We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Grosvenor
Nearby Hotels
$120
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
$94
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chester Court(Chester)
$100
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,784)
Filter reviews
2,784 results
Traveler rating
1,953
492
211
90
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,953
492
211
90
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimon radley restaurantla brasseriearkle barthermal suitemichelin star restaurantturn down serviceafternoon teacontinental breakfastdeluxe roombeautiful hotelmini bartable serviceluxury hotelspecial occasionporridgeon arrivalcar park
Filter
Updating list...
2,216 - 2,221 of 2,784 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My visit was that of business. Staff immaculately turned out and very accommodating. Setting is very central and the decor within this imposing hotel is beautiful . The drinks are served with panache and the standard of the food and wine is top drawer. I always recommend this establishment to business colleagues. The afternoon tea gets rave reviews and rightly so.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is a very impressive hotel very grand. Great location. Great staff very helpful couldn't do enough for us. Lived up to its 5 star rating would defiantly visit again for that special occasion well worth the cost .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Dine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay overnight on a Sunday. Checked in at 1.30pm. As room was not yet ready we went for a walk and bags were delivered to our room ready for our return. Had an excellent evening meal and breakfast in La Brasserie. Room was lovely and this hotel is immaculately clean. We would stay again but only if on special offer as you can get 2 nights at the excellent Crowne Plaza just up the road for the price of one night here. Only one comment, the reception staff need to chill out and not be quite as serious, as once you get past them the staff are down to earth and very nice people.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are lucky in that we have stayed at the Grosvenor a number of times over the past few years and it never fails to impress. The staff are always friendly and discreet, with the best and sincerely kind service that we have enjoyed. The deals that they offer including meals in the Brasserie or in the Simon Radley restaurant are generally good value, but beware the drinks prices-it's a 5* hotel and when you get the bill you'll have a stark reminder of this! In terms of rooms, they are well proportioned, although the latest refurb has resulted in some rather bizarre wallpaper-the wallpaper in our room looked like foil, our friends had a more traditional decor which really sets off the beautiful & original features. The thing that sets the Grosvenor apart is the location. You at in the absolute centre of beautiful Chester and perfectly placed to explore the sites and the sounds. Brilliant.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel gives a small view of the Cathedral or the Eastgate Clock
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePinkletons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went here sun afternoon we had pre-booked we were a little bit early but that was no problem and we were shown to our table.Service was good , champagne was excellent.You know your not going to get massive portions with afternoon tea but they were ample for the 4 of us.A expensive treat but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donamcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews