We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, lovely breakfast”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, lovely breakfast”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed at Brookside with my boyfriend last weekend as we wanted to visit Chester and had never been before. The staff were very polite and friendly, asking if we planned to go to the races etc. Lots of information given as we got there but we were dealt with efficently and showed up to our room. The room was a good size, plenty of wardrobe space, clean shower room with plenty of tea/ biscuits etc.

The breakfast was served very quickly when we got downstairs the following morning and was absolutely delicious! Could have done with maybe a little more variety of cereals but the cooked breakfast was just as ordered with plenty of toast. They were able to get us a discount of tickets to Chester Zoo and helped us with directions and leaflets.

Very pleasant stay, would go again as it really is a short walk into town, 15 mins max.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesybeans414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    142
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
208
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster,UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Warm and cosy hotel with friendly management and staff with Brookie the cat.Cooked breakfast served at table was good.Nice little bar and hotel restaurant open Monday to Saturday.Bus stop opposite although Chester is only a ten minute stroll around the corner and taxis only charge £3 to Chester centre if you are going out or coming back Overall will return to this hotel and it is underrated at only Two Stars as I would say it is Three Star.Car park at rear is a bonus.

Room Tip: Located on a quite road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

What you read in the reviews below is excellent my experience also great location,the friendliest staff ever, this hotel has the whole package.Some rooms are a bit small but does it matter they are spotlesly clean in every way,highly decorated to which the rooms have their own character.No complaints about the meals,i am not a very big eater so i was happy to have the childrens menue and they were very obliging .Breakfast was excellent, done to perfection more than plenty .The resident cat what a character he actualy possed while freinds took it's photo.
The only down fall was putting 60+ on the top floor and many stairs to climb,many at that age do have some problems so anyone planning to book there just ask where your room is as you may end up on the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for your luggage to be taken up dont struggle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbysgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed at the Brookside hotel on the 12th march, what an excellent hotel staff very friendly including the hotel cat, fantastic food and a bar at very reasonable prices, a 15 min stroll into chester town city and its numerous delights, or a £3.50 taxi ride.

We arrived early but found the room ready, to our suprise we were given a family room but still paid the double rate of £70, huge room very clean with a quality bathroom and a very comfortable bed.

All in all a quality hotel with a stupidly low star rating, i have stayed in 4 star hotels that haven't been as clean or welcoming as the Brookside hotel.

if you are going to Chester look up this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johninman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I visited the hotel together with my daughter who had an interview at the University. Excellent friendly staff and the owners allowed me to leave my car in their car the following day (as anyone visiting Chester will know parking in this walled historic city is scarse). Rooms were spotlessly clean and well equiped.
Breakfast was simple but well presented and nicely cooked, againthe staff were very friendly and efficient.
Well worth the cost and I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights and after an interrupted sleep the first night and a change of room everything else went well. Unfortunately the people above us seemed to walk up and down their room til about 2.45 am. But after complaining to the management we were moved to a comfortable, quiet room and slept well the next night. Breakfast was very good. There was room for people to be comfortable in the bar in the evening. And a 10 minute walk from the town centre, although a taxi only cost £3!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute after seeing it on the internet. Great welcome. Would definitely rate the hotel as 10 out of 10 and we would definitely stay there again when visiting Chester. Everywhere is spottlesly clean. Communal areas and bedrooms are all furnished to a really high standard and a very stylish quirky taste... but beautiful. Staff and owner were very helpful and friendly and Brookie the cat gives a lovely warm greeting too. Breakfast was one of the nicest we have ever had in hotel/ guesthouse. Very well organised hotel and would definitely stay there again... cant wait.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverleyconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing