We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs some improvement”

Dewa Roman Experience
Ranked #31 of 93 things to do in Chester
Attraction details
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“needs some improvement”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

While its quite informative in places it's so dark walking round that you can't see much of what is on display. My son liked the dig sites, but again the lights weren't working properly so couldn't see much. On the plus side the kids like the activities upstairs, we spent more time up there than we did going round the displays.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    62
    66
    30
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pathetic displays”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After paying £12 to enter, we had to wait 10 minutes to be let in to start the "tour". We entered a very dark and smelly room with a dummy man, then a voice recording played- telling a short story about a roman man.
Another door opened to the main room of the experience. This experience was very disappointing as the rooms were extremely dark and the displays were very pathetic, made up of badly painted fake people. Then there is a room where a video is played, explaining the history of the excavations. After this you are told to view these excavations.
As we had a buggy, we remained on the dame floor to view them. These were very disappointing- the lighting was almost none existent and the signs explaining the very few artefacts were long and boring to read. They just seemed like small dug up holes in the ground with a few stones at the bottom.
This then leads to a room with a few more badly lit displays and finally the shop at the end.
It took approximately 30 minutes from start to finish, and not worth the money or effort.
If you want to have a true Roman experience then I suggest you go to the Grosvenor Museum instead, it is free and well laid out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank macansbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my 7 year old daughter and her friend to do research for a school project. Was a waste of time and money !! Staff were grumpy, lots of things were broken and whole thing took us about 15 mins to look around. This is a disgrace to Chester tourism industry!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank tiggerEllesmerePort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Let down on school trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having visited here 3 times before, I have always been happy with the service and facilities at Dewa however after taking a school on a class visit recently I was very disappointed.

The museum is mainly aimed at children and does offer some hands on experiences. There needs to be some updating as the activities are a bit out of date and not as interactive as they could be.

It is interesting to see how Roman Chester was and developed however it was the shocking customer service that was disappointing. The staff were too eager to book in schools and stack and pack them in to make the most money. The day was very rushed and did not give the children opportunity to ask questions or explore with confidence.

We took a child who uses a wheelchair and I wouldn't say it was that suitable. The activities were not that well adapted and it wasn't very disabled friendly to be honest.

The staff were a little pushy about all aspects including the gift shop, how long they were taking in the toilets etc - I understand that they are busy and there are other schools but the children pay a lot of money for the trip and it is up them to help make the day special. At many times, I ended up leading the trip myself and explaining things to the class in a child friendly way.

There's no doubt that the school trips here will continue for other schools but not our school, as I felt both as a teacher and a member of the public that it was starting to get a bit out of date and that the service was all about making money than giving a good day out.

It is a shame as in the past I had enjoyed it very much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireJenniferD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey,uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was expecting an experience similar to Yorvik in York, but was disappointed, Clearly aimed at school trips, not much of interest to adults who are interested in Roman Chester.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewa Roman Experience also viewed

 

Been to Dewa Roman Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing