We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

Carluccio's - Chester
Ranked #85 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Third visit here we nip in the odd time for lunch when we are out shopping! We always have the shared starter with the pate meats and balsamic onions always lovely never disappoints. For mains this time I had the whitebait calamari and prawns battered and deep fried which was lovely. My husband ordered the risotto off the specials chicken and spinach which was tasteless other than the overpowering after taste of Salt. We quickly told the waitress and asked the manager if we could change the dish he came over asked the problem and my husband ordered the same dish as me. Felt complaint was handled well manager later came over and said we were right it didnt taste how it should. The waitress who served us was lovely my husband had the tiramisu for desert and said it was the nicest he's had in a long time. Would definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Beckysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    288
    117
    74
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a lovely meal at Carluccio's. Staff were very accommodating, food was gorgeous and reasonably priced. Lovely atmosphere and a great amaretto coffee to end the night!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“badly managed”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

asked the waitress whether she thought my ravioli should be swimming in the water it was cooked in and she said no it shouldn't so why bring it out of the kitchen then?
I was asked if I'd like "chef" (hahaha) to cook me another portion with the advertised sage butter this time instead of water but I declined because by then I couldn't be bothered either since the chicken liver pate starter had been seriously bland and came without an explanation for the missing cornichions. A very different experience to the fab meal we had in Carluccio's in Dublin last year so can only conclude that this place is badly managed although the staff seem very nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We visited 25th Feb for my birthday treat & we had a fabulous evening.

The service was very good & attentive & the meal was exceptional we could not fault it.

To start we enjoyed the bread tin & large olives, there was a very good selection of breads & the olives were so delicious. I then tried the spinach & ricotta ravioli & my partner chose the spicy sausage penne, both were beautifully cooked & presented. We shared the tiramisu for dessert & it was again very tasty & it finished off the meal perfectly.

I highly recommend the Prosecco it went perfectly with every course & it was delicious.

I cannot fault the restaurant at all the service, the food & ambiance were all 100% spot on.

We cannot wait to return, it was the nicest meal we have had outside Italy

Helpful?
Thank Chexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

An impromptu stop for lunch with family. A warm and friendly welcome and despite a table not being ready, we were told how long we would have to wait. In the event, the waitress managed to sort out a table for us within a matter of minutes. Great menu and a very good value set menu. The restaurant was busy but we had excellent service and the food was first class. Highly recommended and was up to the high standards of other Carluccios we've visited.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's - Chester also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Carluccio's - Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing