We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent venue for a short break”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just got back from a two night stay, celebrating 18 years of wedded bliss.

From check in to check out, we were very happy with the service we received from all the staff.

Food in the restaurant was excellent for our evening meal and breakfast was just as good...cooked to order, not a buffet as you often get in hotels these days.

The spa area was clean and well maintained, making our morning swim and sauna a pleasure, not a chore.

We will definitely stay at Rowton Hall again.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite, Fairfax, over looking the garden. It was well appointed and very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are delighted that you had an excellent two day break with us to celebrate your 18th wedding anniversary.

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Rowton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

My human mam and dad asked me to write to tell you about the wonderful time we had at Rowton Hall when we stayed on Monday.
Everyone we met, from the owner who came to see me to ask if I wanted something to chew on, to the waiter who got me ice for my water, to the lady who got me a sausage for my breakfast, to the Gardner who helped mam find where to put my poo bags, was so lovely and just accepted that having a four legged guest was normal.
Mam and Dad were really happy that they could still stay in a lovely hotel, which had great service and really delicious food, even though they had me with them.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

To celebrate a milestone birthday.we recently spent two nights at this hotel which is located near an historic site where one of the final battles of the English Civil War took place leading to the capitulation of the Royalist forc.es in Chester.
The hotel met our expectations in line with Trip Advisor reviews. The staff were friendly - The two evening dinners chosen from an extensive menu were amongst the best we have enjoyed anywhere - The Spa and Pool are great assets.
Our room was on the ground floor with a small terrace overlooking attractive lawns and gardens.
It is easy to understand why the hotel is a popular venue for Wedding celebration

Altogether an enjoyable experience and one we hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikitiboodudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I can only describe our wedding at Rowton Hall as an absolute fiasco! They are only to happy to take our deposit, but once they have that it all begins to fall apart. Don't hire exclusively our rooms were double booked and were in a filthy state! Wedding menu tasting was an over priced disaster. Breakfast isn't included in any rates but they don't tell you that so it an extra £12 for guest.

Wouldn't recommend!! Interesting to read a lot of people experienced hiccups with their weddings at Rowton Hall but the joy of their day influences their reviews rather than reviewing on the venue solely.

One member of staff, Keith is outstanding. The only shining light for this venue unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ted4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

The good thing about TripAdvisor is we have the opportunity and right to reply honestly to derogatory and good comments alike.

Getting to the facts of the matter, you know that it is untrue to say that we double booked your exclusive use wedding day, categorically we did not. It is also untrue to say that our rooms are filthy. There are many comments before and after your statement where guests express the cleanliness of the hotel. Furthermore within a matter of days of your visit the English Tourist Board carried out their annual inspection of the hotel and complimented us on the cleanliness of the rooms.

On exit interviews, which we carry out with guests leaving after the wedding on check out, we received only compliments regarding our hotel and your wedding. I think this maybe the reason you choose a Chester email address to write your review as opposed to your actual home address (which we will not mentioned as to stay within the guidelines of the TripAdvisor rules), thus avoiding any of your guests tying your comments directly to your wedding day.

You raised issue with us as we made a genuine mistake with your mothers room the night prior to the wedding and you thought this gave you the right to demand a 15% rebate of the total expenditure. Of course we disagreed with this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a Wonderful Hotel. We where fortunate to be invited to help celebrate our friends wedding at this venue..from the minute we arrived we where greeted by cheerful friendly staff, nothing was to much trouble for them... particlar mention for ~Katrina a loverly young lady who was a credit to this hotel. polite , friendly and very helpful.
Cant recommend this beautiful hotel highly enough.
Colin Lewis-conde

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding went well, I will certainly pass on your comments to Katrina too.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I got married at Rowton Hall on the 18th July 2013. We had a lovely day despite a few hiccups. But when organising a large party these are to be expected.
It upsets me that the staff at Rowton Hall can't take criticism and use it to improve the quality of service / experience they provide. On the wedding material we received and during planning meetings it was not stated that breakfast was not included in the rate of the rooms. We booked our wedding in April 2013 and married in July 2013. During this time our 'designated wedding co-ordinator' left and we were given another. Perhaps this is where communication broke down and the hotel presumed we had all the required information.
On the day Keith and his team were excellent. However I was disappointed that our 'designated wedding co-ordinator' didnt have the courtsey to even pop her head in and congratulate us.
Our wedding was brilliant. Yes its a beautiful and awesome setting, its dog friendly which meant we could bring our dog, the canapés were delicious and the waiting on staff that worked on the day were excellent. But it was mostly down to our wonderful guests who came to celebrate with us.
I would like to visit Rowton Hall again but Im not sure if it will be any time soon as I feel that the attitude of the hotel towards constructive criticism is petty. And following this review we probably aren't welcome back, as this is the owners response to any postive criticism.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jj180713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

On the contrary to your last comment you will always be a valued guest to Rowton Hall, we sincerely thank you for holding your wedding with us and you are most welcome to return to our hotel.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding Keith and the team, that they were excellent on the day. However, I must disagree on your term constructive criticism, I cannot accept that somebody entitles a comment on our hotel as ‘Rip Off’, we strive to give the best value for money we can in these competitive times.

The most important issue for me is that you enjoyed your special day and I would repeat that you will always be welcome at Rowton Hall Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was lucky to be invited to share the wedding celebrations of the new Mr & Mrs Andrew Clerke on 11/8/2013 and had a wonderful stay at Rowton Hall. I can honestly say there was not a single complaint to be made! I had a wonderful day and night at your hotel and will surely be visiting you again!

Thank you to all of the staff who worked hard to make our stay perfect especially the girls who searched for my missing phone (found in my car!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5heryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding here at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming your family and friends back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,327 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $147 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing