We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here September 2012 . Lovely hotel centrally located in Chester with excellent amenities and all the shopping ,dining and coffee bar culture all within 5 mins walk up and down the main street .

the hotel itself is classy the staff are attentive and it felt a little bit special to be a guest . The brasserie was great to have lunch in and afternoon tea or cocktails . The Simon Radley restaurant in the hotel was a bit of a disappointment all smoke ,mirrors and over the top presentation including something they called cucumber foam (froth to you and me ) can't fault the restauarant staff and excellent attentive service or the extensive wine and drinks list but the meal itself was more about showing off than satisfying an appetite be warned you'd be better off eating in the brasserie or any of the nearby restaurants unless you are impressed by presentation over substance .

The room was excelelnt size with an I pod dock which was a nice bonus , Drinks etc were the usual high expense but no more than similar establishments and unfortunately that is the price in hotels but as a treat factor it in and treat yourself to cocktails or champagne .

Overall excellent if pricey hotel stay that left me poorer but thoroughly relaxed and rejuvinated would I go back ? absolutely and I already have I would recommend this hotel and its definately an experience worth repeating .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPink444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    398
    160
    73
    30
See reviews for
289
1,318
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Quite a difficult hotel to review. Location is the best you could possibly have in Chester – walk out the front door and you are in the heart of Chester. Parking is not as easy as it sounds – hotel say go to floor 2A and park there – that may be possible at 7am but during the day you will get nowhere near it – we parked on floor 4 to find no lift to floor 2 so had to cart bags down four flights of stairs. Very courteous greeting at reception and we were escorted to room.

Room was very nice – large and well furnished. Window overlooked a roof and plant rooms – no noise though. Well equipped with a Bose Radio and a Loewe TV and DVD player. TV has no ‘guide’ and very few channels. DVD was a nightmare to make work with the TV. Can’t understand why when they provide a complementary use umbrella they do not supply basic Tea/Coffee facilities (They want you to pay the exorbitant Room Service charges no doubt). Bed was huge and very comfortable. Room even has a doorbell (more later).

In general the staff were very courteous.

All well so far and we turned in with the idea of a ‘lie in’ before our long drive home – put the ‘do not disturb’ sign on the door. Good nights sleep totally ruined by the aforesaid doorbell being rung by Room Service – asked why they rang when the sign was on the door and they apologised. However the damage was already done. To the hotel’s credit when I spoke to reception to express my anger they already knew about it. Receptionist expressed her profuse apologies and we went into breakfast.

Restaurant Manager offered to upgrade our breakfasts in view of problem but both of us are on a diet so refused. Continental Breakfast is adequate but not startling. On checking out they agreed to pay my parking fee but that is not really the point – stay totally ruined by a mistake that I would not expect a Premier Inn to make. All in all not a good experience, especially considering the cost, and would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night as anniversary return to this hotel that we had last stayed in 15 years ago. As before, it was wonderful and to be honest I think the friendly, fun, very respectful doorman was the highlight!!! All round the staff were excellent and attentive. The food at the Brasserie was excellent the only draw back being that the restaurant was quite empty and this made the atmosphere a bit cold. I hope I don't hve to wait another 15 years before I visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Back again on business, the Grosvenor is very central to downtown Chester. Walking distance to 50 restaurants and pubs. The staff is excellent, great attention to detail. Rooms are very well appointed and maintained. Service is outstanding from the doorman to housekeeping. Was on the second (first) floor this time, down the hall from the Spa. Tried a massage, the Spa is very nice and well-staffed. Of course this hotel is pricey, but great location, service and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_vacation_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with 2 course meal in the brasserie. Excellent service from staff. Room wonderful with the biggest bed I have ever seen. No need to make your own coffee or tea, room service is provided on silver trays and real leaf tea in silver teapots, wonderful. The spa is small but the attentive staff, robes and slippers make you feel special and most importantly relaxed! Cocktails very very nice. Evening meal 2 courses excellent. Can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My visit was that of business. Staff immaculately turned out and very accommodating. Setting is very central and the decor within this imposing hotel is beautiful . The drinks are served with panache and the standard of the food and wine is top drawer. I always recommend this establishment to business colleagues. The afternoon tea gets rave reviews and rightly so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is a very impressive hotel very grand. Great location. Great staff very helpful couldn't do enough for us. Lived up to its 5 star rating would defiantly visit again for that special occasion well worth the cost .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Dine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing