We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a fantastic stay over the August Bank holiday.From the moment you arrive the staff look after you arrive in your car and they park it for you.The hotel is of a very high standard and our suite was excellent.Dinner in the Bistro was very good breakfast was good but not great it could do with being of a higher quality.make time to check out the chocolate shop that is part of the hotel they are a guilty pleasure.you can not be more central for Chester give it a try its worth it

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,633 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 night break as part of my wife's birthday present. We visit Chester at least one a year and usually visit the Grosvenor for coffee or lunch but this time decided to take advantage of a special deal through Secret Escapes. We were not disappointed. From Kevin the doorman (who also parked our car) through to every member of staff we met, nothing was too much trouble. Superb service. Room was excellent and the breakfasts were very good. If we had a slight criticism the service in the brasserie was not as good as the service for afternoon tea in the Arkle Bar. Would recommend anyone to stay here to experience proper 5* service and accommodation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A welcome return to the usual bloomer read for toast - there was a recent wobble last month when it looked like they'd change it to something cheap.

Linen napkins now with coffee and toast, it's been paper ones for years.

Still reassuringly upmarket, both in its environment and clientele. The nouveaux riches of a few years ago seem to have moved on!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CheshireChap12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Be aware ... on checking in, the Hotel expect you to hand over a Debit/Credit card which is fine but they put a 'HOLD' on £200 of your money (which was part funds for our weekend away and would restrict us ) if you used a Debit card the funds would not be back into your account for at least 10 days. After having a debate the Manager decided it would be ok to not hand over the cards on this occasion but to leave out car keys with them instead!!

We had booked this hotel on the intention of using the spa, to be told it was another £35 per room and this would last for the whole of your stay - considering the price of the rooms you would think the spa would be in with the price.

The staff were very friendly and hotel very clean and lush - the continental breakfast was nice but for a full english you had to pay more....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

£72 B&B rate - amazing! My number 1 requirement - a great shower - tick.
My number 2 requirement - porridge - tick. 'How does breakfast work here' I asked 'You sit down and relax sir and we do all the rest.' The porridge was perfection and the toast....oh the toast. I don't normally do toast in hotels as I'm a bit of a real bread fan, but this was the greatest toast I've eaten ever! And that is saying something. My room was excellent and the service in the bar was top-notch. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Chester a number of times we'd always promised ourselves a stay here. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for the staff. First class old fashioned quality service in a hotel with genuine charm. Superb Michelin one star restaurant that is a must for any visitor.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice rooms. Excellent service and in a great location!
The door man was great, parking the car, and giving us help where to go.
We had some treatments in the spa which were lovely, and not to expensive.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank W-LJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,794 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
734 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $197 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing