We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dewa Roman Experience

Dewa Roman Experience
Ranked #31 of 92 things to do in Chester
Attraction details
Birmingham
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a so-so attraction for adults but I think kids would like it as there are hands-on things for kids to do. For adults it's a bit ho-hum and it is expensive for what it is.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    58
    63
    30
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really enjoyed this with our grandsons - they loved trying on the Roman armour etc and building the underfloor heating/ It was all very interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatrickStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“waste of hard earnt money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

kids were super excited at the thought of seeing a roman museum and getting a "Roman experience" I knew the moment we walked in it was going to be terrible. Old battered models none of which even are animated, dark dank corridors, a horrible smell that made me feel ill. No guides around ask anything so you just wonder along aimlessly. After a short video, you see some roman underground excavations. Cheap lightbulbs are meant to show the different levels of excavations. You then move into the display area which at best i would say is ok. And then you have the choice - turn left to the gift shop, or right up to the hands on roman area. With some hope we went into the " Hands on room" but only to find all the props are made out of MDF, crudley painted, even the roman mosiacs are just old bits of wood chopped into squares. It was simply awful. This whole tour has taken 10mins and we have read it all and seen it all. I asked the lady at the till for a comment card so i could leave feedback to say how awful and cheap this "experience " was and she replied " Whats one of those?" Kind of said it all. My advise - there are better museums out there showing roman artifacts that are free entry. Just save your money and dont bother with the Dewa Experience. Fifteen pounds wasted in 10mins flat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank twinsgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

It was a typical place to take the kids: explanations aimed mostly at children and some hands on stuff for kids. The cross section of the ruins was pretty good, but was really only about 20 minutes of the visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“folly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

we payed a concesion fee of £4-50 each to see what was in this place,and it was in our opinion an experiance that taught me a lesson that I should not throw my money away

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank madaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewa Roman Experience also viewed

 

Been to Dewa Roman Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing