We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; First class service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location; First class service.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay in the Byron suite. Very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with a great shower and bath. All accomodation was spotlessly clean. The freshly cooked breakfast (by Ruth) is one of the best breakfasts you'll ever eat and sets you up perfectly for the day ahead.
The manager (Rebecca) was extremely helpful. We found ourselves having to stay an extra night in Chester, and although The Commercial was fully booked, Rebecca very kindly phoned nearby hotels and found us another room.
The hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of Chester, and is located up a lane to the rear of the Skipton Buiding Society, so is quiet, despite being in the heart of the action. We stayed midweek and had a very peaceful stay. The hotel website does advertise that it has a late licence (3am) at the weekends so I would expect it could be noisy til the early hours while the music is on.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return to Chester, and to The Commercial Hotel in particular, in the near future.
Thank you Rebecca and co for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Amanda, thank you so much for taking the time to write. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon I hope? I hope the other hotel suited your needs and the journey home was pleasant? Thank you once again and best wishes, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    77
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
37
185
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our two night break at the Commercial,having struggled to find the right area following the hotel post code on Tom tom,we decided on plan B and went straight to the Market car park which is found via Princess St ( not cheap but only 5 mins walk with bags)
A lovely welcome from Rebecca, and the offer of a quick coffee during checkin settled my frazzled brain ( the streets around the hotel are pedestrianised and Sat Nav didnt like it )
Our room ,Wordsworth was very comfortable with a comfy bed and lovely large bathroom and walk in shower.
Following my usual sad approach to lots of researching for our breaks,it had become obvious that we did not need to go on the lively Friday and Saturday nights on club disco events ,therefore we chose Sunday and Monday nights and slept with no issues at all.
Breakfast was fine for me,freshly cooked hot stuff with toast and the usuals,the other half missed her porridge or fresh grapefruit and all the cold buffet items normally seen at the larger places.
Nevertheless it must be recognised there are only four rooms,and it is impossible to lay on everything,only to throw it out later.
The excellent central location has to be the main positive at this hotel,there really are some excellent eating and drinking places within 5 mins walk.
We will certainly be returning on another visit as we didnt get to visit the Zoo due to lousy weather
For a special occasion do try to eat at Upstairs at the Grill,def not cheap but top drawer food and service

Room Tip: Wordsworth was very nice,but up four lots of steps with no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huddsguy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time in our fair city and I agree, we are fortunate to have such a central location. Thank you for your understanding regarding our breakfast selection, it's true to say with only 4 rooms and the suite we cannot cater for all needs without wasting fresh produce. Should you stay again please do not hesitate to contact us and we will arrange any special requests. Kind regards Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great location, and the staff are lovely -- the hotel is nice (great bathrooms), but the music and voices blared for two of the three nights we stayed here (until midnight one night and until 4 am on "mic" night). Since they don't have central air, you have to leave the windows open. Can't see how a family with children -- or really anyone -- can stay here. They need to decide whether they are a hotel or a bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraElizabeth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Laura Elizabeth, thank you for your review.
I must firstly address your points regarding the noise levels. As I have mentioned in previous Trip advisor replies, we advertise the DJ's on all our sites to prevent upsets such as this.
When people call us directly we give them the chance to find alternative accommodation if they do not want a busy City Centre Hotel. With booking.com and laterooms it is advertised on the hotel policy page under Important Information, unfortunately we cannot do more than this.
We are in the middle of Chester's City Centre and after we close there are other places with later licenses who's clientèle may create additional noise on the street.
Open Mic night is the Thursday and finishes at midnight, weekends are later but never until 4am except on New Years Eve or a Bank Holiday.
In answer to your last point, we know who we are. We are a small hotel with a public bar that at weekends offers people the chance to forget their weeks work, let their hair down and have a dance. The majority of people stay with us for this reason and I am happy to say that we have a huge amount of repeat guests.
We are not for everyone, but if people read the reviews about the noise they can decide whether we are the place for them before making their reservation and then writing negative comments.
If you would like to contact me directly to discuss any of these points I would be happy to receive your call. 01244 409319.
Kind Regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

On arrival we where told it had a late licence, but did not expect the music to be still going on at 4am. Was in Chester with my mam who is in her 60s so the both of us had no sleep what's so ever. On checking out they where going to charge me £65 extra for meals which we never had. The rooms where very nice apart from the stair carpet which was dirty.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room Shelley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Carol, in response to your review may I start with apologising for the confusion with the £65 food charge. It was for a buffet that should have been put onto room 10 and was mistakenly put onto room 1 (Shelley) I believe this was rectified on check out?
Regarding the carpet, as you know it was Chester races on Saturday and very busy. Due to the rain and the footfall we had alot of wet feet treading through the hotel and it certainly showed, especially on the carpet. The cleaners were waiting until everyone had check out before cleaning the stairs to prevent any further footfall and to give the carpet time to dry.
Your room, Shelley is on the first floor and so noise travels on a Friday and Saturday night from the dance floor but I must disagree with you on the timings, we have a 3am licence and the music was turned off at 3.10am.
We advertise the DJ's on all our sites to prevent upsets such as this. When people call us directly we give them the chance to find alternative accommodation if they do not want a busy City centre hotel, with booking.com and laterooms it is advertised on the hotel policy page under Important Information, unfortunately we cannot do more than this.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope this has answered your questions. Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed overnight recently - for a work trip with a friend.
Its tucked away behing zara access is via two small entries from the cobbled street .. but easy enough to find and the carpark is in the forum multi story which was £9.30 overnight.
We had the luxuary suite the byron , on the top floor... A bedroom a large sitting room iwth flatscreen couch that turned into a sofa bed. Lovely decor , The bathroom was huge big freestanding bath and an amazingly fab shower which was also massive.
The bed was comfortable - the bedroom fair sized a wardrobe that had no key , so i had to stick my tail comb in to open. The only other minor point - lighting is shocking in both bathroom and bedroom for doing make up once gone even slightly dark. No hairdryer provided which was a shame i have got used to hotels providing them.
We had an icebucket and glasses delivered to the room by a friendly lad. The staff were approachable and laid back.
We also ended up staying out later than expected and upon returning to the hotel at 1.30am i had to knock the owner up to open the front door. Nothing was mentioned about late return and i had presumed being a bar themselves they would be open. I felt awful.
I would however return to stay again, all my points are minor.

Room Tip: Find out what the process is if you come back late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaeljanepr1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hi Rachel, thank you for your review. It was great for me to read your comments regarding the lighting in Byron and I will definitely look into providing amenities for make up. I'm sorry about the communication regarding hair dryers, we do have them along with irons and ironing boards, whoever checked you in should have mention that to you. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Chester and don't worry about waking me up, it happens all the time! Hope to see you girls again, best regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin5445
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The cestrians are a really friendly and helpful folk and go out of their way to make sure you get the most out of your trip!
There are quite a number of good quality pubs selling scrumptious food and top notch beers.
The best we tried was Telfords, who managed to find us a table on a Saturday night as walk in customers, very obliging.
Some of the pubs we called in would not look out of place in Dublin for their charm and décor (the craic comes free) especially the likes of Harkers and the Brewery Tap.
We stayed at the Commercial Bar / Hotel which Saturday night noise apart was first class, they run a nightclub on a Friday / Saturday which is fine if your of that age, not so if you’re not into House / Indie music etc.
The staff where far more helpful than 5 star hotels we’ve stayed in and the breakfast by Rebecca was superb. (Big thanks). They also stock a good range of real ales which seems more the norm for most of the hostelries in Chester.
All in all a good experience for a weekend break and would recommend Chester to all and the Commercial Hotel to some .
The place as you would expect is steeped in history and wonderful architecture, at times a bit like a rabbit warren as you can easily slip past an alleyway which can take you into yet more wonderful places.
Look out for St. Peters courtyard (rear of the church at the cross) there you will find the Victoria (great Sunday lunch) and the Commercial as they share the courtyard.
Thanks again all you helpful folk of Chester!

Room Tip: Look for the 2 for one deals, or better still speak to Rebecca (Manageress)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Kevin, thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review, not just about The Commercial but Chester in general. It is a great city and we do pride ourselves on the friendliness of the people. By the sounds of it you had a good walk around and found all our hidden alley ways! We look forward to seeing you again, just maybe mid week for a quieter stay! Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Found the hotel through Laterooms.com, This last minute night out was the best idea ive ever had because both myself and my friend will be regulars here. Staff were so friendly on arrival, and helped us with where to go for our night out!!

We had amazing cocktails brought to us by a member of staff.

The rooms were lovely and clean and the bathroom was spacious and clean also.

i would recommend this hotel to anybody whether i be by yourself or with a group of friend.

Staff were willing to wake up early hours in the morning to let us in (Rebecca) - which many places wouldnt be happy with

Thank you very much and we will be returning soon :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGirls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hi Girls, thank you for such a great review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the staff were helpful. I am blessed with all my staff and the fact they make great cocktails helps too! Chester is a great place to party and we look forward to seeing you girls again soon (even if it means a bleary eyed welcome in the early hours ha ha) . There's usually last minute deals so just call and we'd be happy to help. Best wishes Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#21 of 44 in Chester
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing