We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sergio's

Sergio's
Ranked #30 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had lunch here with a friend as we were looking for somewhere different to try, 2 courses for £9.95. My friend had sardines to start & pasta dish & I had minestrone soup & ham & pineapple pizza both were lovely & it had a lovely atmosphere & you weren't rushed. Service was also nice..Would definitely return & would like to try it on a night time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    340
    109
    53
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden delight in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Tucked away near the Cathedral at St Werburgh Street, you would walk by Sergio's if you missed the sign at the end of the street. It looks as though it is closed die to the tinted doors but as you approach the doors open and you are greeted by a welcoming smiling face and the Mediterranean inspired décor. Lovely authentic Italian music not ghastly hip-hop background noise. The aromas wafting from the kitchen help too! We tried a selection from the Menu of the day which was the Pork spare Ribs for starters and a lovely cheesy vegetarian pasta dish for me for main course and a Lasagne for my husband, we also shared a large side salad. The lunchtime menu offers two courses with coffee for GBP 9.95 per person from Mon- Friday. We thought our portions might be fairly meagre due to the cost, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We had three generous pork ribs each which were succulent, tender, very meaty - and delicious. Our Main courses were very generous and in fact I could not finish mine. The service was slick and polite, and by the time we had finished our starters the restaurant was completely full with people queueing for tables. The loos were spotlessly clean. I regularly visit Chester and Sergio's never disappoints!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Warning - HUGE calzone will fill you up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We turned up at Sergio's on Easter Monday without a reservation and were quickly found a table. The place was already busy even though it wasn't yet 5pm and there were plenty of staff on hand. We ordered calzone's and when they arrived I wished I'd not had a starter (vegetable lasagne - which was very nice, though I was surprised to see it contained peas?!) There was certainly no sense of quantity over quality as the calzone was excellent and also very reasonable priced. For a last minute choice this could not have been a better place to stop for a meal, fully deserved reputation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caz5froggy1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Finest Italian in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

There's no shortage of options in Chester, but Sergio's is by far the best Italian on offer. The prices are more than reasonable, the atmosphere is relaxed and the food is authentic and delicious. We've been 5 or 6 times in the past year and haven't been disappointed once. You come out with change from £20 and a full belly. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A welcome change from the big name chains.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went for a Sunday teatime meal here with our kids just before Easter holidays. It was relatively empty so there wasn't a bustling atmosphere in the restaurant and the waiters were waiting around, but that suited us as the service was quick and attentive. It's an attractive restaurant with a seating area if you need to wait for a table and an open kitchen so you can watch the chef spin his pizza dough. The food was all pretty good fare - what you'd expect in an Italian restaurant. One thing I hadn't had before was the brushetta campagnola (with aubergine and anchovies) - very tasty. Depending on your appetite you may want to share starters if you're having pizza after, we struggled to eat it all. On the whole a decent restaurant that we would go back to when in Chester.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoxieandBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sergio's also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sergio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing