We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will bear in mind when staying in Chester again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Will bear in mind when staying in Chester again”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We only called in for a drink and a snack and for such a smart place we were very impressed with the price of the food - much better value than a lot of other places we called at. Quality of the food was also very nice.

Sat in the courtyard where there was still a stage up from the weekend live music. We had walked past the end of the alley the night before and the music was deafening so you would have to check if the band was on before booking for the night - unless you are in the band! Because it is so central (to shops and bars) I imagine it might be quite noisy anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Anne T
Thank you for your review, our food service is quite new and we are just starting to see repeat guests so to hear your kind words confirms we are on the right track.
With regards to the music, yes we are a very lively place at weekends but when people reserve a room at the hotel we contact them directly to give full details on the bands, noise and atmosphere - usually the guests we have stay here to party and enjoy the venue.
Hopefully as you say we will see you again on your next visit to Chester.
Best wishes
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    80
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
38
190
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I booked a room at The Commercial Hotel in Chester for one night, which was Sunday May 4 2014, we were informed by the booking agent ,being booking.com, that there is live music and a DJ until 2am on a Thursday,Friday and Saturday, so we thought great, we will have a peaceful nights sleep or so we thought!. On being shown the room by a member of staff we were informed by him that there was to be live music and a DJ until 2am, we told him that we weren't aware of this or else we wouldn't have booked it because we wanted a quiet nights stay in the hotel,he told us that the manager had contacted us prior to make us aware of this but did not receive any message at all . The live music was held in the courtyard outside the hotel, which we could see from the window of our room. And to our dismay, the live music began which didn't finish until 12 pm and from 12 pm until 2am the DJ and disco began. The loudness of the music caused our room to vibrate,window,bed, heater etc.My husband disconnected a plug which was in one of the sockets to charge his phone and just ten minutes later we had a knock on the door of our room to be met by a guy asking if we had pulled out a plug which we told him we had and he said " Only you have disconnected the disco ball downstairs" and asked us to plug it back in, if it was that important they should have put a notice up informing people not to unplug it.We complained to him about the severe loudness of the music and all he could say was " well you were informed that there would be live music on tonight" which we then told him again that we were not informed. We couldn't tolerate the deafening sound anymore so had no choice but to walk around the town just to get peace and quiet at 1am. If it hadn't been for the fact that our car was locked in at a local multi storey carpark we would have packed up our things and gone home.We eventually got to bed at 2.30am and was up at about 8am for breakfast, which meant we only got five and half hours sleep.When we went down to breakfast we were greeted by a young guy who asked us what we would like for breakfast,he didn't even tell us to help ourselves to cereal or juice, we had to ask about it,ordered a full English which took a while to arrive too. This hotel in our opinion lacks courtesy and compassion for its guests. We were so disappointed with our experience of this hotel and will NEVER return there again!! If you want a peaceful stay in a hotel then we suggest you do Not stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Diane,
I am sorry to read your review as it is myself who takes the hotel reservations and confirms events to guests staying on weekend nights. It is a policy we've had for many years now as we are a party place and people like yourself do not always want the lively atmosphere when on a weekend break. We offer live music every weekend throughout the summer with additional gigs on Bank Holiday Sundays as was your stay. I contact everyone who stays during these times so I don't know why you would not have at least picked up a message from me if we hadn't spoken.
I'm not sure what you mean by your booking agent didn't inform you? We only have direct guests or those through booking.com and laterooms, we do not work with any other operators.
I hope this experience will not put you off visiting our beautiful city again.
Kind regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

really enjoyed my stay here with great entertainment and the music through the night was good too. Atmosphere was great and food was too will definitely be back again as the staff were very welcoming making you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchestergirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Manchester girl, thank you for taking time to write your review.
It's great to read that you had a relaxing stay, even though we had entertainment on! I will pass on your comments to the staff, I have a great team and they will be happy to know guests like yourselves appreciate their service.
I trust we will see you again? Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Was planning a weekend away with my friend and found the hotel online, as I was after a city centre location.... Well the commercial hotel couldn't be more central, literally a ten second walk from the shops, which was great. Staff were so friendly and really made you feel welcome an nothing was too much trouble, helped up the stairs with our luggage,had an issue with the bedding being feather an being allergic, so new pillows and duvet were sorted for us straight away and helped us to change them over. Stayed in Keats and it was gorgeous, loved the dressing area and had a fab big bathroom with double sink unit, ideal for girls and all our products!!!! Had a few drinks elsewhere in Chester but ended up back here and really did seem the place to be with different bars, fab cocktails and tons of people and loved the fact that you were literally up the stairs to bed when the night was over. Breakfast was 8am-10am and literally only just made it for 10 and again wasn't a problem. Weather was lovely so wanted to have a little shop an was able to leave our cases and pick them up once done, which we did and were then kindly called a taxi and cases carried out for us. Amazing level of service and staff commitment, really would recommend this hotel, if you are after a lively fun filled weekend in Chester. Will deffo be back and are already planning a return visit in the Summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparklegirlxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Sparkle Girl, thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review.
It's lovely to read that every aspect of the bar and hotel was to your liking and that you are planning on another visit this summer. Please let us know when you book and I will arrange for the bedding to be changed for you in advance.
I will be delighted to pass your praises onto the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (Fri & Sat) in Feb and we had a fantastic time. A warm welcome by the bar staff and Rebecca the Manager showed us to our room which was the Keats room. Absolutely lovely with everything we could need and plenty of info and guidance on the hotel from Rebecca.
The breakfast was really good, all freshly cooked and the bar has a great selection of drinks.
We went out a lot in the evening but relaxed in the bar for a while before we went out one night and it's a fantastic venue, later upstairs when the DJ gets going try the cocktail bar, highly recommend the Patron Tequila!
The late music and general noise from the bar was not an issue and not overly noticeable on the third floor where we were but if your looking for a quiet night on Fri or Sat this isn't the place for you but I don't think any pub would be! They were very clear about the potential for noise in the evening with a phone call a few days before our stay to check we had all that we needed on info and to re-iterate about the possible noise; very clear on the website too.
My only reason for not giving this a 5/5 was that the shower could have been a bit cleaner but I freely admit I may be being a bit picky, the under floor heating made up for it though.
This is a gem of a place tucked off the main streets in Chester but right in the centre and if your looking for a good base for a weekend to enjoy the night life Chester has to offer we could not recommend this enough. If your not staying here but out in Chester anyway pop in for a drink you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stollie_stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guests. Thank you for writing such a detailed review of The Commercial, it's lovely to read such positive feedback.
Thank you for mentioning the showers, we are in the process of scraping out the seals and replacing them as they do look dirty quite quickly even after scrubbing!
We love to offer our guests, residents and customers a great night out and I'm so glad you embraced our ethos and enjoyed your time with us.
Best wishes and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic couple of days in Chester. Hotel was amazing and the staff very friendly and very helpful. We couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely be recommending it to family and friends. Thank you to all at the commercial hotel for making a stay such a good one.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, Front Office Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Vicky
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I will pass your comments onto the staff, they always like to hear about the good feed back.
Please do recommend us to your family & friends and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We needed a dog friendly hotel in Chester for a night. There was a special offer on the Byron Suite at the Commercial Hotel and I booked that after reading very positive reviews from other dog owners. The staff were very friendly and although we didn't have the need, I felt confident that had there been any issues, they would have done all they could to sort them out. The suite was excellent, good attention to detail (absolutely massive bathroom with underfloor heating, roll top bath, shower and double sink) - it is obvious that someone has taken pride in the design of this hotel. Maybe they could stick a few veggie sausages in the freezer so that they could provide a full English for the vegetarians :-) .... Other than that ridiculously minor point, I would definitely stay here again, with or without our pup.

Room Tip: The Byron Suite is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review.
I trust your journey home went well and the new addition to your family has settled in?
If you are in Chester again, with or without the dog you are more than welcome.
Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing