We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“once again great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“once again great service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night 2 years ago and on our arrival John the doorman remembered us. I must say that others should note the excellent customer service and relations he provides and as the first one you are greated by when arriving at the Chester he makes you feel welcome. We arrived just after midday and was advised our room was not yet ready - which is understandable as they provide a 12pm checkout. I am a small luxury hotel member but booked through booking.com but all my requests were met. We stayed in room 320 which had great views of the Eastgate Clock. I would highly recommend the Chester Grosvenor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    380
    152
    72
    29
See reviews for
271
1,233
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked a 2 night spa break for my 50th birthday with my friend.
We booked about 6 weeks before and it was £220 for the use of the spa for 1 day with a 45 minute treatment and evening meal on one night.
We were pleased with the price and arrived weds 30th October at lunch time, check in staff and concierge were very helpful and polite, we were shown to our room which had been upgraded and was a deluxe room it was lovely , the porter said there were robes for us to use in the spa and then left.
We were booked into the spa for treatment at 2pm ,when we arrived carrying the robes , a disgruntled receptionist asked why we didn't have the robes on? We'll as our room was on the 2nd floor and we hadn't been told we just came down dressed, she snapped that here may be no. Lockers available , although hit here appeared to be no oh her people about??
As we had booked 6 weeks in advanced we were somewhat surprised at this and were given paper bags to put our clothes in and carry round!
After our facial which was wonderful we were told we may use the spa , we'll the spa was eh size of my lounge at home , which isn't very big and consisted of a supposed foot spa which was basically a sink with hot water in , no jets just still water?! we were told we could use the shower which was supposed to have 4 settings including summer and winter , this did not work?
The sauna had no water for the coals and the stem room was about the only thing that did work , we were round it in approx 20 minutes, when I asked was here a swimming pool or jacuzzi I received a curt no!
We were under eh impression we would spend the afternoon on the supposed thermal experience , it was a letdown and we ended up getting dressed and going out to shop I was highly disappointed, to add insult to injury the hotel attempted to charge us for the spa on our 2 nd day at £35 each which we definitely did not use!
The hotel is lovely and majority of staff are lovely, night bar staff were wonderful on my birthday keep ingot he bar open till late and nothing was too much trouble, food and room were lovely but the spa was a total let,down would not book a spa break here again but would stay in the hotel itself, just watch out for hidden extras as we asked for a bucket of ice on 2 occasions for drinks and £8.00 was added onto the bill, I mean come on frozen tap water, otherwise a lovely hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary in deluxe room. Check in was fine. Room itself was nice - bathroom very dated & not what you would expect from 5 star hotel. The air conditioning / heating system was very noisy.We paid the extra 35 to use the thermal suite - was told it was a bit busy so there were no available lockers so could we arrive in our swimwear & robes.....to be honest the thermal suite is not worth paying the extra, it really should be included in the 250 plus room price. We had the tasting menu in simon radley - this was really good & the staff in there were friendly & very knowledgable. Breakfast was good although again I find it annoying to pay extra for full English! I wouldn't stay here again - the whole feel of the place was that they were constantly money grabbing. I would highly recommend the simon radley restaurant though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vth0ms0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for three nights in a deluxe room, having booked through Secret Escapes, hence very good value for money. Full directions are given on how to access the hotel either from the front or via the Grosvenor Shopping Centre car park. Guests who find parking a problem have obviously not fully read the Grosvenor Hotel email. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean only one gripe, would have preferred a walk in shower, against the over bath shower. One evening, we ate in the Simon Radley Restaurant, it was an excellent meal, and the wine recommended by the Sommelier was superb and not the most expensive on the wine list!
All the hotel staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous especially the waitress in La Brasserie, who on our first evening, fully explained the system regarding the 20% discount on all food and beverages purchased by Secret Escape guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSutton46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

After booking the Chester Grosvenor hotel through Secret Escapes I received an email from the hotel confirming what our stay included, giving directions to the car park and also explaining at check-in a pre-authorisation of £200 would be deducted from my credit card for any extras. I appreciated knowing this information prior to arrival.

We arrived at 2:00 and were allowed to check in early, we were then escorted to our deluxe room by the friendly receptionist who showed us round the room and gave us the free Wi-Fi password. She also arranged for a tea/coffee tray to be sent up to us. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious with an enormous bed and the décor and furnishings were luxurious We were on the first floor at the side of the hotel so no view but the beautiful drapes on the windows made up for this. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower above the bath and lovely thick towels and I particularly liked the toiletries.

Our booking included a 2 course meal in La Brasserie and I thought the food on each evening was first class. Service was friendly and efficient without being intrusive but a special mention must go the blonde lady who was outstanding and made my birthday extra special.

There was a good choice at the a la Carte continental breakfast which is served to you instead of the usual breakfast buffet. Once again food and service were excellent and we were asked if we required any extra coffee, juice, toast etc.

Location in the centre of Chester is perfect for shopping and walking along the Roman Wall.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chester Grosvenor, all staff were friendly and helpful and my only gripe would be that some of the tables in the La Brasserie restaurant were too close together and the lady sitting on the table next to us at breakfast was concerned that as she got up she would knock over something from our table. Fortunately we only sat in this area on one occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveTravelling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really good hotel but found it to be very expensive comfortable room, had a great nights sleep. Breakfast good price for dinner put us off shame. The location is perfect for central Chester could not ask for better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent four days in this hotel in October 2013. Rooms are not too bad but why are there no walk-in showers. Over the bath showers are inconvenient for many. Breakfasts are quite good. Dinner in the Simon Radley Michelin Star restaurant was mediocre ---- wine guy was great but food was not Michelin level. Most amusing to watch a waitress fighting with a huge bread trolley which had several breads but no simple brown or white bread and no french baguette. Price was £69 plus wine. ( Had dinner in Michael Caine's resaurant in the aBode hotel .... one third the price and BETTER food.)
The hotel is situated in a street that is part -time pedestrian and in a terrible one-way system No problems if arriving on foot or by local taxi but a nightmare if arriving by car. The hotel car park is in the shopping centre car park but the hotel literature does not make this clear. We had to phone hotel and get a guided approach ..... the hotel porter said this happens all the time ...so fix it !!
Overall, very expensive.

Room Tip: Better dinner experiences out of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing