We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch and very good value”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and very good value”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We returned to Chester in May and enjoyed an excellent meal of a chicken dish followed by a cheesecake . Unfortunately they had run out of servings of the bream. Very comfortable, spacious dining room, very good service and an excellent lounge. A la carte and bar snacks also available. From the set menus 2 courses for £9.95 is excellent value at any time.In a hotel with Two AA Rosettes and Trip Advisor awards could hardly be bettered. There was also an option of 3 courses each for 2 people for £26. A deservedly popular venue for weddings with attractive grounds and spacious rooms. Also spa and leisure facilities. Good parking . As its close to home we didn't stay overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    214
    75
    38
    21
See reviews for
181
505
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights on a KGB deal.
The hotel surpassed oour expectations. We had a standard room which was lovely, with a view over the patio area and gardens. The toilteries in the bathroom were very very nice. Aromatherapy products :) I normally take my own products but at this hotel they remained in my toilet bag!!
We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night which was outstanding. Breakfast the next day could not be faulted either. Bar snack the second night - delicious.
We spoke with the young couple who were helping their parents with the running of the hotel who were absolutely delightful. Their parents must be very proud of them. Nothing was too much trouble.
All the staff were young but had been trained impeccabily and were very professional.
The facilities ie the pool, spa etc looked amazing, unfortunately we never had a chance to experience them as the weather was glorious so we were out all day...... however, we shall certainly be returning and I cant wait to experience some pampering at the spa .
Our favourite hotel
Well done to all the staff for making our visit so lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siannie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

we held our daughters' wedding reception here and what a fabulous day we all had
The Conservatory was ideal for the drinks reception and delicious canapes.
The ballroom looked stunning; the meal excellent,(compliments to the Chef) and served so nicely by pleasant, helpful staff.Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The evening reception was also a big success; the buffet was tasty and plentiful and the many
guests who stayed overnight had nothing but very good comments about their accommodation.
Stacey, the wedding coordinator, was so helpful with all the arrangements, and we have to make a special mention of Kurt and Keith for their professionalism and humour throughout
the day
We would certainly recommend this venue to anyone.
Mr and Mrs Catherall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and we are delighted that Jill and Ben had a fabulous wedding here. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights to enable me to be close but not in Liverpool. Loved the hotel food was very good, found the room OK. Very clean. All the staff professional & polite. Close to Park & Ride into Chester. Good Parking at the Hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked the Spa overnight break without knowing too much about Rowton Hall Hotel. Welcomed with warmth and information. Upgraded our room because it was a birthday treat. Beautiful hotel, bedroom and on-suite very tasteful.
Dinner was very tasty, the staff very experienced and friendly. They grow their own veg/salad
Breakfast good.
Spa treatments excellent.
Afternoon tea lovely.
Steam room out of action
It would be great to have sun beds out on the back lawn. Hay ho can't have everything. Plus the weather has only just improved, so maybe they do have them.

Room Tip: We had room 31. I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight spa break with us.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for two nights on a KGB deal and it was great. The deal included breakfast both days and two spa treatments each for me and my partner. Both of which were fabulous. The women working in the spa were knowledgable and professional and extremely helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was of a high standard yet reasonably priced. All in all a lovely hotel and all staff very professional. Would definitely stay again, thanks Rowton Hall!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0lajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights through a KGB deal. It was one of the best deals we have ever had. The Hall was beautiful, the gardens fabulous. The staff were at all times very polite and professional and always willing to help. The food was fabulous. The room perfect.
In all faultless!!! Well done Rowton Hall. Hope to see you in the near future.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems request a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1u2e3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a fabulous stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing