We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service. Very expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Very expensive.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

First class service from all staff at check in, through bar and room service, continental breakfast in restaurant and check out. Very clean and comfortable 'executive room' but, booked at very short notice due to change of travel plans, I am left thinking the room was really just a normal double en suite - admittedly with a super bed - and I think £300 the night was rather too expensive for what it was . . . in Chester. Last time I was at The Ritz, London, that was £300 the night well spent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    398
    160
    73
    30
See reviews for
289
1,318
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived to find an extremely helpful young man called Mark. My partner has broken her foot and has to use crutches. He looked after us from the moment we arrived with a parking place for the car; he ensured that our luggage was taken to our room and even provided us with a cup of tea whilst we were waiting. On leaving he ensured that all the luggage was taken out of our room and the car was ready. So well done Mark. Hope the boss reads trip advisor

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I got a deal with Secret Escapes for one night including continental breakfast for £129.00 staying in a deluxe room.

I stayed with my son. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped inside the hotel to the minute we left. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bed was amazing!!!!!!!!! The bed was big enough to share with a 7 yr old who spins round in his sleep.

The breakfast was delicious. There was the option to upgrade to a full english breakfast for only £9 which I thought was amazing value.

Had I paid the full amount for the room that night, which I checked was £170 I still think it was good value for the quality of this old time classic luxury hotel.

I would advise only staying here with children who are used to behaving well in hotels etc as I did get some stares from other guests when they saw I was with my son. The older couple next to us at breakfast certainly took a breathe in when we sat next to them. The staff made us both feel really really welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bah259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Our Daughter was married in June 2014 and we held her weddimg reception at the Grosvenor. From the day we booked the venue until we checked out the dsy after the wedding the hotel and staff couldn't do enough to ensure the day was perfect. Our rooms were outstanding the function suite was arranged specifically for our guests comfort and food was out of this world. Although we are only 40 minutes drive from chester, We plan to return for a nights stay and a meal next time we visit the city.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at the Grosvenor with my wife for my birthday.



Good points:



> Concierge parking - very courteous and friendly.

> Room size was fine.

> Quick check-in.

> Bags were taken to the room - nice.

> Very, very comfortable bed

.

Not so good points:



> Room had not been cleaned well - a layer of dust was visible on many surfaces
.
> TV was not tuned well - a poor picture.

> Street noise kept us awake between 3-5am (clubbers etc)
.
> Bar drinks were a rip off and flippant service to boot. Two halves of lager and one Pimm’s was nearly £20.

> Simon Radley restaurant - forgettable to say the least and was in no way Michelin star food or experience (see separate review)
.
> Breakfast, too expensive to upgrade to a full english. Staff were a bit 'rough' for the standard the Grosvenor is aspiring toward.



Summary: 

I really feel that the Grosvenor is living in its own 'blind spot' and needs to improve soon, before it's too late for them. The decision they need to make is, either to accept that in reality they are a 'good 4 star' hotel in a great location with strong heritage, or, that they are indeed determined to reach (and surpass) the 5 star status that they already claiming. The latter will require a raising of standards across the board - with more and better training of staff (in the bar, breakfast and restaurant especially) coupled with much tighter and more effective quality control and supervision systems. There is huge potential in the hands of the right team. I'll watch this space...

Room Tip: late-night street noise from front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tywitops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel is in a fantastic location

The hotel is very grand and I think it would be perfect if it was couples as it was we took our 5 year old daughter, after a long day getting dragged round the zoo we wanted just a quick drink in the bar and the guy nearly broke his neck to tell us to leave as children are not welcome !! It was 6 in the evening and we were the only ones in it !!!

The rooms are a good size we never got chance to use the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chailey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I spent two glorious nights with my sister who was visiting from Canada. The bedrooms are very large with beds large enough to need an A to Z to find a way out in the morning. Food in the Brasserie is excellent, breakfast also very good but the high point has to be the staff who are superb. Nothing is too much trouble and they cope with my demands incredibly well. They are truly a magnificent bunch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing