We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“total rubbish”

Dewa Roman Experience
Ranked #31 of 90 things to do in Chester
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“total rubbish”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

very disapointed staff did not seem interested exhibits had seen better days could do with more lighting .having been on the other roman tour in chester was hoping for somthing simlier sorry to say this was not the case .but on a happy note it was somewhere to go if you if you want some gifts we found the gift shop not to bad .would not go again just hope the company gets its act together letting chester down

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank paristwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    59
    65
    30
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had high hopes of this site, but was terribly disappointed. The lighting was dim, the atmosphere dank and the exhibits poor. Their archaeological materials were low-grade and uninteresting. Staff were nowhere in evidence except collecting the fee at the door. I found the introduction uninspiring. The owners need to take a leaf out of The Jorvik Centre in York to see how well this can be done. I am a professor of Roman history at an American university and know whereof I speak. Don't waste your time or money. My undergraduates won't pass the threshold when we visit. Try the Grosvenor Museum instead.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Needs developing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing. Exhibits 'tired' and dusty. Some information signs lacked illumination due to no one bothering to change the light bulbs. Gift shop has seen better days. I only travelled from Portsmouth but I chatted to two visitors from New Zealand. They were really disappointed. Needs a good shake up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipahoyahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“needs some improvement”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

While its quite informative in places it's so dark walking round that you can't see much of what is on display. My son liked the dig sites, but again the lights weren't working properly so couldn't see much. On the plus side the kids like the activities upstairs, we spent more time up there than we did going round the displays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pathetic displays”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After paying £12 to enter, we had to wait 10 minutes to be let in to start the "tour". We entered a very dark and smelly room with a dummy man, then a voice recording played- telling a short story about a roman man.
Another door opened to the main room of the experience. This experience was very disappointing as the rooms were extremely dark and the displays were very pathetic, made up of badly painted fake people. Then there is a room where a video is played, explaining the history of the excavations. After this you are told to view these excavations.
As we had a buggy, we remained on the dame floor to view them. These were very disappointing- the lighting was almost none existent and the signs explaining the very few artefacts were long and boring to read. They just seemed like small dug up holes in the ground with a few stones at the bottom.
This then leads to a room with a few more badly lit displays and finally the shop at the end.
It took approximately 30 minutes from start to finish, and not worth the money or effort.
If you want to have a true Roman experience then I suggest you go to the Grosvenor Museum instead, it is free and well laid out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank macansbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewa Roman Experience also viewed

 

Been to Dewa Roman Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing