, with frequently running buses for a £1 to town. Hotel was beautiful, staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had an excellent evening meal and breakfast which was included in the price. Excellent value, great place to stay! We will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Address: City Road, Chester CH1 3AH, England (Formerly Hallmark Chester The Queen, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#9 Business Hotel in Chester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Chester and Cheshire Large Hotel of the Year 2010. Winner - Cateys Excellence in Customer Service. Winner - Marketing Cheshire, Excellence in Business Tourism. Large, plush hotel with a wow around every corner. Recently enjoyed a £20million refurbishment and expansion. Attached to the railway station in Chester city centre. The best breakfast in the city. Brand new, 2 AA rosette award winning Kings' Grill room restaurant with the longest cocktail list in Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Chester
Chester Hotel Queen
Best Western Chester
Queen Hotel Chester
Chester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing