We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with lots of character”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I bought a Spa package for my parents for their Christmas present at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa and decided to take my wife and kids at the same time last month. The kids absolutely loved it and spent a great deal of time in the nice warm pool, in fact my only criticism of the place was the pool was maybe too hot!!. We ate at the restaurant in the evening and the food was 5 star. During the day we had food in the health club and again that was great and we were well looked after by the front of house who was called Keith. We enjoyed it so much that when I raced at Oulton Park last weekend, I booked rooms for both myself and my team mate again. I mentioned to Keith that we were going to be up too early for breakfast and he offered to have something made for us before breakfast was open…. You can’t ask for better service than that. We will be back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redracer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your team mate back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a very good place to stay, whether you are looking for a country weekend or a city break. It's close to Chester and also to the surrounding countryside. The rooms are pleasant and spacious (though the decor is a bit dark in that 90's boutique style) and its nice to have the spa facilities. The restaurant was a big surprise. We've been here before, but the improvement in the standard of the food this time was astounding. Everything we ate was delicious, perfectly cooked and well presented. I believe they are developing their kitchen garden too so it should get better and better.

Room Tip: The view on to the inner court yard isn't very interesting but do you go to a hotel for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Rowton Hall and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel was stylish and welcoming with beautiful rooms and helpful staff.
As this was an escape, including beauty treatments in the hotel spa, it was essential to feel comfortable and relaxed.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, with special thanks to the Manager, Tony, for taking the time to make us feel welcome and telling us about the hotel and It's facilities.
The spa treatments were wonderful, with skilled beauticians and given in lovely rooms with relaxing music and calming decor.
The food in the restaurant was of excellent quality and a very competitive price for a three course meal. The only slightly negative comment I could make, was that the food seemed to take an excessively long time to reach the table between courses. Not ideal if you have time limitations.
I will definitely make a return visit to this hotel if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for a few days over the Easter break on a KGB deal. The hotel itself is clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Facilities were good although our room, which faced a wall and a industrial pipe, was very cold despite having the heating on full. We also had limited amounts of hot water in the mornings and had to shower in the spa.

Breakfast was delicious although as vegetarians we felt we were limited. They could offer a veggie alternative. The poached eggs are to die for though! Staff a little abrupt during breakfast!!!

The pool area is good and the spa is beautiful, really well set out and relaxing. A nice touch having the relaxation room and being offered fruit skewers. I was a little disappointed with the treatments we had as part of the deal. The staff were lovely, but the 1/2 hour massage lasted 10 mins and staff left the room for 15 mins at a time. I had a Jessica gel manicure which had lifted off my nails before I had got back to my room!! (I was offered a new set).

Despite this I would definitely stay again. It's really convenient for Chester and local attractions and it is a beautiful hotel in lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxsiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you plan to return to see us again.

We would like to thank you for your valid suggestion about offering a vegetarian option and I can confirm that this has been added onto our menu, also thank you for your poached egg comment.
We apologise for your lack of hot water and our maintenance department have now resolved this issue.

The massage included within your package was a detox treatment which is deeply cleansing back treatment includes a rich therapeutic mud to remove dry dull skin followed by an energising mask, this needs to be left for 15 minutes to allow the products to work to their best, hence the therapists left the room, this is then followed by a 10 minute back massage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thank you to all the Hotel staff who worked so hard to make this a wonderful place to stay.We have just enjoyed a 2 night break courtesy of KGB at this lovely country hotel. Having arrived early we were suprised and delighted to find our room was ready and waiting for us.Our room was a nicely furnished ground floor room with a flat screen TV in the room and another TV in the bathroom. The room was equipped with all that was necessary for a comfortable stay and also had free WiFi throughout the Hotel.
We took advantage of the excellent evening meal package and were extremely impressed with both the food and the service.
Breakfasts were cooked to order and of a high standard.
All in all one of the best Hotels we have stayed in.
Thank You all .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to welxoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently had a KGB weekend deal at Rowton Hall Hotel. The voucher stated 'junior suite', and, if this is what we were allocated, it was a rather small room on the second floor with no lift... However, the room was clean and comfortable, albeit quite small. The bedroom furnishings were a little old & dated, but the towels & robes were good. Our treatments in the spa were ok, and dinner on the first night Friday 5th April) was very good. As others have stated- drinks are over-priced. Coffee in the lounge was hilarious- served by a very young man holding the tops of two cups (no saucers) and slopped down the sides! A more senior person did, however, resolve this misdemeanor and serve jugs of coffee with cups & saucers. There was no hot water on the Sunday morning, and the cereal & fruit buffet was a bit lacking- had to ask for refills of fruit salad, etc. The buffet would have benefited from the addition of granola, nuts and seeds.
All-in-all, quite a pleasant stay, but slight improvements to room furnishings, room size, drinks prices and breakfast buffet would make it even better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our spa treatments and also your evening meal.

We apologise for your lack of water, our maintenance department have now resolved this issue.

Thank you also for your valid suggestion about adding granola, nuts and seeds on to our breakfast menu, I can confirm that this has been added to our selection of breakfast items.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very enjoyable weekend visit. Lovely location and comfortable accommodation. All of the staff are welcoming and friendly. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and my partner and I fully intend to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,645 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
733 reviews
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $119 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing