We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding experience”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights as our close friend was getting married at the Grosvenor. Absolutely everything was spot on from the welcome and check in to the service, the whole of the wedding day was exceptionally well managed (flawless comes to mind). The bedroom, though not huge, had everything we could need and was spotless. We've stayed in quite a few high end hotels as you'll see from previous reviews but the service, attention to detail and staff at this establishment raised the bar for us. I think the bride and groom and all their family were thrilled by how it went and we will be re-visiting next time we are in the area,

Room Tip: afternoon tea looks fab - though we didn't try it and the michellin starred restaurant is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    391
    154
    72
    30
See reviews for
278
1,260
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Came to Chester with a group of friends and decided to try a typical english afternoon tea in this reknown hotel.
I honestly believe for the price I paid the sanwiches could have been better.The service was excellent though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were slightly disappointed with the whole experience. I used to visit on each of my girlfriends birthday's it was our joint treat, and it was lovely.
On arrival no porter at the door, the greeting was firstly to take our booking voucher before ensuring we were seated and comfortable. The food was good but the specialness gone, the tea was ok. The waitresses constantly got the floor sweepers out and were bending over vigorously sweeping as we were trying to pretend we were in special surroundings.
Would not buy this as a treat for someone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mead186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked an overnight DBB stay at the last minute on a whim, to try the food. It is undoubtedly Michelin standard but did not 'wow' us as other starred establishments have done this year.
The waitress was excellent and the heavily loaded bread trolley was a nice touch.
The room was much as expected - small but well-presented.
Breakfast was a disappointment - I've never before had poached eggs with a solid yolk surrounded by some uncooked white - how did they do that?!
Paying the bill, it felt a little expensive. Looking at it later, I realised we had been charged for our dinner in addition to the cost of the dinner, bed & breakfast package. A phone call was followed by an hour's wait before confirmation that the extra £150 would be refunded. Had it not been for this fiasco I would not have noticed the 12.5% service charge which was even applied to breakfast - do they not pay their staff a living wage?
We shan't be returning - there are far better Michelin starred restaurants in the region.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bootsontheground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the beginning of April. it was an excellent stay enhanced by reading trip advisor reviews in advance. I was therefore prepared for some of the issues that might have made our visit less enjoyable.
I cannot find fault with anything. I was prepared to request a hospitality tray as I had noted this was not standard. It was lovely to have ground coffee for the cafetiere and fresh milk. I was prepared for the held funds but this was annoying but they were back in my account after just a couple of days not the 10 that they could have been. Breakfast service was excellent but I would have liked a savoury element to the continental breakfast. I was with a 13 year old child who likes an egg for breakfast and not much else. I was not prepared to pay an extra £7.50 for this. We did pay the extra for the cooked english breakfast on one morning but that meant that our breakfast cost £25 each when we only had drinks and toast as well.
Would definitely stay there again but perhaps on a room only basis and breakfast somewhere else.
All staff we encountered were excellent. Very professional but friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms can be very warm. We had to open a window so glad we were not on the front as lively area at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky-peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the grosvenor in december 2013 for our silver wedding anniversary . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had a suite and it was absolutely fantastic . We had reserved afternoon tea which was a meal on itself . We also had a meal in the Radley a must for anyone who likes being pampered . I will return dave Waller stoke on trent

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davestokey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for their Sunday relax and dine deal, the hotel was lovely and the 3 course dinner was divine with excellent levels of service. I cannot recommend the 3 course set menu highly enough, we ordered a couple of sides thinking that the meal would be small however the meal was substantial and the rib eye main was considerable in size and as tender and tasty as a fillet. If they have the salmon starter I would again recommend, it was almost salmon tartare but beautifully seared on the outside with a gorgeous beetroot puree.

The bedroom was lovely however I do have a few gripes, the hair dryer got very hot in seconds and then cut out, the air conditioning/temperature system is very poor meaning you need to open a window and you then have the issue of considerable street noise from revellers till the very early hours.

My biggest concern came at checkout, on arrival the hotel get you to authorise a pre payment for your stay plus £200 it is now 48 hours since we checked out and that amount is still being held. This was not the biggest issue, when we checked out we were left waiting for 10 minutes and then I asked to pay cash for the extras and debit card for the room, this was duly completed however today I discover that they took the whole amount off my debit card and took the cash as well. It has taken me the morning to sort out and the attitude seemed to be, "oh well, these things happen." There seems to be no process for receipting cash so ensure you check your bank to confirm exactly what has been taken and if you are using a current account ensure you can be without the pre authorised funds for several days until they are returned to your account and available to you again.

Overall I would recommend and I would go again however it is a shame that the checkout process put a damper on what was such a lovely stay in such a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear of the hotel so you are not on the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Britishlion2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing