We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total luxury worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Pure class of a hotel,complete and utter luxury from the moment you arrive!The staff are fantastic from checking in too leaving they couldn't do enough.It was my wife's 40th and we were staying for two nights so I emailed them the day before to let them know,upon arriving we were shown to our room where a small chocolate birthday cake a handwritten note was left by the reception staff wishing my wife happy birthday!.ideal location for shopping toe leave the front of the hotel and the shops are in front of you,only slight complaint was room didn't have a very good view but that was not going to give the hotel top marks,yes it's pricey but hey if you want the best you have to pay for it!! Finally the breakfast was lovely and the staff who served us were brilliant don't think of the cost just book it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigalb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,857 - 1,863 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé phoned and booked afternoon tea for my birthday. We arrived promptly and were shown to our lovely table. Everything was set out and ready for our arrival. We we're asked firstly which afternoon tea we would like (there are around 5-6... All sound wonderful) we chose The Grosvenor Afternoon Tea. Consisted if finger sandwiches, scones, butter, jam and clotted cream and mini deserts. When it first came I thought we would still be hungry but... You won't be.

Lovely touch. When I called and booked they asked was it for a special occasion. I answered it was for my birthday. They obviously made note of this as when they brought over the plates over it had a candle on it and they wished me happy birthday. Was very impressed.

Food was impeccable. My favourite was the blueberry macaroon. Was delicious!! I can't speak highly enough if the service and food.

Was £26 a head. For the service, food and setting, was well worth the money. Will be returning again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Rachelgrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for my wife's birthday. We booked directly and dinner was included both nights. The welcome was low key but warm, and the room comfortable. My only gripes were that the heating was hard to control, I would have preferred a separate shower (as opposed to an over the bath one) and the view was of the roof of the hotel. So not the best 5* accommodation but acceptable. I was also disappointed that we had to pay £35 to use the thermal spa. We chose not to as it seemed out of kilter to pay extra for this and we hadn't read great reviews of the spa.
The first night we ate in the Brasserie. The room lacked a bit of atmosphere but then it was a Monday and it was pretty empty. The food however was excellent and was on a par with other fine dining restaurants.
The second night we opted for the tasting menu in Simon Radleys restaurant. This was beautiful food, great service and was very worthy of at least one Michelin star. The staff were excellent and Richard the young enthusiastic head waiter and Gary the sommelier both took time to chat and make us very welcome.

Overall I feel the Grosvenor is more than the sum of its parts as it somehow makes you like it. It could be the effortless way things happen, the informal but correct staff or the old fashioned courtesy with which we were treated or it could be the great food but we would happy to return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Howdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here by surprise for my 50th birthday; a surprise because I was booked in to a sister hotel which experienced a flood on the eve of my stay so was put up here instead. It was fabulous! The room we stayed in was complete luxury - the biggest bed we have ever experienced. The service was impeccable and room service breakfast was to die for. Also had a wonderful treatment in the spa - just delicious. Want to stay here again asap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited here for my birthday for there afternoon tea event, and was totally blown away by the service that we received. It was a very enjoyable experience. A must visit if your ever close by. Me and friend were amazed at the vast array of different teas and coffees and just the attention to detail of the whole experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynJ110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The ease of parking; help with our luggage; a wonderful room; delicious, beautifully presented food and outstanding service transformed this stop-over into a memorable experience. Brilliant, thank you.

Room Tip: The staff will be happy to advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandHelenWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed on a one night break with my wife. In discussion with the friendly and attentive staff we mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary. They surprised us with "Happy Anniversary" decorations added to our sweet course at our evening meal. A lovely touch!

I would thoroughly recommend this sumptuous hotel and its staff. I cannot speak highly enough of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Businessman1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $175 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing