We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding - but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding - but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a suite with my wife. Have rated the hotel 5 and 4's.
Absolute luxury and room outstanding would recommend.
Restaurants and bars superb level of service choice of food drinks and ambience.
Negative points are on a suite that cost £800+ for 2 nights £8.50 to park your car and £9.50 for a pot of tea to your room when there are no facilties in the room leaves a bad taste and feels like they are out to squeeze every possible penny out of you.
The spa is not a spa dont book here if you are wanting a spa break. Reception staff not pleasant and would do well to take a leaf from the bar/restaurant staffs outlook.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    373
    150
    70
    29
See reviews for
263
1,209
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex,England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed three nights B & B for £386 in a deluxe room on third floor which had a lovely bathroom with its own window , marble floor entrance hall and chaise long at end of a huge and very comfortable bed. Had asked for tea/coffee tray in our room at time of booking and the coffee was excellent. All the other reviews are accurate in that the valet parking, porterage, reception housekeeping and restaurant staff are extremely friendly,courteous and professional. Breakfast was served at your table, tea/coffee poured for you, cereals,toast etc and pastries to die for! The Upgrade to a cooked breakfast for £7.50 is worth it as freshly cooked to order and quality food. We had the option to dine in the Brasserie for £25 each set meal but as we like simple food thought it was a bit fussy for us so gave it a miss and ate out. I had trouble accessing the hotel internet connection but survived with no Email for three days! Others were using tablets etc so I assume it was user error rather than poor router service. This was a relaxing break in very comfortable surroundings that we would not hesitate to repeat. Chester provides a good city break experience, hop on/off tour bus with commentary, cathedral ,walking the walls (about three miles easy walking), shops ( with their fair share of empty high street shops), the Chester Oaks out of town shops 20 minutes away ( with bus service if you don't want to drive) and lots of other nearby attractions such as Chirk Castle and aqueduct.Our abiding memory will be the pastries at breakfast, the lovely staff and the superb central location in the heart of this city.

Room Tip: Our room was to the side, no view but windows in both bedroom and bathroom , on third floor . Not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went for one and ended staying for two. Lovely room we got a great rate through secret escapes for the first night which the hotel matched for the second night without question. Lovely room amenities well stocked mini bar and hot tea and coffee can be delivered or a tray bought to your room to make at your leisure. All staff we encountered super professional and friendly. Spa is on the steep side at £35 per person to use or free with treatments over £100. Some great treatments available. We took afternoon tea which again was steep but well worth it. All items replenished as required. Looking forward to when we can stay again.

Room Tip: We had a street view classic room over looking cathedral nice view (414) good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's a pity we only stayed one night at the Chester Grosvenor because it just was not long enough to appreciate all this hotel has to offer. From the moment we arrived, with a smooth and efficient check-in, to when we left, the service and attention we received were second to none. Our room comprised of a superb queen sized bed, complete with all the little "extras" to make your visit complete. We dined in The Brasserie restaurant which was excellent. We did experience one error by the waiting staff - our restaurant bill was incorrect - but once this was pointed out the matter was resolved efficiently and to our satisfaction. We had a superb experience and will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Shopping in Chester we really enjoyed the great shops and decided to come in here for some afternoon tea. Lovely old traditional hotel, great service and a wonderful afternoon. Chester is an interesting place to go for sightseeing or just shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Chester ,what a lovely city beautiful , this is a place to visit if you like quality designer shops , plenty to see& do ,the wall is a must to walk taking you all around the city Or the open top bus, this place you could spend a weekend enjoying the restaurant's. Bar's the places of history unspoilt by time ! We stayed at the CHESTER. GROSVENOR this hotel is one of outstanding beauty quality ,cleanliness &charm at its BEST it's staff are excellent polite / helpful / very smart & professional , we arrived at the hotel to a friendly welcome , our luggage was taken from the car to our rooms & the valet took our car to be parked till next required , they then return our car to front of hotel , 5star treatment in every way . The rooms were large overlooking the front of the hotel Nice street view , the beds were extra large comfortable with quality linen .decor / bathroom/ & room 5star quality, Would have Liked coffee /tea making facilities in room ! Even though room service was available ! The food in the brasserie was excellent Both breakfast & dinner as was the service . We thank you all atThe Chester Grosvenor for a memorable stay at your superb hotel xxx

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 218/220 these rooms overlook the front of the hotel & street nice views . Lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were two couples celebrating a special event and decided to take dinner, bed and breakfast at the Chester Grosvenor. From the time we arrived until we left we were treated excellently. The check-in, as everything following, was so professional and smooth. The suites were impeccably prepared and no effort was spared to help us mark our event. The Chester Grosvenor is not inexpensive but the service throughout is superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing