We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lived in Chester all my life and never stayed at the Grosvenor it is a beautiful hotel with excellent service , the breakfast was first class also we had afternoon tea which was excellent if you are looking for quality then this is the hotel to stay.

Room Tip: We had room looking out onto the Eastgate clock was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47_COOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,055 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Gorgeous hotel, the Grosvenor. Right in the middle of Chester, it boasts a super spa and a superb restaurant.Very nice pleasant staff who know all about the personal touch. Chester on a Saturday night a bit full-on for me, but we were kept insulated from braying youths by good thick double-glazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frillylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful long May Bank Holiday week-end in Chester, having stayed at the superb 5 Star Chester Grosvenor right in the centre of Chester, we truly could not have asked for anything more.

The Spa – Quite compact in size costing £35 per room per stay, the spa consisted of a sauna, steam room, cold 'salt' room, foot baths and themed shower with a relaxation area where water and fruit is available. During our visit both my partner and I enjoyed a 30 min manicure treatment from the lovely girls, not cheap at £60 for both of us.

The Room – Classic room on the 2nd floor, we had specifically requested a quiet room and what more could we say, Chester is a very lively town with lots of typical city noise, would recommend that you request a quiet room unless you want to be disturbed in the early morning, view was not great but take the choice “View” or “Noise”.
The room was so lovely with goose down pillows and an enormous bed with an elegant marble bathroom and invigorating shower over the bath. Large plasma TV with a DVD player where lots of DVD movies available from reception.
No tea or coffee making facilities when you arrive, just ring down to reception and ask for the hospitality tray which is free and all your items are fresh, including milk tea pot, kettle etc. The tea and coffee was of high quality and no expense is spared.

Every evening we received a wonderful turn-down service which makes the break away so special and such a nice touch, what you expect from a true 5 start establishment.

Overall we rate the Chester Grosvenor as one of our favourite hotels of the World and we will definitely return this time during one of the Chester race weekends. By the way one tip from us, you must do the Chester Wall walk, approx. 2 miles of pure enjoyment and views and the added bonus is that it is a few seconds from the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a quiet room away from the front, also before you pay for the spa have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Chester Grosvenor could get a four star review if it was advertised as a 3 or 4 star hotel.

However, it claims to be a five hotel but unfortunately the quality just isn't there. There is no design consistency (from lifts to corridors to rooms), bathrooms are terrible (mildew on showerheads, baths that don't drain, cheap plastic shower curtains), carpets look dirty. Ceilings are messy and don't have the kind of polished finish a luxury hotel should have. Room itself felt cramped.

In the 1980s or 90s you might have gotten away with it, but not in 2013.

The hotel is tired and overpriced. Staff are friendly enough.

Room Tip: Got for a room overlooking the Eastgate bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guy_in_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful hotel in every way. We went on a weekend special for hubby's 50th at a price of £295 each including 1 evening meal in the brasserie and the other in Simon Radley restaurant (OMG what an fantastic experience that was - lovely!!).
Staff in the hotel and the restaurants were amazingly professional and I can honestly say the queen could not have received any better treatment!
The only down side to the whole weekend (although I am only warning, and do not want this to be detrimental to the hotel) is that guests may need to check their final bill, as there were two items on there that were incorrect - this equated to £88 which may not be a lot to some people, however a lot to us. Dont get me wrong, as they corrected as soon as I advised them it was wrong but if everything else is so professionally done, so should the invoice be.
Still highly, highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wakker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A spa break at the Chester Grosvenor with a friend.Pampering did not star and finish with the Spa.
We were greeted in a friendly manner and this welcome approach did not change during our stay.
The room was superb,as was the food in the Brasserie and breakfast the following day.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beechwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as a couple for my boyfriend's 40th for 2 nights.Our classic room was amazing,extremely large bed and seating area to watch tv(a chocolate birthday cake was in our room).We ate in Simon radleys the 1st night and had the 8 course tasting menu,We were offered 2 complimentary glasses of champagne and canapes before we headed into the restaurant.On our second night we ate in the brasserie.Both meals were excellent.Breakfast was excellent too.We also had treatments in the spa.All staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us,from check-in to check-out it aws 10 out of10.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariedes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $163 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing