We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value city hotel”
Review of The Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eaton Hotel
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value city hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just one night in Chester - stayed here expecting a less than great experience due to the bargain B & B price, but pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very friendly staff, my room was spotless - lovely quality bed linen, nice touch of a teapot on the tea and coffee tray and good biscuits! Sadly the cook was off sick so no evening meal available as the location, just by the canal, looked lovely for a sunny evening. Great location though for other places to eat within a few paces. Really can't stress what great value this was - about half what we normally pay when we come up to Chester on business. Parking on-street was easy, but they do also have a car park nearby apparently. Breakfast was pretty good, so all in all would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely - at the back overlooking the canal - very pretty. Smallish bathroom but adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    40
    38
    42
See reviews for
21
46
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was in Chester on business and stayed here for 1 night in midweek. The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was freshly cooked. For the rate I paid it was a good value room compared to what colleagues paid for similar rooms in other hotels in Chester that night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has a terrible old smokey musty smell in the corridors. The bedrooms are small with oversized furniture and i had the smallest bathroom ever. The bed was comfy but the bobbly blanket really needs replacing. On the plus side the stafff are great and the breakfast lovely. Its in a great location for the city centre and the racecourse which is why we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night last Friday. Hotel in ideal location right in the middle of the city esay6 to get to anywhere on foot from here. we were watching a band Indigo Sky in a local pub and we didnt need a taxi home as it was in walking distance. Although a little bit dated and the shower was a bit manky all in all a really great little hotel. Friendly staff and a really good nights sleep. Super breakfast in the resturaunt overlooking the canal. Would stay here again

Room Tip: We had room15 which was canal side a lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Decided to give the eaton a try, after the other reviews that were putting the hotel down made us very cautious, but we got there about 6pm a very warm welcome, booking in was really easy lift straight up to the room, the room was a good size and well equipped for a 2 star, it was very clean with a great shower, coffee and tea making are on hand extra pillows if needed and a good little tv with base freeview channels, plenty of plug sockets in the room if needed, the beds were basic ours was a twin ( room 6 ) standard mattress but were clean and gave us a good nights sleep, only 5 minutes from the town centre, down stairs in the basement is a very nice little bar and restaurant with an outdoor garden overlooking the canal, which offered very good value for money meals and drink, this is also where breakfast is served, we went down to breakfast where we were greated with a smile, there was cereal, yougurt, fruit and a full English on offer with a range of teas and coffees to choose from, we had the full English of course, egg, sausage, tomato, mushrooms, beans and 2 rashes of bacon with toast, so for others that said this was small I'm an 18 stone man who likes his breakfast and this was more than enough well cooked and tasty!
Overall I'd say this is fantastic value for money and if I go to Chester again would stop in this hotel without giving it a second thought!! We were a group of six
Thanks for a great stay from all of us!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on Sunday we have stayed before and wasn't disappointed the rooms were clean and comfy the breakfast was included in the price if your looking great value for money then I'd put this 1st in Chester hotels it says 2 star I can't believe it's only 2 star very clean and upto date even has a lift

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwpowerclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked a single room at The Eaton Hotel in Chester last Friday and although I was a bit apprehensive given the feedback by other guests, I had chosen the hotel purely based on price so it did not change my plans. When I arrived, Jacqueline on reception was friendly and helpful. The entire check in process took less than 5 minutes and I was given Room 1 for the night which looked over the canal. Even though I was a single traveller, the room was big enough for two. Everything was clean and I had all the amenities that I would require. I was concerned that it may be noisy as I was directly above a bar and it being a Friday night but I could hardly hear a thing. If I had to find one negative, it would be the size of the bathroom, in particular the bath. It is not big enough for an adult to stretch out in but the shower was sufficient and they have clearly made great use of the space available. All in all, it is a great hotel and great value for money if you only require the room for a short stay. I would stay there again and recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19London82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#13 of 44 in Chester
1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eaton Hotel

Property: The Eaton Hotel
Address: 29-31 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Eaton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing