We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious as you like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were given a night here as a present. This is quite possibly the most luxurious hotel that I have ever stayed in and there was nothing about it that I could fault. Everything was perfect from reception through to breakfast the following morning

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Hotel is very well situated in the heart of the city. The car and bags were taken care of very quickly by the doormen, and you were made to feel most welcome. In fact all the staff were very friendly and of a standard you would expect from a hotel of this quality. The room was very clean and the bed was big and extremely comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom had an issue with the shower and whilst not rectified during the stay, the service offered for future stays was without quibble and can’t be faulted. Also, if I am being pernickety, I did have to ask for sauce for my cooked breakfast, as it wasn’t offered when delivered. I found the hotel to be full of light, quiet and with a good professional atmosphere. I had drinks in the bar and the staff were very attentative. The test is would I stay again, yes I would.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennys606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After booking the Grosvenor Hotel for my boyfriends birthday we were really looking forward to our stay as we have heard amazing things about the hotel. On arrival we were seated at reception to check in. We were offered help with our baggage before being shown to our room. At no point were hotel services mentioned to us. We were given no information regarding the breakfast which we had payed for so we were unaware of what time breakfast was served until and where we would be eating.
The welcome we received was friendly and professional, however we weren't told about the options for dining at the hotel, where the spa was located or what time check out was.
The room we were given was nice and what we expected, although when calling housekeeping for toothpaste we were told they had ran out? Our mistake that we had forgotten, but would have thought a hotel of this standard would of had some!
Breakfast was nice, check out smooth, just didn't think we got the full experience of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliviajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this grand hotel, we stayed with our young children and were impressed with the interconnecting room deal we managed to book. When booking the rooms and then restaurants with the Concierge team for our stay no one came across as being particularly helpful on the phone. This was also the case when we were arrived, no one welcomed us to the hotel and the two receptionists were not very friendly, happy or chatty. We went up to our rooms which were decorated very nicely and had plenty of space for us all, the bathrooms do look rather tired now for a 5star hotel. The children started exploring their room and immediately discovered a carrier bag of half eaten crips, sweets etc that had obviously been left by the previous guests, we handed this to a member of staff who was very apologetic and some delicious chocolates were sent to the room as an apology. The brasserie restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner Robert and his team are fantastic if only they worked on reception too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexisP273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we had previously eaten in the simon radley restaurant and found this to be fantastic ....so we decided to return and stay a few days and eat there again
only to be told it was shut on 2 of the days we were there and the other day was fully booked !

so......

with a hotel of this .... so called quality......you would expect them to

help with lugauge....none !

have tea coffee facilities in your room....no....you could order and would have to pay extra for this.

you would also expect them to

get your breakfast order corrcet......on 3 mornings in a row it was wrong .....wrong food....fruit and bacon and egg served at the same time by the same person......ask for toast and never recieve any ....ask for 2 shredded wheat, they give you one !
ask for tea....get coffee !

we ate in the la brassiere.....i was served the worst quality steak i have ever had ....my dog would still be chewing it now !

on check out bill was incorrect.....a person with same name ordered a whole pile of items from bar , spa, and room service......they only appeared on my bill !!!!

no apologies, no alternatives offered, nothing !

i will never stay or eat here again !

AVOID.....GOTO A MORE REASONABLY PRICED HOTEL WHERE THEY WILL BE GREATFUL FOR YOUR CUSTOM !

Room Tip: stay elsewhere !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tnljh6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful stay at The Chester Grosvenor. From the moment we arrived, the service for 5* with the valet parking and attentitve staff who kindly shown you to your room and helped with luggage. Our room was beautifully presented with a King Sized bed which was extremely comfortable. Location was fantastic and I cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoisyTable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I agree with other reviews, it was good but simply nothing special and massively overpriced. The super king size bed was in fact two beds pushed together and I could feel the seam, which was annoying. The Loewe tv did not have a programme guide and was too far away from the bed..... It was only a small tv and at about 8 feet away the picture wasn't great. Room service food was average... Haddock and chips / club sandwich were borderline cold and £25pp for a very basic cooked breakfast is simply disgusting!! The coffee was also very average. Furthermore, simple things were missing.... Bottled water (only provided on turndown) and a hair dryer. Would stay again but only if it was discounted! Can't fault the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank El_Capitan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $162 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing