We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the most perfect hotel for feeling like you've escaped from the rest of the world. Beautiful rooms with a personal feel, superb service, and generally a very comfortable place to be. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
What a wonderful review and thank you for commenting on 'This is the most perfect hotel for feeling like you've escaped from the rest of the world. Beautiful rooms with a personal feel, superb service, and generally a very comfortable place to be. Would highly recommend.'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    207
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
177
485
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
halesowen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for two nights....very overpriced...room a little shabby & bathroom tiny..Noise from disco at 12.30am nightmare(or would have been if I could have got any sleep)hotel failed to tell us there was another wedding on the Friday & our room was in the firing line of the full blast of the rave music....did make a complaint but manager at that time very flippant & rude..no apology.& not addressed next morning either!!!! Staff very attentive when we arrived, breakfast first morning very efficient, but this certainly changed the second morning when the wedding party were moved to another part of the dining room & we had to find someone to take our order for breakfast(they had forgotten about us). a complete shambles!.& that was our wedding anniversary so not impressed. Our stays only saving grace was the food...excellent. Will not be returning...............

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, please request a room furthest away from function room, the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are sorry that we failed to tell you that there was another wedding in addition to the one that you were already attending during your stay. We pride ourselves on letting all our potential guests know when there is a function at the hotel so that they can make a choice. So that we can be sure that we do not fail again in this area we are now adding the information to all confirmations.

I do not accept that our late manager on duty, when you telephoned at 12.15am, was ‘flippant and rude’, the young man in questions has worked with Rowton Hall for a number of years and has a lot of guest awareness and the many compliments we have received about him testify this.

I also do not agree with your comments regarding the hotel being ‘shabby in parts’. Fortunately there are enough photographs on TripAdvisor taken by guests for people to make their own judgement as to whether the hotel looks ‘shabby’.

I am sorry that you will not be returning but maybe it is just as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights. When we arrived we were informed that the hotel had a wedding on for both the Friday and Saturday but our room would be away from the noise. Indeed I was pleasantly surprised by the quietness, however the first night had to be one of the worst night's sleep I have ever had. Despite having a very comfortable bed the temperature fluctuated from roasting to stifling and we ended up having to keep the window open all night in an effort to cool the room - this was despite the fact that central heating was not on and as a fan was included in the room the hotel was clearly aware of this. The hotel is something of a contradiction - our room had a contemporary decoration but the paintwork in the communal parts was generally quite shabby.The three course dinner was exceedingly good (even though there was a wedding on), however breakfast was poor and both my husband and I had to send our poached eggs back because they were cold. We both had massages and we're disappointed by the experience which felt more like being slathered in lotion than actually given a massage and although we were promised fruit and water in the relaxation room this never actually materialised. The hotel offers so much promise but ever so slightly fails to deliver. I was extremely disappointed considering recent trip advisor reviews had raised my expectations and on check out extremely disappointed to be told by the receptionist that had we told someone the room was too hot they could have done something about it. Another noisy fan to keep me awake all night? I don't think so.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I am so sorry that you were too hot during your first night and I can give you no honest explanation, but can genuinely tell you that the fan that was provided was not for any reasons of excessive heat, there are infact fans in all bedrooms. In all honesty I am more disappointed that our receptionist would say to you such a negative response when you raised the subject with reception, of course she should have called the Duty Manager to discuss your unhappiness regarding the room temperature.

It appears that we also served you cold poached eggs and that you didn’t enjoy your spa experience. I have discussed this with the Spa Manager and I believe that you had a hot stone treatment which does require more oil being used than a normal massage.

Finally I am sorry to say I do not accept your comment of the public areas being ‘shabby’, we have spent in excess of £150,000 in refurbishing the main ground floor areas including the bar over the past 20 months and I do believe the photographs taken by fellow travellers allow people to make their own judgement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Me and my husband decided to visit chester and this hotel for the first time for our first wedding anniversary.
We loved the vibe of chester city centre and the boat ride :)
The hotel was nice, the weather not so did not explore the grounds!
The room was ok, standard size. The bed was comfy. Clean enough although a little dusty. The bathroom was our biggest let down of the room really. It absolutley smelt, like sewers. We had the light/extractor on the whole time. We ran the taps but the smell stayed. The shower head did not work properly. And the shower screen fittings abit mouldy and a few of the tiles too. It could do with the tiles updating for it to be breath taking.
The restaurant was absolutely fab. We had dinner and breakfast there and the fold was perfect (and thats from a very fussy eater)! The staff are so attentive.
The spa/pool is nice, a little confusing as to what to do. Ive been to other spa hotels where you can go from ur room to the spa in ur robe but wasnt sure here. Was a little dissapointed the steam room was broken. The spa is nice. Doesnt beat my favourite though.
All in all, had a lovely time, could be a five star hotel with abit more attention to detail in the room and the spa. May also be worth getting the person performing the treatment to introduce themselves before its started as found it to be a little awkward.
Im giving it 4 stars mainly due to the fab restaurant!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazorinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

having decided to hold a birthday celebration,I put the responsibility completely on the family who own and run this gem of a hotel and spa.
The attention to detail,astonishing cuisine and service from all the staff (including breakfast the following morning) was absolutely faultless.Everything was taken care of from lighting & sound for the cabaretto overnight accomodation and spa treatments!
This venue really must be one of Cheshire"s finest,perfection!!

Room Tip: henrietta suite is lovely,looking out over the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
What a fantastic review and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful 'birthday celebration'.

Thank you for commenting on 'The attention to detail,astonishing cuisine and service from all the staff (including breakfast the following morning) was absolutely faultless.Everything was taken care of from lighting & sound for the cabaretto overnight accomodation and spa treatments!
This venue really must be one of Cheshire"s finest, perfection!!'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having held our wedding reception at beautiful Rowton Hall over 40 years ago it is always a pleasure returning and on this occasion it was as guests at a fantastic birthday party hosted by an old friend.
It was the perfect venue in every way and as we stayed overnight we can say that not only was the champagne reception & dinner amazing - producing such a high standard when serving so many people is the mark of an excellent chef - but our room was very comfortable and breakfast delicious too.
We were also impressed by the staff who were, without exception, helpful, pleasant and efficient.
Thank you Rowton Hall!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had a 'perfect' stay with us and that your friend had a 'fantastic birthday party'

Thank you for your comments 'we can say that not only was the champagne reception & dinner amazing - producing such a high standard when serving so many people is the mark of an excellent chef - but our room was very comfortable and breakfast delicious too. We were also impressed by the staff who were, without exception, helpful, pleasant and efficient.'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had the most fabulous time at rowton hall for a 70th birthday celebration. Check in was fast and friendly our room was lovely with a beautiful view and a luxurious four poster bed. The wait staff in charge of cocktails and canapés were attentive without being intrusive as were the waiters and waitresses throughout our amazing gourmet dinner. The lobster was spectacular!
All in all flawless looking forward to our next stay thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
What a wonderful review and we are delighted that you 'had the most fabulous time at rowton hall for a 70th birthday celebration. Check in was fast and friendly our room was lovely with a beautiful view and a luxurious four poster bed. The wait staff in charge of cocktails and canapés were attentive without being intrusive as were the waiters and waitresses throughout our amazing gourmet dinner. The lobster was spectacular!'

Thank you for your kind comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing