We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

After a great evening of racing and we decided to end the evening on a high, so we thought.

Starters we all enjoyed, my volute was really tasty. The majority of us ordered steak for our main courses which were mediocre.

The icing "not on the cake" was the service. The staff were not attentive and only appeared when requested by a member of our party to do so. At one stage when someone ordered a glass of water it was "slammed" on the table. The waitress might as well have tipped it into the lap of the lady that ordered it.

Luckily we were in great company and the service did not ruin our day, but only just.

Over priced, pretentious.

Andy (Bolton).

Stayed: July 2014
10  Thank Kazel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at the Chester Grosvenor and the experience was equally as special as the first time we stayed. We had a special deal with an upgraded room and a 2 course meal we upgraded to the a la carte menu. The rooms are well presented and the staff welcoming, attentive but not too in your face. I used the very simple gym whilst my wife got pampered in the Spa. We will go back for a third visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggieBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Party room would have cost £175.00 for the night but we booked the spa package. Everything included, room, spa package for two, upgrade on breakfast and parking, the total cost was £250.00. We did get a far nicer room than others we know who didn't book the spa package. Not sure if that was just luck or because we got a different package.

Can;t fault the hotel or service. Room was outstanding and the service.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on food. Breakfast was nice but nothing outstanding and not worth the amount they charge really, in my opinion. Breakfast is included but only continental, you have to pay extra for english breakfast. But saying that this is not the type of hotel I would usually stay at (due to costs) and it was a one off so worth paying all the extras for a treat.

Definitely worth the upgrade to the spa package as the facials etc are usually about £70 each, but again, I would not pay that amout for a facial there. I've had facials elsewhere for almost half that and felt a lot better when I came out. Again, nice as a one-off and worth it as reduced price for the package.

Drink prices in the minibar and at the bar for the wedding where extortinate. The food for the wedding however was gorgeous, mini fish and chips and burgers and bacon butties. Very very nice.

Worth going for a treat I'd say, but not too often.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyfluzybadminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A superb afternoon tea on Sunday to celebrate my friend's special birthday. Professional, friendly service and a delicious afternoon tea
A selection of finger sandwiches on both white and brown bread, fruit and plain scones with butter, jam and clotted cream and exquisite french pastries served with a selection of teas or coffee

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SuzyQWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed one night here on way home from FOS Goodwood, it was almost impossible to find the hotel by car, the designer of the one way system studied quantum physic's obviously! When we finally got there an 1hr after arriving in Chester having been guided by a kind Taxi driver, the friendly and helpful doorman thankfully valet parked the car in the public car park at a cost of £8.50, a day, a charge that sticks in the throat somewhat given the cost of the rooms. Hotel is luxurious, but at a massive cost. No tea and coffee facilities in the room resulting in a room service charge just to have a morning cup of tea before getting up. Pleasant, airy room, bed very comfortable, bath excellent, shower more than useless. Some elements of the mini bar are misleading as at first glance they appear to be part of a welcome tray. On arrival we were told we were lucky as there was availability in their showpiece restaurant for dinner that evening, with hindsight we wish we hadn't been so lucky! Very pretentious, more style than substance, food was edible, but instantly forgettable, not what we expected, especially as afternoon tea taken on a previous shopping trip had been spectacular. Limited choice,the taster menu only available only if all party members partook, you've got to kidding school days are behind me surely the hotel is there to serve the paying guest whatever whimsical requests they require .
The highlight of the meal was the superb choice of homemade breads!

Breakfast was good, but again came at a cost as only continental breakfast is included in the room rat, so once again you have a feeling of being ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just arrived in from our excellent sunday dinner at this prestigious venue. Attention to detail is the order of the day and the staff really care about how you want your food to taste! Wine list is extensive and not just standardised at other restaurants!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejmcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

There are numerous good things about this hotel, firstly the location directly on the high street in Chester is perfect. Looks lovely from the outside and friendly bell boys and doormen give this a special traditional feel. Service was mostly very good and professional. Bedrooms are nicely furnished with gorgeously comfortable beds, linens and cosy fluffy towels and robes.
However, I've marked this hotel down because I left feeling that for the price I payed there should have been more complimentary touches that would have given the hotel a much more luxurious and classy feel. Firstly, whilst I was pre prepared prior to arriving, it's an inconvenience to be expected to have an extra £200 set aside on top of your bill incase there are any minibar or other charges. Whilst this is refunded if nothing extra is spent there's no option but to ensure this is authorised on your card.
It doesn't give you the feeling that the hotel trust their guests and clientele very much. Also disappointing that there was no complimentary tea/coffee tray in the room. You actually had to go out of your way to specifically request someone to bring a very basic tray up. No biscuits or nibbles no extra touches. I would expect this as a given at a hotel of this calibre so really disappointing. There was a minibar fridge in the room and a very separate wooden tray of nibble/chocolate laid out elsewhere in the room. We couldn't find a price list for either mini bar fridge items or any details about the tray. Turns out the tray was part of the mini bar and chargeable. I'm sure many have been caught out by this thinking it's a complimentary tray. The fact that there's no price list or detail makes it misleading and gives the feel yet again that the hotel is after as much of your extra cash as possible.
Quite surprised to see how dark the lobby was on a really lovely sunny day. Whilst the bedrooms are much brighter and more contemporary, there are areas of the hotel that are a bit dated and old fashioned in terms of decor. But I guess this depends on personal taste.
We stayed on a spa break and had two treatments included in our package. The spa was lovely and relaxing, treatments great and therapists friendly and professional. The only thing missing which would make a big difference is a jacuzzi or small pool area.
La Brasserie restaurant was relatively expensive as you'd expect but portions and quality were good and food was of a good standard it's probably value for money as a treat. The full English breakfast was also above average. Again decor and feel of the restaurant is quite dated and traditional not to everyone's taste but that's the style of the hotel, clearly geared towards an older clientele.

Overall I'd have liked to have awarded at least 4 stars as we had a nice stay. However, I probably wouldn't stay again as I prefer a more modern contemporary style of hotel. It's a shame that some of the hotel policies and lack of complimentary extras let things down. Adopting a few extra complimentary touches wouldn't cost this hotel the earth but would make a massive difference to the client experience in my opinion, particularly given the price range of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
9  Thank jen362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $164 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing