We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited this hotel on a KGB deal. Stayed in this hotel on 21st October for one night. I would stay in this hotel again and would recommend to everyone. We stayed in room 5, very clean and tidy. We had an evening meal with breakfast. both was really enjoyable. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, All staff from start to finish were very pleasant. We visited Chester City Centre and caught the Park and Ride. £2.00 per adult, worth every penny. I hope to visit again very soon. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Use the Park and Ride to go to the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    213
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
179
499
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel from 17 - 20 October 2013. The first evening was as a couple, the second evening as a small group eating in the restaurant and the third as part of a larger group attending a reunion and eating in a private reserved room. We started making the arrangements in February 2013 and the help and advice we received in putting the occasion together was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed by the cleanliness of the public areas and the pleasant manner of the staff with whom we came into contact. The nature of the Hall has been preserved in the development of the hotel yet the general accomodation is spacious and generous in size, very easy to relax in.

Over the days that we were there, we experienced intimate dining, a small group dinner and a larger formal pre-ordered meal gathering. There was no difference in standard everything was excellent. There was a choice of Table d'hote and a la carte meals in the restaurant and the wine selection was outstanding. Breakfast are as you would expect in any top class hotel.

The feedback from other members of the group were that the bedrooms were large, clean and well equipped. There is a spa in the hotel and you can either change in the spa area or use the dressing gowns and slippers available in the room to walk to the baths and gym area.

The hotel is situated in a small village which, if the weather is fine, is well worth a walk round. Nearby is a petrol station which currently has prices to match the big supermarket chains. About two miles away on the road into Chester is a "park & ride" which is far preferable to driving into Chester centre and trying to find a parking space. The buses run every 10 minutes.

On the last night we were there, we had our reunion in the private Adams Room. There was a small birthday group in the restaurant and a larger birthday party in the ballroom and conservatory. The premises are large enough to cater for all three with the minimum of crossover.

When we go to Chester again Rowton Hall will definitely be our base

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights at this hotel from 17 - 20 October 2013. The first evening was as a couple, the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times and never thought to write a review till today. We've always had great experiences when staying here and really feel as though it's a hidden gem. It's in such a great location, just a little drive into a very picturesque town. Love the room decor ... They're all so unique and the bathrooms are something I have to have in my own place one day! All very friendly staff and beautiful spa and gardens ... We will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NiamhLarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited this hotel on a Living Social deal. It is attractively set in lovely grounds, in a quiet little village 'off the beaten track', (yet easily accessible). On arrival we, plus our friends, were greeted warmly both at Reception and by the Manager, who found time for a friendly chat. Our snack lunch was very fresh, and promptly served in the very comfortable lounge bar/extension (the prawn sandwiches can be highly recommended!). The service we received was 'spot on' throughout our stay. Dinner, complete with amuse-bouche and a quality wine, was a really delicious meal, again very professionally presented. Breakfast was an equally pleasurable experience, the bacon and field mushrooms being particularly noteworthy. Our room was spacious, beautifully furnished / equipped and our en-suite impeccably clean (although our room was very warm, requiring the fan on overnight). This proved a memorable, relaxing stay which we hope very much to repeat. We have no hesitation in recommending this very well-run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodlark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us,

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel in September as my husband birthday treat. We stayed only one night but truly enjoyed it. It was a surprise gift, we had our lunch there and then checked into the room, which was very nice. It wasn't too big but very comfortable and bathroom had lovely toiletries. A the evening we dined in the restaurant and the service was first class, we even got a complementary glass of champagne and made felt very well looked after. Bed if very comfortable and shower powerful. At the morning we had our breakfast which was very nice. A good buffet and then full English with a great coffee. We would definitely go back hopefully for a bit longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon... maybe for another birthday treat next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a very mixed experience. We originally booked a suite as it was a special occasion but were contacted a few days before and told that we were unable to be accommodated unless we switched to a luxury double room with a bottle of champagne thrown in for our disappointment. We accepted but on arrival were shown to a standard room on the 2nd floor at the back overlooking the roofs and a noisy boiler. The room was very clean and comfortable, a good standard, and in the circumstances the champagne came in very handy. My husband complained to the receptionist and she said as there was a wedding on the Saturday and Sunday there was nothing they could do but they were very sorry. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening which was empty apart from one other couple. The food was delicious the service very pleasant and we had coffee in the Lounge, very nice evening. Breakfast again very good, service also. However on our return from Chester on the Saturday the wedding party had arrived and we were very much second fiddle!! The room we had was over the ballroom so music was blasting away till 12. The following morning another very nice breakfast. We feel that our stay at this very nice hotel would have been just great if our room had been overlooking the front, and was a deluxe double room as promised. Perhaps the reception could have asked if we had enjoyed our stay when we paid our bill.

Room Tip: If the ambience and view are important, ask for a room overlooking the front and avoid room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My daughter had her wedding reception here on the 4th August and its was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. I would absoultly recommend to anyone who was planning their big day.

Next week 24th October five of us are coming back to try out the Spa day we can't wait and are really looking forward to it! Bring on a big relaxing pampered day. Ill let you know how we get on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swashy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that your daughter had such a wonderful wedding day, and all her guests had such a great time at Rowton Hall. We hope you have a relaxing time when you visit the spa next week. Let us know how you get on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,501 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing