We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at rowton hall”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Meal at rowton hall”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

my husband and i went for a meal at Rowton hall. The food was fantastic and the staff really friendly. I would 100% recommend to go. Tne value of the food was very good. And i would say it was defiantly a 5*....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for saying that we are defiantly a 5*, it is lovely to hear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    213
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
179
500
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We found this hotel deal on kgb. We expected a luxury deal but were given a room that appeared basic.
The bathroom was a tight squeeze, the soap dispenser did not work and unusually for a bathroom it had a tv which did not have access to the main channels. The pillows were well used and uncomfortable, the blinds were broke. I ordered some fresh milk that didnt arrive.
However the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you found our staff freindly and the breakfast enjoyable. With regards to the KGB deal the accommodation included is one of our double rooms, these are the smaller rooms in the hotel however they are all of a good size, indivdually designed and have all of the modern ammenties available (as mentioned it other reviews)

We are sorry that you found the soap dispenser did not work, along with the tv in the bathroom and blinds, we do have a full housekeeping and maintenance team that inspect the rooms daily and if any comments are made on the day they will be actioned with immediate affect.

With regards to our pillows we do have a selection of pillows avaiable from reception.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a luxury double, we arrived early but it was not a problem the room was ready. The decor is a lovely mix of old and new, all of the staff are very helpful

Our room was clean with plenty of storage and lots of light, the only complaint would be that the bed was two singles pushed together, they were very hard to sleep on and the pillows were so soft you end up sleeping practically flat and my partner and I both ended up with pains in our necks and backs after our stay.

The spa facilities were fantastic, the pool was large and warm, the sauna and steam room were also great. We also tried a full body massage which was fantastic.

One of the best things about this hotel is the restaurant £19.95 for 3 delicious courses, you must try it.

The grounds are wonderful and the location is fantastic, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin_chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your comments with regards to the room decor, staff, menu selection and spa facitlities,

We are sorry to hear that you found the pillows too soft, we do have a selection of pillows available from reception, we would have happliy provided you with harder pillows if we had known. With regards to the bed, again we do have a double mattress topper which again we could have provided for you. When you next stay with us please let us know about these items and we will certainly accommodate your requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I arrived mid afternoon , we had booked a suite , the moment we walked in we were delighted with the decor and ambiance and the bathroom was stylish and huge. Went straight down to the leisure centre , had a relaxing swim and sauna , lovely pool , chilled out on a sofa in the leisure bar with wine and fresh sandwiches . The evening started with a glass of bubbly and canapés in the bar followed by a superb valentines meal , scallops and chateaubriand were cooked perfectly . A nice walk around the gardens in the morning . Good value for money , a stylish comfortable hotel and very helpfully staff , confidently recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are delighted that you have a wonderful Valentines break here at the hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Arrived there early one Saturday morning and it wasn't a problem, the room was ready, beautiful four poster bed and rooms are bright and classy, didn't leave the complex, used the pool, sauna and steam room, place was old mixed with modern and a beautiful hotel, food was excellent, staff couldn't do enough, it's ashame Tony supports Liverpool but it can't all be perfect! Will certainly be going back in the summer as the weather was poor but nothing we can do about that!... I've read other reveiews like, poor signal on tele and other stupid comments, go and judge for yourself you will love it, ideal hotel to get away from the hustle and bustle yet only 5 minutes from the city centre if you wanted that!

Room Tip: request something prior booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I will certainly pass on you comments to the team.

We would love to see you again in the summer, where hopfully the weather will be better (lets keep our fingers crossed)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel with classy furnishings. We received a warm welcome and felt relaxed from the minute we arrived. The hotel was well furnished, lovely original features and smelt heavenly. Our room (luxury double no. 6) was very clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped with lovely aromatherapy toiletries in the bathroom.
The bar and restaurant had a nice atmosphere, again very clean and the food was very good.
We really enjoyed the spa and pool area with immaculate shower and changing facilities.
Overall Rowton Hall provides everything for a nice relaxing stay with a real charm and the staff only add to the experience. We would recommend this hotel and it would be a particularly beautiful setting for a wedding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you have such a wonderful stay and I will certainly pass on your great feedback to the team.

Thank you for also recommending our hotel as beautiful setting for a wedding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

the hotel was lovely the reception area was reall classy the grounds and gardens were lovely even in winter the room we had was a suite very classy my husband said the swimming pool was really nice staff very helpfull was not happy with noise very other guests at night noise from bar till 4 in the morning

Room Tip: have a room thats not above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are delighted that you found our hotel classy and our gardens lovely. Thank you so much for also commenting on our swimming pool and staff.

I am sorry to hear that you were affected by some noise from other guests in the hotel, hopefully you will return to the hotel again in the near future and we will allocate you a room in another area of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,504 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing