We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail Masterclass”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cocktail Masterclass”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

what a fabulous night! I recently attended a cocktail masterclass at The Commercial Bar and it was a great night with great staff. All the staff that I came across were really friendly and the two gentlemen that took the cocktail masterclass were extremely helpful and entertaining. There were 8 ladies in our group and we all really enjoyed ourselves. What a gem the pub is, it is tucked away in the heart of Chester. I was very impressed and know for a fact that I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Rebecca, how lovely of you to write a review for the Cocktail Master Class, it's a recent idea for us which seems to be working. I'm so glad you enjoyed it as the staff love taking the classes and we hope they will go for strength to strength.
We look forward to seeing you and the girls again, kindest regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    77
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
37
185
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Could not reccommend highly enough. Had trouble finding the hotel by car so called and the manager (Rebecca) came out to find me - then made sure I got parked up safely in the nearby NCP. You wouldn't get that service from Premier Inn! Was shown to the room which was very clean and individually decorated. The bathroom is straight out of a 5* hotel. Outside there is a small courtyard shared with at least one other pub which would be great in the summer. Overall, very impressive I look forward to returning..

Room Tip: Rooms at the front might be a bit noisier at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for your review. As you rightly said, our location can be a little difficult to find, the City centre is more pedestrianised now hence trying to find the back of the hotel. Myself and the staff have made many a trip to the car park with our guests, it's all part of the service!
Thank you again and we look forward to accommodating you on your next trip to Chester.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a few days break in Chester. The Commercial Hotel was just what we were looking for. When we checked in, staff were very friendly and offered to take our bags to our room. The rooms are a good size, well decorated and the bathroom was huge, brilliant shower. We stayed in Keats, just one little niggle, the lighting could have been better, not really bright enough to read by. We had breakfast on one morning, this was good and freshly cooked to order. We will certainly stay here again, next time we are in Chester.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear David, thank you for your review. It was so nice to meet you and your wife and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. if you are in the area for work or leisure again please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped the weekend of the Chester races finale. The hotel is really a bar with rooms. The rooms are clean and are decorated to a good standard. The location is great on the centre of Chester but word of warning if you a quiet night don't stop here. The music plays until 3am. This didn't bother me as I was flat out but my other half did struggle to get back to sleep!

Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Claire, thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you rightly said we are in an excellent location with shops, bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. We are a lively venue offering a great night out, especially for those who want to party and fall into bed at the end of the night! Hopefully we'll see you again? Thanks again and kind regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This weekend gone my girlfriend and i had another great stay at the commercial hotel. from when we arrived to when we left nothing was a problem and nothing was a fuss. Rebecca and John and all their staff were very welcoming and as ever and made us feel at home.the room was lovely. we both really enjoyed the live band "wax liracle" who just blew everybody away until the early hours. we had such a good night we didnt make breakfast but if it was the same as the other times i have stayed it would be fine. so thanks to everybody at the commercial and i look forward seeing you again soon. you are unique and a truly great place to stay.

kind regards nick

ps dexter will be with me next time ( my dog )

Room Tip: keets or wordsworth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Nick, Thank you for your review. It's just as nice for us to see you coming back as it is for you to stay. I think we've met all the family now? and look forward to seeing Dexter next time.
Best wishes, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Cocktail masterclass is great fun. Highly recommended for those with a penchant for cocktails or those wishing to celebrate an event (birthday, hen night) with a group of friends by taking part in something a bit different. JT (cocktail masterclass instructor) is very knowledgeable and demonstrates some classic and unusual cocktails before getting you behind the bar to make your own cocktails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Diane, thank you so much for writing a review for the cocktail master classes.
It's a new idea that we hoped would take off and it certainly has! I'm really glad you enjoyed the "class" as well as the making and drinking! I think it's the perfect gift for someone, Christmas, birthday, hen night and we really love hosting.
See you again soon, kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved The Commercial. Loved it because it is so central in Chester. It's plays the sound track or my youth! It has great cocktails. The staff are brilliant. The rooms are really quite wonderful for a pub hotel and you get a lot for your money. It's a place to go if you want to let of steam, to drink dance and shop. If you attended university in the mid early 90s you will never, ever leave the dance floor and The Commercial will make you feel young again. Don't go if you want a peaceful, restful trip to Chester - do go if you want a GREAT place to stay that when you walk out of the door you walk into wonderful shops (having perhaps had a glass of wine on the way out). Yes it's noisy, yes it stays open until 3am but it's brilliant. Highly recommended for a weekend away with friends.

Room Tip: Byron suite is highest up the building! It might be the quietest! Also has a wonderful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. My business partners and I started The Commercial for exactly the reasons you have mentioned, a place to socialise with friends and family with music you recognise! As you said, the staff are brilliant and enjoy being at work to make your experience the best it can be. We love The Commercial and I'm so glad you love it too. Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.
Best regards, Rebecca .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing