We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at the Commercial Bar and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Has not changed from last visit a few months ago. Still great.

Good room with a 5 star bathroom. Really helpful staff. Offered to put parking voucher on my parked car.

Good beer and better food in an great city centre location.


Must be the best place for a break in Chestet.

Sadly I am on business but still a million times better then a chain hotel at a similar price and better food.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGBCMYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Paul, thank you for taking the time to write. As a regular visitor we will endeavour to continue and improve on the service you enjoy and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 403 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Had the most amazing sunday lunch,the beef was cooked to perfection,the roast potatoes were mouth watering,service excellent,such superb value as there is a 2 for 1 deal on at the moment,just under £12 for both meals,could not fault it,definately a must every week from now on.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous weekend away with 'the girls', staying at The Commercial. Party of 6 of us and we all had the very best time, thanks to the excellent staff at the hotel. Without exception, they all worked so hard to accommodate us, making us feel part of their 'family'. The rooms were gorgeous. We had dinner on Saturday evening, which was perfect in both quality and ambience. In fact, out of 2 days, we rarely left the building, as it provided and catered for our every need! I cannot recommend this hotel and their lovely hard-working staff enough. having stayed in lots of large 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, the personal touch that this offered far exceeded them all. A must visit for anyone holidaying in Chester, for accommodation, restaurant and bar. Thank you Rebecca and team xx

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear Steph,

Thank you for your review. From a staff perspective you and the girls were truly part of the family this weekend and it was a joy to accommodate you all. I'm sure we'll see you again and wish you all the very best in the meantime.

Best regards
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Ive currently just stayed at the commercial hotel in Chester and it was such a fantastic place to go! The food is amazing quality and the bar staff and waitresses are second to none! I highly reccomend this place to anyone who's looking for a wonderful place to stay or eat.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylevenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

As a traveling sales manager for a national photographic company i have to stay in hotels all over the country. Let me first tell you that not only is this the first hotel that has met my high OCD levels in cleanliness but the warm welcome that i recieved made a very tired and hungry guy a very happy boy. the commerical is not a hotel in my eyes but home in a different place. If only everywhere could be like this the world would be a far better place. love, love, love.

Room Tip: Keats is my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

we went to the commercial in november 11 for 2 nights rooms were clean and tidy and very large. bathroom had bath and power shower. had dinner on one night and could not fault it.the hotel has a nightclub and stays open till 3am so can be a bit noisy but we stayed up until early hours dancing. breakfast was very good with plenty to eat. all in all excellent weekend.

Room Tip: higher floors are less noisy if you dont want to stay up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerard032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I spent one night here (my usual hotel in Chester was full) and what a great surprise - it is slap bang in the middle of the city, but quite hard to find, but when you do it is well worth it. The bar downstairs is great and very popular and the rooms (5 of them, I think) are all individually designed and named after poets / writers. The quality of the rooms were great and very comfortable. I had a full cooked breakfast which was freshly made with high quality ingredients - such a nice change from buffet breakfasts. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming so I will definitely be returning. A definite "hidden gem"

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#18 of 45 in Chester
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $81 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing