We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue par excellence!”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Rowton Hall was chosen for our son's wedding both for the beautiful building and grounds but mostly for the dedication of the Manager, Tony, and his wonderful staff. We were not disappointed! From the very start the whole team displayed a professionalism of the highest order. Nothing was left to chance, everything that was promised was done to a very high standard. Our family and all of our guests were made to feel very special in this beautifully maintained country house. We were warmly welcomed and every little need was speedily attended to. Every single member of staff, without exception, was cheerful, courteous and extremely hard working! All of our rooms were beautifully decorated, quiet, very comfortable and provided anything we might require. The food was delicious, perfectly presented and served by very attentive staff. The children in the party were welcomed and treated so warmly. We would recommend Rowton Hall unreservedly. Thank you Tony and all your staff for making the day so perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2011

I am writing this review a little late...but better late than never! I just wanted to give a brief overview of rowton hall for any other people wishing to hold a wedding/ wedding reception at this location! The service and overall personal touch is second to none, Everything was done with such a personal touch, myself and the the entire wedding party was made to feel like the hotel was our home. I went to Rowton after i was let down 4 weeks prior to the wedding date by the double tree hilton hotel in chester ( they had double booked all our guest rooms and the bridal suite , a large corporate firm took preference over us the only thing they offerd us was to pay taxi fares from the venue to another hotel for us all to stay elsewhere!!! as you can imagine i was devastated) so i cancelled and re-located to rowton hall. I wish i had chosen them first!!!! with such a short time scale everyone at rowton hall pulled everything together perfectly! The manager-Tony is a true gentleman, the wedding co-ordinator Victoria is an absolute angel, Our toast master and host for the day- was fantastic! The food was delightful, the facilities were great, our suite was beautiful. The building & grounds are beautiful, The health spa & gym are also fabulous- i have visited them since for a spa day with my best friend and again we could not fault anything. I would highly reccomend Rowton Hall for any event or relaxing break, i must add i am not easily pleased and can be very fussy....Rowton hall ticks every box for me!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This service and friendliness of the staff was second to none.Very helpful and always smiling.The room was very clean and well furnished.Best part of the hotel is the swimming pool and sauna and steam room,and my girlfriend loved the spa. I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deakefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We decided to stay at Rowton Hall for a night away from it all. The whole experience was supurb. The receptionist was chatty and cheerful. We stayed in the Lord Byron suite, which is large and spacious with a very comfortable bed, a very clean en-suite with bathand shower and a tv. There is a sofa and a large flatscreen tv. We had dinner in the restaurant, the bar staff and restaurant staff were very attentive. The food was lovely and fresh and hot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

stayed for 2 nights with pet no additional charge which is an added bonus. staff very friendly and professional cleaning excellent spa facilities excellent and had 2 treatments food and the service was excellent all in all very pleased would suggest a comments card though for little niggles like poor tv reception via freeview and hook broke on bathroom door only 1 robe left these only little things but could improve the whole experience.room was a little small but for a couple of nights ok

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustangsuzy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Booked Rowton Hall for the weekend as a birthday surprise for my husband last year - he had to work on his birthday (poor thing!) at the Ramada in Chester over the weekend.

The staff were such great sports keeping the secret that he was actually staying for the whole weekend and not just for one night and that my daughter and I were joining him for the weekend; they booked him in a single room to start with and everything.

The room was gorgeous - very spacious, with ample room for the extra bed put in for my daughter. The bathroom was welcoming and designed very much to my taste – loved it.

The food was superb; we have multiple allergies between us, so I know everything given to us was cooked from scratch. I asked for Eggs Benedict on the first morning - it was not on the menu, but this is Rowton Hall and the owner made sure I got whatever I wanted – my daughter’s medical food requests were also met to the letter.

While my husband was in Chester, my daughter and I had an opportunity to sample the spa's facilities’ and have some serious girlie bonding time – I felt so good afterward – almost addicted. I went down to the gym before breakfast the next day – that NEVER happens when I stay in hotels.

In the business we are in, we stay in hotels constantly; everything from 1.5 to 5 star luxury and the service we had at Rowton is now up there with my top two in the UK (Radisson Edwardian Manchester and Hotel du Vin, Poole).

All over Christmas and New Year, our fantastic stay at Rowton Hall came up in conversation after conversation.

The owners were really nice people and very hands on. The huge international hotel chains will always be around – family owned places like Rowton Hall deserve our support.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefamilypoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed here between Christmas and New Years in one of the master suites. From start to finish, we were treated like royalty.
We arrived to a friendly welcome in reception, checked- in with no problems. The room was gorgeous, with really comfy bed and sofa. The location being so close to Chester meant that popping into town to find somewhere to eat took no more than 10 minutes. The bathroom was lovely, huge bath tub and a power shower too. Really good nights sleep and woke up to an amazing breakfast. Try the sausages!
The hotel had a spa with some great deals on, which I unfortunately did not get time to take advantage of.
Will definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the stunning grounds.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,638 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
733 reviews
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $118 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing