We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic BBQ in the North West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickory's Smokehouse

Hickory's Smokehouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Hickory's Smokehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest bus stop 300 yards
Description: Hickory’s Smokehouse is Chester’s authentic American BBQ. Here you can enjoy a traditional style of cooking that has its roots in the US, but that we think deserves to be just as popular over here. Our menu offers two styles of BBQ. The southern-style ‘Smoker’ BBQ uses slow, wood-fired cooking in our specially imported American smoker oven. The northern-style ‘Yankee’ BBQ is cooked over sizzling hot coals. Both styles create unbelievably tender, delicious meat and fish.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic BBQ in the North West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The girlfriend and myself have been looking for a good BBQ place in the North West of the UK for the last two yrs and we have finally found it. We turned up at Hickory's Smoke House in Chester (parking to rear) to find the restaurant rammed and buzzing. Unfortunately as we didn't have a reservation we had to wait 45min for a table (defiantly worth booking early), but after a drink at the bar and some popcorn we where seated in a booth. We went with some chicken wings for starter followed by the amazing sharing platter finishing with key lime pie, one word "Amazing"!!! The whole meal was fantastically cooked, full of flavour and quickly delivered and very friendly staff. We will be going back for sure but not before we have recovered from eating too much!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourpro1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,075
    753
    245
    87
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Omg this needs 7* great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Well what can I say, 3rd time iv been here, this time with my cousin from Australia and mum and dad. Me and my cousin shared baby back ribs with maple syrup for starters and it was amazing! Then steak for main wich was cooked to perfection. Then the sharing ice cream for two which I could not finninsh as it was gigantic! This is my favourite place to eat and the staff, well there the cherry on top!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would like to try again..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We ordered the smoke house platter, and were so excited for it to arrive. The surroundings and atmosphere are great, not to mention the smell when you walk in! Wow! However, two of our included ribs were tough and dry, that's nearly half of the meat on the plate. When we mentioned this to the staff when she collected the plates, she kindly let her manager know who came over. Unfortunately, a sincere apology or display of gesture was offered, but instead, excuses and insinuating that we were being dishonest. It's unpleasant too, to see staff members picking away at your left overs, and tasting them, after your plates have been taken to the OPEN kitchen. Disgusting really considering we were eating with our hands. There is lots on the menu to choose from, so I would like to try the place again, but I'd certainly be sure to send my food back right away to avoid being in the same position again, should it not be up to expectations,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola89166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bar, Great Location, Good Prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is my first visit to Hickory's even though I live in Chester. I have booked a table for Thanksgiving on 28th Nov, so I decided to call in on my day off to check out the place. What a fantastic bar, with great staff and a great atmosphere. I only went in for a drink, but decided to stay for a while. Behind the bar was a guy called, Pete, he made me feel welcome. His customer service skills were fantastic, he was very chatty and had great product knowledge of all the drinks and cocktails on offer. He really enjoyed his job and spoke highly of the company, and said the training that he had been given was absolutely amazing. Whilst at the bar, I drank their own ale, Old Hickory's which was reasonably priced and went down real smooth. Pete, brought be out some fresh popcorn to eat, which tasted amazing and was a nice gesture. The location of the bar is right in the centre of Chester, on the river bank, with amazing views of the river dee. I can't comment on the food yet until my next visit, but it looked good, and the smell coming from the restaurant smelt totally divine. All the staff seemed to be rushed off their feet, but they still managed to have a smile, and were all very friendly. I look forward to my next visit, when they will be showing all 3 NFL games live. Fantastic bar, in a great location of Chester. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“staff seem like robots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

excellent food
beautiful place
parking at the back which is great
only reason i gave it 4star the staff have no personalities dont get me wrong they all worked hard an try to have a convo but you can tell that theyv been told to be nice an not nice cause they want to

Helpful?
Thank Shawthing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing