We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Chester
yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend rooms were lovely and clean staff were very friendly the evening meal was lovely bar prices were reasonable . Our room was underneath which was fine only thing is you could here the kitchen staff walking around in the morning . Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukesmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariongillyhow, Owner at Brookside Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay here with us at The Brookside Hotel, we are delighted to hear you would stay again and look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel and great City. Best regards Marion Gilfoyle (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    136
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
200
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for my sisters 30th birthday for the weekend 5th-7th April 2013. We had a fantastic time. Staff very helpful & chatty. Very quiet hotel until we got there!!!!! Nothing seemed to be a problem. Staff did do several jobs all at once but always smiling and did their best.

Our rooms were downstairs under reception & restaurant (28 & 29) this didn't bother us as we were never really in them but to sleep. Probably the best rooms as we were unable to disturb any other guest as they were the only rooms downstairs.

Fantastic stay would go back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed over 28-30 March 2013 for the Easter weekend with our daughter and son-in-law. We were relatively pleased with our room which was decorated nicely and was a decent size, we were a little disappointed that it wasn't an en- suite bath but the 32 inch telly made up for it!!! Enjoyed the breakfasts and the ample amount of toast and coffee and tea!!! The staff were also extremely friendly!!! Be warned it was worth paying the extra for a standard double as our daughter and son-in-law didn't !!! They were in room 24 which was literally like a shoe box decorated nicely but in my eyes this was a single and shouldn't be classed as a double. Overall though we enjoyed a pleasant stay!!!

Room Tip: Start at a standard room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I had a 2 night stay in this hotel (28th-30th March 2013). We arrived at the hotel early to check in and as our room was not ready we were given coffee and said they would see what they could do,20 mins later we were shown to our room that was clean and tidy. As we had never been to Chester before the staff were helpful in telling us a little about it. The hotel is only a ten minute stroll away. The city has so much to see and do and we will be going back. Now more about the hotel, first and foremost the staff are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble.The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer etc.The hotel has a car park, restaurant and bar .As it was tiring during the day we ate at the hotel on both nights and the meals were lovely, again the staff were excellent.We would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhappy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel during a recent conference. It's close to the University of Chester. It's a charming, funky little place. The room was snug and warm, even during blizzard like weather. I had a roast dinner in the restaurant during my stay. It was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remittancegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stay with my daughter who had an interview at Chester Uni,
Such a lovely and comfortable Hotel , we were given super rooms and Madeleine made a real fuss of my daughter who was quite nervous of the day ahead. Madeleine gave her a room with a fourposter bed which she adored, although we arrived too late for supper we were offered a selection take- away menus and were able to sit in the lounge where we were made to feel extremely comfortable.
The rooms are very well presented with very good bath/ shower rooms and Tea/coffee facilities and digital TV.

All the staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcome

We both enjoyed a glorious breakfast and my daughter was very pleased with addition of Quorn sausages to the Cheshire Breakfast. Chester is a lovely town to visit and I hope the whole family will return soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and daughter booked for one nights stay last week. The outside of the hotel looked cosy and welcoming, but the reception was dark, dingy and cluttered. We were shown to our rooms (28 and 29) I think down some rickety stairs to the cellar. The rooms looked like they had been decorated pre-war (1 not 2) and smelled damp. Even though we had pre paid, with no chance of a refund and driving conditions were hazardous outside due to the snow, that could not have enticed us to stay. Not sure how the other reviews were so good, it certainly mis-led us. Breathed a sigh of relief as we left - an experience I hope I never repeat.

Room Tip: If you have the misfortune to end up at this hotel, be warned, avoid rooms 28 and 29 at all costs...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank milllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
7.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing