We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A Christmas treat for 3 generations was beautifully presented and received. Addi the waiter was very informative and welcoming. This was a wonderful treat enjoyed by all. The sandwiches , cakes and scones were plentiful and those left were taken home for a rainy day. We were all made very special and the whole experience was treasured.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spend a wonderful New Year's Eve staying at The Chester Grosvenor and eating in the Simon Radley Restaurant. The room, food and staff were all excellent really made night an enjoyable experience. It was an expensive night, but if you are looking for a memorable night overall it was worth it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davepick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is an upmarket hotel, with prices to match. It has a Michelin starred restaurant, which has a great reputation. From longstanding personal experience, I can attest to the fact that this reputation is very well deserved. There is also a brasserie offering good quality (slightly more affordable) food, ranging from light snacks, through to a full meal. Other facilities include a spa/leisure suite and some excellent function facilities. The bedrooms are equipped to a very high standard and there is an all pervading air of luxury, as you would expect from a hotel with a five star rating.

My only reservation is that the atmosphere is rather too starchy for some people's liking and one or two of the staff can be rather pompous. Unless you are inclined towards confrontation, this can make guests feel a little uncomfortable and NO hotel, however many accolades it has, should ever do that.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
10  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Once again the Boxing day lunch in Simon Radley's restaurant was excellent. The food and service as always was beyond expectations. Cannot wait for our next visit. We would recommend both restaurants with the hotel, however Simon Radley's would be our first choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenga52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Whilst Christmas shopping, we decided to take a welcome break and visit the Grosvenor for the first time in a while. All I can say is the food and drink was very enjoyable, and service good. Prices are a little steep, but worth it for a treat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My daughter and I return to this hotel as often as we can. Just before Christmas we treated ourselves to shopping in beautiful Chester and staying at our favourite place. This hotel never disappoints! Everything was perfect from the greeting when we arrived to the fabulous food and wine in the Simon Radley restaurant. The food just gets better and have to say Gary the Sommelier always manages to find us the perfect wine to complements the food. He is a true professional and his knowledge of wine is exceptional. We have been lucky enough to have a little peek inside the kitchen and there is no doubt when you see experts loving their work. The friendliness, professionalism and attention to detail you find at the Grosvenor cannot be faulted. I cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethBeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the ninth year we have had Christmas Eve lunch and always book for the next year before we leave for the following year not wanting to miss out on what has become a family tradition and the highlight of our culinary year and as usual it was fantastic , the food ,the staff and the Resturant can to be faulted we are always made to feel very special indeed
Thank you to you all

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Thebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
733 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $196 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing